We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables

Closed Now: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Great Scones and friendly service

Best scones ever...just like Mum used to make. Nice size and heated and buttered on request... read more

Reviewed 1 August 2018
PaulM10874
Surcharge on visa credit

Went over to Riwaka for lunch,a lovely sunny day,went to Mrs Smith’s ,had the big breakfast and the... read more

Reviewed 26 June 2018
Dunca2015
,
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 50 reviews
14
All photos (14)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“sausage rolls”(9 reviews)
“pies”(7 reviews)
“from scratch”(2 reviews)
About
Mrs Smiths vegetables first started 47 years ago in 1967, just around the corner from where it is now situated. Betty & George Smith started growing vegetables & selling them from 67 School Rd Riwaka in a pump shed outside their home. In 2008 their...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
524 Main Road Riwaka | Riwaka, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-528 8689
Call
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
36
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
36
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sausage rolls pies from scratch fresh vegetables excellent coffee friendly service abel tasman cabinet artwork trail motueka
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Best scones ever...just like Mum used to make. Nice size and heated and buttered on request ;-) Friendly service ...nothing is a problem

Thank PaulM10874
karyn s, Owner at Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review, really appreciated. :)

Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Went over to Riwaka for lunch,a lovely sunny day,went to Mrs Smith’s ,had the big breakfast and the omelette and two coffees,one was meant to be free but I still got charged for it,the lady gets a bit flustered and I was not awake enough...More

Thank Dunca2015
karyn s, Owner at Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Really pleased you enjoyed your day out and the food at our place. The surcharge came about due to bank charges of 4.8% on all credit card transactions. Unfortunately being such a small business we have to recoup this cost. Next time your in please...More

Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Thanks for a nice coffee and Shepard’s pie :) a good location to stop out as it is of motueka with lots of parking...

Thank tearohanui
karyn s, Owner at Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

We usually pop in here for a coffee and something to eat before we tackle the Takaka Hill and been happy with the quality, service and environment. Not sure if it's recently changed hands but it's been given an upgrade inside and out since our...More

Thank Solotraveller54
karyn s, Owner at Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

I am so disappointed to read this review, it would of been nice to be told at the time so that who ever made the coffee could of been made aware at the time and another one made. Won't use that scone recipe again. Hopefully...More

Reviewed 19 April 2018

Lucky we arrived when we did, just after us four car load of trail bikers arrived. The service was excellent with a great selection of locally prepared food. The ambiance is also great. There is also a selection of lovely locally drawn artwork for sale,...More

Thank RossofIslington
karyn s, Owner at Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

awwwwwwwwwwww that is lovely, thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stop and the art work, I will let the artist know you have commented. Karyn

Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent coffee, everything baked in house, friendly service, fine ambience. Fun to watch the locals pop in to trade their empties for their bottles of milk. They also have a fresh selection of organic veggies, AND the apple strudel is to die for. The stuff...More

Thank marivancouver
karyn s, Owner at Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your review, love the fact that you pop in often and enjoy your visits. Karyn

Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

Wonderful food and the perfect place to stop with kids, has everything you need to keep the kids happy with great food for adults too.

Thank MatthewH4990
karyn s, Owner at Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Mathew, thank you for your review, great to know that we are in fact kid friendly from one who knows. Thanks again. Karyn

Reviewed 7 January 2018

We were out on a morning walk around Riwaka and stopped in here for a coffee and brekkie. Friendly and fast service. The coffee I thought was excellent. The food didn't look that great but was delicious all the same. A pleasant visit all round.

Thank SD2606
Reviewed 28 December 2017

These guys make everything from scratch- and it's delicious. They were pretty busy when we went in, and a little stressed and flustered, which could have been off putting, but I'm glad we stayed. The food was fantastic; homemade pies and salads, sandwiches and cakes.....and...More

Thank NZRoamer169
karyn s, Owner at Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you so much for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your food and coffee and that you came back for another visit. :) Karyn

Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Stopped for lunch here. Vietnamese rolls were good but coffee slice was dry and not great. Steak and mushroom pie was delicious. Then bought lots of fruit and veges from the shop which were really cheap, fresh and tasty.

Thank P7478NZbarbaras
karyn s, Owner at Mrs Smiths Cafe & vegetables, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2017

Thank you for your review, sorry slice was not up to its usual standard, glad everything else was enjoyed. Next time something isn't right please please tell us so we can fix it. Karyn

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Kimi Ora Eco Resort
502 reviews
4.05 km away
Equestrian Lodge Motel
571 reviews
4.41 km away
Avalon Manor Motel
140 reviews
4.62 km away
Motueka Garden Motel
83 reviews
5.32 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all nearby restaurants
Ginger Dynamite
36 reviews
.36 km away
Riwaka Hotel
30 reviews
.91 km away
Thomas Brothers Cherry And Real Fruit Ice Cream Stall
5 reviews
.38 km away
Retrotonic
5 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 3 nearby attractions
Kaiteriteri Kayaks
256 reviews
4.67 km away
Hop Federation
34 reviews
.38 km away
Kaiteriteri Beach
402 reviews
4.73 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
karyn s
5 October 2016|
Answer
Response from karyn s | Property representative |
Cal in for a coffee on us, no credit card needed for this one :)
0
Votes