Escape Masters MANUKAU

Escape Masters MANUKAU: Hours, Address, Escape Masters MANUKAU Reviews: 5/5

Escape Masters MANUKAU
5
Escape Games • Game & Entertainment Centres
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
About
This internationally popular phenomenon promises a vivid experience where you can become the main character of a captivating mystery. An adventure, where teams are locked in a themed room with a common goal to break out within an hour. To escape, you will need to find clues and solve unique puzzles.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area
Address
Popular mentions

5.0
51 reviews
Excellent
45
Very good
4
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
0

Munasheel
1 contribution
Great team building activity
Aug 2021
Chose this place as a team building activity from work. it was a first timer for most so the excitement was real. Lucky we chose 3 rooms and split in groups of 5 each. My team personally did Ecobar. The suggestion upon booking was to have teams of 7 to 8 which I think was not reasonable considering the size of some of those rooms. Even with 5 players, some of those rooms were quite crapped. I don't know about the other rooms.
Attendant was bit late and the place looked locked and kept us all a bit nervous as we had other things planned for the night. So yah a bit of a delayed start there.
Apart from that well explained rules and everything. Certainly will be back!
Written 14 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Della S
7 contributions
Family fun
Apr 2021 • Family
Such a friendly man (Levi I think) we were running late and he was so kind to us. Sat and explained everything beautifully to the children and me. It was fun, and quite a challenge. 1 adult 4 children 1 teenager medium challenge, for us it was a lucky escape. Thank you for the school holiday fun. Highly recommend, and children are already planning their next visit.
Written 19 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you Della for sharing your review. It means a lot to our team. Yes it was Levi who welcomed you. He doesn't know it yet but his bonus is going up from next Monday ;) It's partial because of the great reviews we've received from players he looked after. We are looking forward to see you again soon for another challenge!
Written 29 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SP25
4 contributions
Harder than I thought but enjoyed the experience.
Oct 2020 • Friends
First timer harder than playing online. Sativa was very nice she is very welcoming. Will do it again had fun.
Written 27 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Radek O
3 contributions
Entertaining, will come back!
Mar 2020
William takes great care of the visitors and the Escape rooms. We felt very welcome, a briefing was on point without revealing too much to spoil the game. We played the submarine and managed to get through with couple of hints. You can definitely see the effort being put into the props in the rooms to really make you immersed in the experience. Will be back for the other rooms.
Written 11 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that you had a great time with us. Well done escaping our Submarine! It's our most challenging room. We are looking forward to see you again soon for another challenge ;)
Written 15 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dunno
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Escobar
Mar 2020 • Business
We did not feel welcomed upon arrival. William asked if we were first timers and then quickly went through the rules. Questions were not well received and his standard response left us feeling as if we were bothering him. Maybe he was having a bad day and projected onto us.....the idea of solving challenges to help you escape is quite exciting, a pity the service was sub par.
Written 10 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Noelene.  I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us and I'd like to bring another perspective to your feedback for other readers. First, I feel that your disappointment is strongly related to the fact that your team didn't do really well during the game and it's very unfair to put it on us. Out of the 6 cocaine bags you needed to find (which is clearly indicated at the start of the game), you didn't find any by the end of the 60 minutes game. This has never happened to any other teams since opening this room 18 months ago. Moreover, even if you've never used the "help" button, I still came into your room half way through the game to offer you some help. The first thing I told you was that you were falling behind quite a bit and offered you some help. Your reply was that you were all fine and didn't want any help so I left. At the end of the game I offered to show you the solution for 2 puzzles so you could appreciate how logical the game is. Then you quickly ask me "How come we needed to go back in the first room to get the clues for this puzzle?" which I've replied "Why not? There are no rules saying you don't need to." One of the first thing we do when welcoming players is to check how many escape rooms they've ever played so we can make our recommendation regarding the difficulty level (this is part of our standard procedure). Since you were all first timers, I strongly recommended you to go for the Medium level and told you that only 40% of the teams do escape this room and that most of them are not first timers either. You've still decided to go again my recommendation and choose the Hard level. Our briefing has been well developed through the years and reviewed numerous times to the version that it is today. It is a clear and very concise briefing which lasts about 2 minutes, otherwise we could start losing players' attention. Considering many children come to play with us and escape our rooms within 60 minutes, even on their first time, our briefing appears to be perfectly adequate. At the end of the briefings, we always invite players to ask questions. When players ask questions like "Where do we start from?", "What's the first clue?" or "How many puzzles are there?", we always reply "Well... you'll need to figure it out with your teammates." It's basically what the game is all about. You must work as a team to figure things out. However, all the puzzles are logical and kids can solve them all. In fact, I did brief your team at the same time that 2 other teams from another business and both of them successfully escaped their rooms in 45-50 minutes. No I wasn't having a bad day at all. Even if I did, I would still provide every customer with a nice service. I take a lot of pride in my little business. Once again, I'm very sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience. If you decide to play another escape game, even if it's not with us, I'd like to recommend you to let loose. Those games are designed to put you out of your comfort zone and not being in control at all times is part of the activity. That's why it's a true team game.
Written 15 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jcarter2015
Auckland, New Zealand191 contributions
Best escape room so far
Jan 2020 • Business
This is my fourth escape room in Auckland and this is by far my favourite. The puzzles are not easy at all. So takes a bit of thought... But it flows well.
Written 12 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you so much! That's awesome to hear that you've thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. We hope to see you and your crew again soon for another challenge ;)
Written 13 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

CampWest
Oksboel, Denmark16 contributions
An okay experience
Dec 2019 • Family
We did western jail. The room itself was fine. It was missing some decor. almost only 3 digits locks, which made it a bit easy, even though we chose the expert level.
But the staff was lacking enthusiasm and seemed unhappy to be there. They weren't interested in talking to us, not even when we where done. They were more busy checking their phone and talking to each other, then giving us a good experience.

Written 20 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for visiting us. I've tried to get in touch with you via email but didn't get a reply so I'll do it here. Regarding the decor of the Western Jail room, we feel that added too much decor and props would be detrimental to the game by making it too difficult for players to figure out what is part of the game and what is not. There are already jail cells with benches and wool blankets, a straw bale, a genuine sheriff's desk & chair, a vintage wooden chest, some real horse riding/oil skin coats, several cowboy's hats, a real western saddle, some horseshoes, a wine barrel, some riffles and ammunition, and much more but I don't want to reveal too much here. Regarding the type of locks, there is a combination of key locks, 3-digits locks and letter locks and no much electronic puzzles since it's a Western themed room. Our Escobar and Submarine rooms have more electronic puzzles and wider range of padlocks. However, the way to solve the puzzles is still very logical and that's what we've focused on when designing our rooms. All our puzzles make sense and players don't have to do anything random to solve them. The Western Jail room has a 60% success rate and you've escaped it in 43 minutes. Well done! The Escobar and School Detention rooms have a success rate between 30%-50% and the Submarine room success rate is below 15%. Those information are also available on our website. Regarding the staff enthusiasm, that's something I've discussed with them following your review. While it's not an excuse, we were fully booked for the previous 5 hours before your arrival and 2 of them were actually on break but chose to stay behind the counter with their colleague. That's why they were allowed to be on their phone but from now they will stay in our dedicated staff room to do so. Also 1 of them has just joined our team the day before and was still being trained, adding more pressure to both herself and the Manager training her. That's why she didn't stay very long after your game to converse with your group. I hope it sheds some light on your experience. Sorry again for not providing you with the 5-star experience we usually offer to our customers.
Written 29 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

mccahill
Auckland Central, New Zealand8 contributions
Awesome family outing - 11th birthday
Oct 2019 • Family
Fantastic host. Clever puzzles. Modern and immaculate facilities. 5 star, brilliant interactive entertainment. A fun, stimulating way to spend time with family and friends. We absolutely loved it. Submarine was the favourite of the two rooms. But both were superb. Will be back to try another room soon.
Written 29 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you Kathryn for your awesome review! We have no doubt you will love our Western Jail and Escobar rooms as well. We are looking forward to entertain you again soon!
Written 31 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sarah
Howick, New Zealand6 contributions
thinking out of the box experience
Oct 2019
Brilliant - perfect for team building exercise - very challenging and interesting experience - team of 5 or 6 is a great number...scenario are really well thought
Written 16 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you Sarah for your support! We agree, the perfect team size is 5-6 players. You get a lot of brain power and communication still flows really well between players. We are looking forward to see you again soon!
Written 31 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Alexa C
Auckland, New Zealand20 contributions
Young children
Oct 2019
Trying an escape room for the second time with my children now aged 10 and 12 and again proving we are a useless team, even with a n ‘easy’ option. The staff were faultless and overly kind in helping the children solve the clues when we failed to complete more than two in the 60 minutes. I really recommend doing this in a larger group or with older siblings.
Written 7 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you Alexa for taking the time to post your review. I'm glad to hear Annie and Avi look after you very well. Don't worry, the more you play escape games, the better you become at it. Here are my tips for next time: be thorough when searching, share ideas together and keep it logical at all time (nothing random whatsoever).
Written 31 October 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 51
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing