We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Fox Glacier Guiding

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: State Highway 6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7951, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-751 0825
Website
Today
07:30 - 19:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:30 - 19:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less...

It's our privilege to guide you on the West Coast's largest and less crowded glacier. It is one of New Zealand's truly natural wonders.

Whether you are walking, heli-hiking or ice-climbing with us in this incredible environment, we can promise you a memory you'll cherish.

We have a long guiding history on the glacier (guided walks first started in 1928). Those years of accumulated knowledge and experience mean weare able to guide you with complete confidence.

You can rest assured we take your safety and comfort very seriously.

Come and enjoy our friendly West Coast hospitality, experience the mighty Fox Glacier with us and create a lifetime memory. We have glacier trips suitable for most fitness levels and ages including children from 9 yrs. Our informative Glacier Terminal Face walk is suitable for children from 5 yrs or for those who would find the walks onto the glacier too strenuous.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,079 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 803
    Excellent
  • 128
    Very good
  • 38
    Average
  • 13
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Amazing walk around a glacier

Wasn't sure to begin with as the helicopter trip is very cramped and not very exciting. Once on the glacier though and fully kitted up it's amazing. The size of the glacier is... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 days ago
binkTravel
,
St Albans
Add Photo Write a Review

1,079 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 993: English reviews
St Albans
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Wasn't sure to begin with as the helicopter trip is very cramped and not very exciting. Once on the glacier though and fully kitted up it's amazing. The size of the glacier is impressive and difficult to capture on photo. You're expertly shown how to walk properly and different aspects of the glacier is explained as you walk around. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank binkTravel
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had an amazing walk with our guides Kelsey and Sky. As our group was keen and capable, our guides took us off the main track and we experienced an informative and spectacular view of both the Fox Glacier face and the surrounding scenery from a higher view point. Both our guides were caring, supportive and keen to share their... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheBrownie5
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review

Thank you for coming and joining us on our Fox Trail: Terminal Face Walk, we're very happy to read that it was such a positive experience for you. We'll be sure to alert Kelsey and Sky to your comments, thanks for acknowledging them. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. All the best. Jo Wisniewski On Behalf... More 

Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a special combination of the Heli-hike with overnight stay combined with iceclimbing. Our guide Mike was fantastic, totally professional, informative and helpful. Absolutely stunning weather provided amazing views on Mt. Cook after our Alpine trek to Chancellor Dome. The overnight stay at Chancellor hut gave us the opportunity to see Kea and Tahr. The ice-climbing on the Fox... More 

Helpful?
Thank Peet B
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we were happy to read you had a great time and that you didn't want the experience to end! Also, thank you for acknowledging your guide, Mike and the fabulous job he did. We know he will appreciate it. Best Regards Jo Wisniewski On Behalf of the Fox Glacier Guiding... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This company really doesn't care about its clients. They only decide if a trip is going forward 10 minutes before the due time but for the client cancelling is only possible 24 hours ahead, so you have to come even if on the phone they say it's very unlikely that the trip will go ahead. Truly a company that doesn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gadi_mag
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review

It is with regret that we read about your dissatisfaction around our cancellation process when we were experiencing bad weather conditions. So far we have been experiencing the worst summer weather conditions for at least 12 years, this has been extremely challenging but our first consideration is and always be, safety. It is also a priority for us to manage... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself, my husband and our 12 year old daughter did the Fox Trail Terminal Face Walk. Much of, though not all, of the walk is accessible to the public without a guide. We however decided to go with Fox Glacier Guiding in the hope that we would learn something about the glacier. We were not disappointed our guide was funny,... More 

Helpful?
Thank LBEN25
FoxGlacierGuiding, Sales and Marketing Manager at Fox Glacier Guiding, responded to this review

We're pleased to read that you were happy with your decision to join one of our Fox Trail:Terminal Face walks and that you had a good time. Thank you also for acknowledging the value of this informative walk and your guide. Guiding work very hard and it has such a positive effect receiving this recognition. All the best. Jo Wisniewski... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had this guy called Sean on our trip, and he was AMAZING! He knew his stuff, answered all our questions perfectly and knew all the cool caves to go in on the glacier. Not only this, but he was an amazing guy, super friendly, and generally really fun to be around. He always had a smile on his face... More 

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Bangkok
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not necessary to do the guided tours. It is true that you do not get access to the "restricted" areas because they are deemed "unsafe" but still you will get a good hike which start from the Fox Glacier carpark. You will have access to a high point where you can see the Glacier. Even if you do the guided... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AloysiusMD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was definitely a trip highlight. Although it came with a hefty price tag, the experience of flying in a helicopter and seeing the glacier up close was a once in a lifetime experience. Our guides were friendly and knowledgable - would highly recommend this adventure to anyone visiting NZ!

Helpful?
Thank Bec D
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Two of us did a terminal walk and were so grateful we paid for a tour on a rainy day. Guides took us further than general public, provided wet weather gear and were very friendly and knowledgable. Highly recommend especially if the weather is sub-par.

Helpful?
Thank Jess C
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice experience with Heli-Hike Fox Glacier : very friendly guide, amazing views. We had the chance to see it under a nice blue sky ! I highly recommend. The only '-' is for some helicopter pilots who are not always really friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Sophie C

Travellers who viewed Fox Glacier Guiding also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Fox Glacier Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Fox Glacier Guiding and other visitors
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Fox Glacier Guiding staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?