We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Picton Castle & Gardens

Off the A40 | The Rhos, Haverfordwest SA62 4AS, Wales
+44 1437 751326
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely grounds

Really attractive grounds which are great for exploring with little ones. Cool balance board walk... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Albiccfc
via mobile
Rhi

Rhiannon M (0 review) This is a really lovely place. The stately home is beautiful aswell as the... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Rhiannon M
via mobile
Read all 573 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
PICTON CASTLE AND GARDENS A Magical Day Out for all the FamilySituated close to the Cleddau Estuary Picton Castle and Gardenscomprise 40 acres of some of the most beautiful gardens and grounds surrounding the great 13th century castle. Much like the castle building itself, the gardens of Picton are a fusion over many centuries of different gardening styles and periods. The gardens are now acknowledged as one of the most beautiful and atmospheric in Wales and on the strength of the collections are a Royal Horticultural Society Partner Garden.
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good31%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“guided tour” (57 reviews)
“walled garden” (145 reviews)
“tapas” (25 reviews)
LOCATION
Off the A40 | The Rhos, Haverfordwest SA62 4AS, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1437 751326
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 57 reviews
"walled garden"
in 145 reviews
"tapas"
in 25 reviews
"board walk"
in 20 reviews
"picton castle"
in 122 reviews
"lawn mower"
in 20 reviews
"stately home"
in 16 reviews
"house tour"
in 9 reviews
"fairy doors"
in 8 reviews
"interesting history"
in 6 reviews
"interesting house"
in 6 reviews
"children's play area"
in 8 reviews
"maria's restaurant"
in 10 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 7 reviews
"owl sanctuary"
in 7 reviews
"quiche"
in 9 reviews
"gardens are lovely"
in 11 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Really attractive grounds which are great for exploring with little ones. Cool balance board walk way for kids (which can get extremely slippery in wet weather) we usually go in the winter months as feel it is a little pricey in the Summer when there...More

Thank Albiccfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Rhiannon M (0 review) This is a really lovely place. The stately home is beautiful aswell as the gardens. I think it's overpriced for entry though as for pur family it was £35 and that was for entry aswell as guided tour of the house...More

2  Thank Rhiannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

We arrived early afternoon to be told that the tour of the castle was fully booked, but there was no price reduction. This meant that the visit to the walled garden - impressive restoration - and the new Owl Centre - will be good when...More

Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago

We were here nearly 4 hours and at the end had thoroughly enjoyed our visit.However the first hour was spent shaking off the difficulty in actually getting in the place – the lady on the entrance ticket office was so miserable she actually managed to...More

Thank 2,202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTLE178, Manager at Picton Castle & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review - I am sorry that our visitor welcome was not as open & friendly as we pride ourselves on providing., We do rely on visitor feedback to improve pour offer and will endeavour to upgrade the quality of our visitor...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Something for all of our family and good value for money. (Owls, boardwalk, maze, fairy doors, play park, gardens.) My only criticism is that I felt a bit rushed on the castle tour which was finished in 30 minutes rather than the guideline 45 which...More

Thank CClarkfouroaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited here to recce a garden club visit for 50 keen gardeners and wow! what a great find. The walled garden was one of the best we've ever seen and the whole experience including the best on site restaurant we've ever been too. Fabulous...More

Thank k22lmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately we were too late to tour the stately home itself, however the surrounding gardens and woodland walks were beautiful despite the wet welsh weather. They even have a fully automated lawn mowing robot to keep the place neat & tidy. The highlight of this...More

Thank JvEfthimiadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went here on a dull damp day. Arriving at 12.30 we were told by another visitor that the next house tour was 3pm which was disappointing. They need more tour guides! We could not wait that long so only paid for the gardens. The...More

Thank 413jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CASTLE178, Manager at Picton Castle & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review & I can understand your frustration. As a small charity we have been trying to gather and train more tour guides to provide more tours. At present sadly we do not have sufficient volunteer tour guides for the pressure of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited today as we were also going to The Secret Owl Garden. The grounds are lovely, with plenty to see. The children enjoyed the jungle board walk and the fairy door trail. We booked the tour of the castle (more a stately home than...More

Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So we had booked in advance for the owl experience, which was for one adult and child (10 yrs) to spend one to one time with three owls of differing sizes, which I think were Ozzy (1.2kg), K.I..T.T. (600g ?) and Dyson (300g) on our...More

Thank mullinsnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 hotels in Haverfordwest
Slebech Park
569 reviews
1.34 km away
Grove of Narberth
1,318 reviews
6.41 km away
Plas Hyfryd Country Hotel
253 reviews
7.42 km away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
552 reviews
7.82 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bush Inn
217 reviews
3.67 km away
CWM Deri Vineyard Restaurant
112 reviews
5.07 km away
The Grove
274 reviews
6.42 km away
Ultracomida
526 reviews
7.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Secret Owl Garden
171 reviews
3.20 km away
Oakwood Theme Park
2,141 reviews
4.07 km away
Llawhaden Castle
35 reviews
4.25 km away
Cwm Deri Vineyard
225 reviews
5.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Ian B
18 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from CASTLE178 | Property representative |
The gardens are about 75% accessible. We do have push wheelchairs available on loan should they be needed. The castle (by guided tour only)is also 80% accessible
0
Votes
sarah h
9 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from CASTLE178 | Property representative |
The castle is 90% accessible (there are photo books for the chapel & bedrooms) The gardens are approx. 75% accessible - we have 3 push-type wheelchairs on site for visitors - there is no charge for borrowing them. If you... More
1
Vote
frankiesm0m
6 August 2016|
Answer
Response from CASTLE178 | Property representative |
Yes dogs on leads are allowed in the gardens. Assistance dogs only in the castle - which is only open by guided tour
1
Vote