We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Glacier Helicopters

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Main South Road | SH6, Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7856, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-752 0755
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:00
Description:

Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20...

Glacier Helicopters offers a range of scenic helicopter flights from 20 minutes to 40 minutes. Charter flights are available and can vary from 20 minutes to several hours duration. Flights depart from Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Our flights encompass the Mount Cook National Park, and both Franz Josef Glacier and Fox Glacier. Glacier landings are our specialty. Our helicopter flights allow people with limited time to “get away from it all” and experience area of New Zealand’s wilderness renowned for its outstanding natural beauty.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$174.32*
and up
Franz Josef Glacier Helicopter Flight with Snow Landing
More Info
US$225.17*
and up
Fox and Franz Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Franz Josef
More Info
US$225.17*
and up
Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier Helicopter Flight from Fox Glacier

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 300 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 229
    Excellent
  • 28
    Very good
  • 4
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
Fantastic

Checked with them the day before and confirmed timings etc. We were very lucky as the weather was great for flights on the day we booked. Just 4 of us on our flight (2... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
EastCoastBrit
,
Taunton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

300 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked with them the day before and confirmed timings etc. We were very lucky as the weather was great for flights on the day we booked. Just 4 of us on our flight (2 unconnected couples) we were originally booked for the 40 min Mount Cook spectacular but they explained due to weather conditions over Mount Cook they could only... More 

Helpful?
Thank EastCoastBrit
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi EastCoastBrit, thank you for the excellent review! We are so glad you chose to join us during your holiday, and thank you for your patience and understanding when situations arose unexpectedly. The weather doesn’t always allow us to share the beauty of the area so we are absolutely thrilled you were able to take in the Fox and Franz... More 

Bright.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The flight over Fox & Franz Josef glaciers was brilliant & I enjoyed the brief stop on the snow but really felt they were too busy or two overrun to make it a special event. We were kept waiting outside in the cold at 7.30am whilst the staff did whatever they had to do. There was an on again off... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martyn P
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Martyn, thank you for your review. We apologise that your experience left something to be desired. The weather here can change very quickly, so we want to make absolutely certain that it will be safe to fly before you depart, even if other operators are in the air. Due to the unique alpine terrain and rainforest climate, the weather... More 

Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We didn't get to experience our helicopter tour due to a lost booking on the only day we were in town - booked months in advance and confirmed through their quad biking partner's package. Neither company proactively tried to make up for the error, choosing instead to blame each other and act dismissive about our situation. In the end, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank chta2000
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Chta2000, thank you for your time. We apologise for any confusion with your booking, and are glad to hear you were able to experience the beauty of the glaciers, even with a competitor. More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were chasing them for 2 and a half days. After several cancellations due to weather I had to ask them for a flight when I assumed the weather will be good, no initiative from their side. Finally this one was cancelled 2 hours prior to departure with the remark of weather conditions. Unfortunately the sky cleared and we again... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank DaMatze
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi DaMatze, we look forward to sharing the beauty of the area with all of our visitors and are deeply sorry you were unable to join the tour. Unfortunately, the unique terrain and rainforest climate make the weather here very difficult to predict. We do our best to reschedule, however this time of year is very busy and many days... More 

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2016 via mobile

Couldn't hear what the pilot was saying. It was a one way conversation. He just wanted the job done , without worrying about the experience for the tourists. We had a three year old who weighed in at 16kg with his snowgear on. And was charged for child fare. I did similar flight at Milford sound and the flights were... More 

Helpful?
Thank guyver1382
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Guyver1382, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Hospitality is highly important to us, and we’re very sorry to hear your visit was anything less than spectacular. We are looking into the situation and taking measures to ensure this kind of experience is not repeated in the future. More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2016

We enjoyed our 30 min helicopter tour over both Glaciers and the surrounding mountains. We had excellent views as it was a bright sunny day. And the staff was very helpfull to transfer the forgotten glasses to their office in Fox, where we collected them. Many thanks again !!!

Helpful?
Thank Nadine_Annie
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Annie, Thank you for flying with us and for the great review. We are happy that we were able to get your forgotten glasses to you. Come back and see us again next time! More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
425 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2016

We did the helicopter tour over both the Fox Glacier and the Franz Josef Glacier . We were lucky to be able to do this trip as it was cancelled the day before due to weather and we found out the ones behind us were cancelled too due to more bad weather coming in - it's comforting to know this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brandylady
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Brandylady, thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We’re glad to hear you consider our trip to be one of the best you’ve done. We love sharing our spectacular glaciers, but safety is certainly our first priority so we’re happy your plans were flexible to reschedule for the next day. Thanks again for joining us at... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016

Great to see Frans Josef and Fox glaciers from air because you cannot ski in this area. The pilot was very professional and could told additional information about the formation of glaciers. The price was quite high and the photos should have been included to the total price, now we had to pay extra after the flight.

Helpful?
1 Thank helenaI9647OO
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Helenal9647OO, thank you for joining us on your trip to the West Coast! Our pilots are all Kiwi and happy to share the spectacular scenery and information about their homeland and glaciers. The photos are not included because they are offered separately by the pilots, not the company. There is no obligation to purchase photos, and visitors are encouraged... More 

sunshine coast
Level Contributor
278 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2016

Did 2 glaciers 1 landing 30 mins. Service was efficient, knowledgeable, and safety highest priority. Friendly pilot, and explained things to all on board thru headsets.

Helpful?
Thank ozdrifter
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi Ozdrifter, thank you for the great review! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our Fox and Franz Josef Twin Glacier flight! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Chose the 20 minute flight up to the Frans Joseph glacier. The views were spectacular despite the low cloud and well worth the trip as completely different from the ground view. Unfortunately due to weather we were not able to land on the glacier as is normally included in the 20 minute flight. This was obvious once we were flying... More 

Helpful?
Thank GSAdventure91
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Glacier Helicopters, responded to this review

Hi GSAdventure91, the unique terrain here makes the weather very difficult to predict, however we aim to give as much information as possible, and of course safety is always our first priority. We are happy that you enjoyed your flight even without the landing. The perspective from the air is certainly worth seeing. More 

Travellers who viewed Glacier Helicopters also viewed

Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Franz Josef, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Fox Glacier, Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Glacier Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Glacier Helicopters and other visitors
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Glacier Helicopters staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?