Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters

Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters

Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters
4.5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Irukandji Shark & Ray Encounters is an amazing experience of interacting with Sharks and Rays. The owners are passionate and dedicated to our Ocean's conservation and Marine Science. Every visitor can learn about the ocean depths and step outside their comfort zone by feeding and patting these amazing ambassador animals. Once you have experienced these majestic creatures individual personalities, you will have the confidence to take the next step and enjoy a snorkeling experience or private encounter, meeting these misunderstood animals in their own environment. If you are after an out of this world experience that can be shared with the whole family (even tiny babies get a wetsuit to wade with the sharks) then Irukandji is your next adventure waiting to happen.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Does not meet animal welfare guidelines
Tripadvisor does not provide bookings for this experience because it does not meet our animal welfare guidelines.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Jowe E
    22 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    A great find in Nelson Bay! A definite one to check out if you're in the area
    I've always wanted to check this place out and finally this weekend (since it was cold and rainy on and off at Nelson Bay), we went to Irukandji. The place was amazing and our lil one (3 year old) just couldn't get so much of it. We were able to pat the sharks and rays, feed them and just let them go around our legs. They're pretty friendly and harmless. The staff was definitely passionate about the marine habitat and very knowledgeable in giving us much information and background. you can also snorkel with the sharks! a definite must to check out whilst there.
    Hi j0wee, Thank you SO much for the kind review! Our small family business really appreciates the support. We are so glad to hear that the family enjoyed their time at Irukandji. Our Sharks & Rays are super friendly and affectionate. We often refer to them as puppy dogs, due to their adorable nature. Maybe next time you can snorkel with the sharks! Hope to see you all again, sometime soon. Thanks again. Kind Regards The Irukandji Team
    Written 7 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 3 September 2023
  • Cheryl C
    Melbourne, Australia44 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Must do!!!
    What an amazing day!!! We spent 5-6 hours here. Sitting in the lagoons,learning about our marine life. Petting, feeding and sitting with sharks,stingrays etc. It is so relaxing and enjoyable. The staff are amazing from reception to the wildlife trainers. I learnt so much I didn't know about our marine life. We did an encounter that was magic. They are only in stage 2 of 7 in the development so unfortunately nowhere to eat at this stage. Take food with you especially if taking children. They are only financed by tourism at this stage so please go to support our sealife. It was a fab day. Highly recommend.
    Hi 238cherylc, Thank you so much for the kind review - we appreciate such kind words! So glad you spent quality time here and got to enjoy every minute with our beautiful creatures. All experiences are incredible, to be able to get so close to the animals, we're so happy you loved it! We definitely will have more to come in the future, and appreciate all support to make that dream a reality. Kind regards, The Irukandji Team
    Written 10 March 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 9 December 2023
  • TAtraveler1
    Wollongong, Australia64 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Amazing experience. Well worth the money!
    Without a doubt an amazing family day out! Staff were very kind and welcoming. Full of knowledge and happy to answer any questions the kiddies had about the stingrays and sharks. Definitely will go back again in 2024!
    Hi TAtraveler1, we couldn't be happier to hear you had an amazing family day with us! Our staff absolutely love our incredible animals - they are family to us all. Our main goal is to give these animals a voice and to protect them, as well as answer all questions! Looking forward to seeing you here sometime this year! Kind regards, The Irukandji Team
    Written 10 March 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited December 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 30 December 2023
  • Mary R
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A highlight of my Australian vacation
    This was my second visit and I look forward to returning! My 9 year old granddaughter and I enjoyed the zebra shark encounter which I highly recommend. Thank you to Stephanie who shared her passion and knowledge of sharks.
    Hi R9144MTmaryr, we are thrilled to hear that Irukandji was a highlight to your Australian vacation. Our Zebra Shark Encounter is truly amazing and we are so glad your granddaughter enjoyed the experience. We will definitely pass the message on to Steph! Thank you again and hope to see you again on your next Australia vacation! Kind regards, The Irukandji Team
    Written 10 March 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 15 January 2024
  • Maddy
    Sydney, Australia44 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    WE LOVE THE RAYS
    We had the best time at this place! We only paid for the basic ticket, but having seen everyone else in the wetsuits getting closer to the sharks and rays we wish we had upgraded! The staff were very friendly and informative - we learnt SO much. Unfortunately we went during school holidays so there were kids everywhere (not their fault of course), but despite this we still got up close and personal with the sharks and rays. The rays were especially amazing - so happy and friendly to interact with you. Would highly recommend this to anyone traveling that way.
    Hi maddy0698, thank you so much for the amazing review! Our entry pass is still quite the experience, still being able to go into the shallows, but the wetsuits let you have that additional closeness to our rays and sharks - maybe next time? Our staff are incredible passionate about the animals here, protecting and educating customers about the animals, yet still have fun doing it! We don't want anyone missing out on any experience, we do advise people to book throughout the school holidays. With that being said, we are so happy to hear you got up close with the animals even through the busy period. Kind regards, The Irukandji Team
    Written 10 March 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 23 January 2024
  • gizzmo0402
    Stafford, United Kingdom183 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Enjoyable experience 🦈💙
    I thoroughly enjoyed my visit here. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. I paid for the basic package where you could feed the rays and the sharks 🦈, listen to the talks. I found the experience really therapeutic, especially as you could get your feet wet and stand in the pools with the rays, which was my personal favourite, as they blow bubbles on your feet, giving you kisses. A special mention to Blake, who was really informative and showed me Wilma and Betty's babies, these are the Blue spotted 💙 ribbontail rays, and their colouring is just beautiful 😍! Also, a massive thank you to volunteer Rachel, she'll know what I mean.
    Hi gizzmo0402, thank you so much for your kind words! Our entry pass is an incredible experience, still allowing people to still feed and touch the rays and sharks. Our rays love to blow kisses on peoples feet, your lucky you experienced that! We will most definitely pass the generous messages onto Blake & Rachael! Kind regards, The Irukandji Team
    Written 10 March 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited February 2024
    Travelled solo
    Written 17 February 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles348 reviews
Excellent
248
Very good
60
Average
28
Poor
4
Terrible
8

ngcroker
Sydney, Australia146 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
Visited with my grandchildren and was very disappointed. It is over priced for what is inside we didnt do any add on extras just the basic entrance fee. There is a shark feeding which they did twice while we where there and both times no sharks appeared but were told they do come to there names being called.Unless you pay the add on extra for socks you cannot stand in the water to feed stingrays and smaller sharks but you can do the same feed from the side of the water.There are other tanks which you can feed the stingrays that are in there but apart from that there is not much else.They need more shaded areas if people are to stay for longer periods. I know they havnt been open for long but hope they intend expanding with some more displays.


.
Written 23 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi ngcroker, Thank you so much for taking the time to send your feedback to us :) Every little bit counts to making us the very best we can be. We are so sad you missed the big sharks coming up, they are very special when they do come, we don't force any of our animals to do anything they don't want to do and sometimes they just want to snooze. They do know their names and are so beautiful when awake. You are right, our Attraction has never been about seeing the animals, it is about meeting them, learning their species variation, their individual personalities, feeding them, finding out about their conservation issues and now even snorkelling with them. The prices are as cheap as they can possibly be as we are a small business that runs an aquarium with world standards; all of our animals have the most natural habitat with rocky outcrops, hides and real ocean flora, the diet supplied by the marine biologist is high grade seafood that you could eat and every animal is accounted for and cared for with specialised qualified staff. Even when we moved to this brilliant new aquarium we maintained our original prices and we are so proud that we did, our animal welfare standards are very very high and there is no way we could make it cheaper and survive. Thank you yes we definitely need ore shade which is going in the week after next. Unfortunately Covid crippled us and we were unable to afford it up front when we first moved. Yes we are definitely expanding, we are so excited to bring you guys the next phases very soon, keep in mind we are only a small family business doing the best we can to build our dreams in a global pandemic, please bare with us as we build a little slower then expected <3 Thanks again for reaching out, we wish you all the best Warm Regards Lia
Written 6 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LondonLou123
Manly, Australia76 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2021 • Family
As per the last reviewer, we were disappointed about the poor visibility here. We couldn't see anything in any of the pools as the water was so murky - totally different to what is advertised. The main 'lagoon' was also murky but you could see the rays once they came up for you to feed. We were told the poor visibility was due to them expanding and so there is alot of building work where the dust has blown into the water. They do their best to keep it clean but it's a huge endeavour (they said) and while I do sympathise and imagine it's a great experience when you can see it all, I do wish we had complained to get our money back as it's a bit above average pricing to get in. I also think that people should be told about the poor visibility and then it's up to you if you want to go in. I know they do good work and need to make money to keep that up however I do feel we over paid for a below average experience. I would like to point out the staff inside talking about the animals were all absolutely lovely. Such a shame!! It will be wonderful when the work is done and visibility is back to normal.
Written 29 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi LondonLou123, Thank you for your honest feedback. We value all of our guests suggestions and opinions as we are always looking for ways to improve. Yes, during the Christmas School holiday period we unfortunately experienced some water clarity issues due to intense rain, dust & wind, that affected the visibility of our lagoon. It absolutely broke our hearts, especially after a tough year of lockdowns and restrictions. Our lagoon and pools are all outdoors, so our animals can enjoy natural sunlight, but unfortunately, this also leaves us at the mercy of unprecedented natural events. It was an unfortunate time that absolutely broke our hearts, as it coincided with our busy school holiday period, which was a further hit to us after the last two years of the pandemic. Please accept our sincere apologies. We have taken on your advice, and agree that someone should have mentioned it to you when you checked in. We tried to notify most guests, but sincerely apologise if you were not informed. That is on us. We are looking at moving into our second phase of expansion over the next coming weeks and hope that you may consider giving us a second chance, by visiting us again and experiencing Irukandji at its best. Thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback. We wish you all the best. Kind Regards The Irukandji Team
Written 28 March 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TALIA H
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Family
a very disappointing experience and a big waste of money- is how we felt as we left.

My husband and I went with our just turned 2yr old son and my parents.
It cost us $150 to gain entry just so we could gather in a large crowd by a single pool to try to feed the 3 stingrays that would come up to the shallow edge.

My father who has a walking stick couldn't even get into the water as he would have slip without his stick yet he STILL had to pay entry to sit by the side and watch. The staff kept yelling at us for kneeling down in the water as our son refused to stand in the water by himself as our swimmers were -'contaminating the water' so we had to bend over (killing our backs) to hold him in the water so he could feed the stingrays.

we gave up and we walked over to the other pool with the sharks in it. Again, same issues, only saw 2 little sharks and had to push and fight the crowd to get into the shallow water and the staff constantly yelling at people if they went in any deeper then their ankles.
Then that was in... we has seen and done everything.

unless you want to fork out another $20 per person for wet suits just so you could go into the water up to your waist. The wet suits should be included with entry, it just feels like a money grab. The snorkeling would be good, but again its extra money on top.
Its a very expensive experience for 2 small pools with barley anything in it.
I thought they may have had a table pool with shells, starfish and crabs for young children to touch and explore, but no... we were only there for 1hr.
Written 3 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi taliah699, It breaks our hearts to hear that you did not get the full Irukandji experience that you deserve. We take all feedback incredibly seriously, as we are always looking at ways to improve. I am not sure why you were charged $150, as your infant is FOC and 4 x Adult Entries would have been $147 on the family combo pass 3. If any of the adults had concessions, it would have been even cheaper. This includes Entry, all your shark and fish food and barefoot wading into the shallows of our two natural style lagoons, and feeding & patting our animals in the nurseries and smaller tanks. The free infant pass also includes free wetsuit hire. We offer this for all children 2 and under as we are a family business with young children and we understand it can be super exciting for children in this age group, ultimately leaving them completely soaked. If this option was not offered to you when you purchased your tickets, we apologise. That is on us, and we will work as a team to make sure during the busy periods, that all information is clearly communicated to our guests, while ensuring a seamless and prompt check in. Yes, you are correct. Like all traditional aquariums, to gain access and view our animals, an Entry Pass is required to be purchased. I am sorry that the staff did not offer your father in law to sit on the strategically placed rock in the stingray lagoon, which was created in mind for those that may need some support in the water. Your father in law would have been more than welcome to sit on this rock, with his feet in the water. Apologies if this was missed. As you can imagine, the walking stick could have posed too much of a risk to our stingrays. If it was pressed onto their wings by accident, they could get injured. Once again, we are sorry that during this peak period, the staff did not communicate this to you. They are amazing at what they do, but during our busy times, they may have accidentally missed the opportunity to explain this information in further detail. As we are not a public pool, we do not allow only swimwear to be worn. Due to the nature of the activities, we require some coverage. We also do not allow your personal clothing or wetsuits to be worn in the water, as we are trying to avoid detergents, chemicals, bacteria etc into the water with our marine friends. They are our priority, so we hope you can understand that we have their wellbeing in mind at all times. No one deserves to be yelled at however. I am sad to hear that this may have happened. The animals in our lagoons are our family, so our Fish Keepers keep their safety and wellbeing top priority at all times. Once again, we will have a chat to the team about better ways of delivery, when explaining the experiences to our guests. Wetsuit hire is an additional $18 per person 3yrs+. This also acts a visual ticket for those who have paid for an in-water experience. Unfortunately, we have had people take advantage of this, and have subsequently been forced to keep all guests on Entry + Shallows standing, as it wasn't fair for those who had paid for the upgrade, when people are kneeling in the water, getting really wet in their own clothes. We are sorry to hear that you felt your experience did not met your expectations. Our two natural style lagoons that you can enter are not small by any means, as they both hold approximately 100,000,000 litres of water in each. We are currently in Stage 2 out of 7, so perhaps you may consider visiting us again once we have expanded further. Being a small family business, this will take some time, but we have some amazing plans in the works and hope you give us a second chance at a later date. If you would like to discuss this further, please reach out via info@sharkencounters.com.au We thank you for your time in providing feedback. All the best Kind Regards The Irukandji Team
Written 6 May 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TheJackofswords
Sydney, Australia164 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Couples
We stopped here whilst visiting Port Stephens and came to instantly regret it.
Over 40 animals (according to staff) kept in poor conditions that are constantly exposed to human contact. They are attempting a breeding program which given the state of the place seems like a horrible idea. We were told no eggs have yet taken which seems unsurprising. They also claim to be a rehabilitation centre. When asked what they are rehabbing we were told they had one turtle which had been there for several weeks. This was supposedly kept in the 'rehab centre' which was a closed off building. It all appears to simply be a facade in order to run a low rent petting zoo in poor conditions. The talks seem to boil down to 'dont worry they won't hurt you! They are our friends and family' if you care about conservation and animal wellbeing avoid this place and do not give them any money. Feels like the sort of place that should be shut down sooner rather than later.
Written 4 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Jack of Swords, This can't be a real review, it cant be possible, so incredibly confused by this review. If it is real please get in touch with us on info@sharkencounters.com.au so we can find out how you could have possibly come to this having actually visited us? I would love to touch base on some of the things you have mentioned. Irukandji currently has 536 Animals 105 of which are elasmobranchs (sharks, rays and stingrays) so over 40 does not fit. We have had countless successful breeding programs over the years including the three current successful programs; brown banded bamboo sharks, epaulette sharks, blue spotted ribbon-tail rays and we are actively not breeding certain species so I'm not sure where you got the information as it's not the case. Irukandji's new aquarium (built in 2020) is a state of the art natural lagoon based facility with almost 100,000,000 litres to each of the lagoons which means we are actually a leader in stocking density vs water volume and our incredible natural habitat has caves, rocky outcrops, deep sand to hide under at the bottom of both 3m deep lagoons. The conditions are amazing and most of the lagoons are no where near human contact, the animals are choosing to come over to the humans and could leave the visitors any time, they enjoy being with them. Irukandji (where the visitors are) is not a rehabilitation centre, Sea Shelter is the rehabilitation section (inside our quarantine) and understandably those animals are never mixed with visitors as they are in quarantine and need to remain un-humanised, then released to the wild with the best chance of survival. Irukandji itself is a conservation experience (not rehab centre) we don't get out animals from the wild and they are habituated (human interaction and understanding similar to domestication), born into a world where humans are friends and they help their wild cousins through teaching humans how incredible their personalities are and creating an imperative conversation around reducing the culling of their cousins and putting in protections like other species have. If this is not a fake review please get in touch with us so we can get an idea how you could possibly feel this way, we are renowned for the opposite of what you are suggesting and we work with some of the best vets and experts in the country ensuring we are the absolute best we can be, never letting a stone unturned if something is amiss, please reach out. Warm Regards Lia
Written 10 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

padani
Canberra, Australia17 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 • Family
Went there the front office staff were nice.
Once you are inside it's different. Feeding the friendly rays was part of the starter ticket. I found it really hard to get 2 CENTS worth of feed to feed the rays. You will need a bit longer meat to put it on the stick with a metal clip which they give us to feed the 'rays'. I asked for the 2 CENTS worth of meat. The lady grudgingly gave a very small piece. Needless to say, the ray wasn't able to eat it because it was very small.
The shark lecture was nice there are some sharks. Here also the guy came with 2 pieces of fish and came back. He didn't feed the shark.

If you pay extra you will be given some wet suits and then have some time near a small shark.

Altogether this experience is not worth the money you pay for it
Written 29 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Padani, We are so sorry you did not get to enjoy the full experience, this is so sad and must be due to the long weekend on school holidays in September. We diligently monitor our numbers at the door to ensure only a certain number of visitors are here at any given time. Regarding the small pieces of food on school holidays this is absolutely the case, great husbandry is so important, we look after our animals with the utmost care and feeding them the correct amount of food is a part of that, so when the number of visitors triples, this means the visitors will only receive 1/3 the amount of food each in busy times and we carefully share it out across the day. This is the reason you will never have to pay for any of the food you receive, its super important to us and feeding is a free bonus on top of getting to see them & pet them too. We definitely recommend people spread out, visit the baby rays, the eels, the baby sharks, go to the talks, and take turns as you get to both the big lagoons for feeding and petting. If you are on the edge in the ankle deep part a small amount of patience will be needed during those busy times to get your turn in the lagoons' shallows as they are the most popular place for people to gather at, we recommend being patient and taking your turn or you can do the Wetsuit Wading Experience that you mentioned which is a wonderful option and incredibly cheap for $18 comparable as a leader globally. We are so sorry you didn't get the whole experience, we would love to welcome you back during a non-long weekend so you can meet the incredible animals properly . Warm Regards, The Irukandji Team
Written 13 April 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

bronwynl906
Berkeley Vale, Australia150 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 • Couples
Bring able to touch and feed these amazing creatures was great! I paid the extra $15 for water socks so I could wade into the shallows. The guides were very informative and knowledgeable. Probably a little expensive but it is a conservation centre so the money goes to a good cause.
Written 19 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Bronwynl906, Thanks for the positive review! Our activity is already so unique, but adding the extra in-water encounter is definitely worth it to get even closer to sharks and rays. Our prices reflect the high-quality care we provide for our animals, with only the best food and healthcare given to them as well as state of the art water filtration and heating and cooling equipment used to make sure they are in the best possible environment. We are also in the process of building our marine animal hospital for rescued animals and a larger aquarium with lots of new experiences for visitors. We hope you will get the chance to come back and see us as we grow bigger and better! Have a great day! From the Irukandji Team
Written 21 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jono13
Lake Macquarie, Australia207 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021
What a great way to spend three hours. This was a fascinating experience sharing the water with some amazing creatures. I believe this is a new location and the experience included sharing the pool with some super-friendly rays and sharks. The two girls who were our guides were very knowledgeable and shared that knowledge freely. It was great feeding and patting the sharks and rays. We learned so much and the time passed quickly. We have a new awareness of how to protect and care for our sharks and rays. We hired the wetsuits but that was not absolutely necessary, and there were a range of other experiences available. Well worth a visit and you leave knowingly much more and feeling you are contributing to the protection of our wildlife.
Written 22 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much Jono13! Your glowing review has left us with all the warm, fuzzy feelings! We are grateful to receive such wonderful feedback to help us keep doing what we love. We're so glad you found the experience fun and educational and it helped change your attitudes towards sharks and rays and environmental conservation. Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review us, we really appreciate the support. Have a wonderful day! Warm regards from the Irukandji team.
Written 10 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MissKirstsTravels
Sydney, Australia945 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 • Family
Great morning out.

We really enjoyed our visit at the new location.

The staff were super friendly and their knowledge and passion for the animals is clearly evident in the way they speak & care for them. We found them all so interesting to speak to & hear their stories.

Patting & feeding a port jackson shark and stingray was a highlight for our 4 year old & he hasn’t stopped talking about it.

The animals were super friendly and even had little personalities trying to get your attention by splashing you.

It was absolutely freezing the day we went, so unfortunately the in water experience was too daunting for us. A tip would be to dress warm as it is outside.

For those who complain about the cost of entry, if you consider the costs involved in running such a facility, it is very much worth it.

I love reading about the animals and learning quirky facts - perhaps some little plaques around describing the animals, and some of the quirks some of the individual ones have.

A great way to spend a morning. The ticket is valid all day, so you could go away and have some lunch, and come back again in afternoon.

Look forward to returning again after the next stage is done :)
Written 30 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi MissKirstsTravels, Thanks so much for your complimentary and comprehensive review! We are so proud of our staff and the passion they have for the animals and the work they do here. I will be sure to let them know that you appreciated them! As for our animals, they are our absolute pride and joy and we're so happy that you enjoyed your encounter with them. Did you know that the next stage of our development will be a fully indoor facility with a heated pool to house our tropical animals? This will definitely help keep everyone happy on cooler days. In the meantime our water is heated to around 23 degrees so it's quite pleasant for anyone who wants to get in and get closer to the sharks and rays. We also plan on having more information around about our animals for visitors. Thanks for that suggestion! We're glad to know that our visitors want to learn more about these fascinating creatures. Thank you again for your feedback and support and we look forward to seeing you when you visit again! Warm regards from the whole Irukandji Team.
Written 2 June 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

JNarbz
Wollongong, Australia7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2021 • Family
This place was great for my young family (3 kids between 8 &4).
Don’t even bother not at least paying for “the socks” ($15 ea) which means you can get in the water to feed and pat!
Look, it cost almost $200 (5 people). But the kids had a ball, and this has no doubt been the highlight of our trip!
Apparently stage 2 is coming...... we will be back. Highly recommend!!!!
Written 13 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Jimmy N, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5 Star review! Our small family business really appreciates the support. We pride ourselves on our exceptionally high animal husbandry care, as we only give our animals the best of the best. By purchasing a ticket, you can be well assured that our animals are being well cared for, as their welfare always comes first, which is reflected in our prices. Yes, we are just about to enter phase 2 and we are all incredibly excited! We hope our next stage of expansion will be completed by the end of the year. This will include a new tropical lagoon, new species and tailored in-water experiences for children under 12 years. We look forward to welcoming you back. Take care. Kind Regards The Irukandji Team
Written 29 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Petra
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021
Usually its better to book but we managed to get in and absolutely loved sitting on a rock inside a pool with lots of rays , sting rays and sharks swimming around our legs. We choose the 'basic entry" plus the 'Shallows' which means we can get our feet/legs wet but don't need to get into a wet suit. We enjoyed the educational talks. The staff there is very knowledgeable and burst with passion for the animals. The park is run with the animal's welfare (I believe most of them had been injured and rescued) in mind and it felt like an aquatic version of the reptile park. They are currently at 'phase 1' and the park will expand further. The pools are fairly large and outdoors but partially under cover.. This business is not to be mistaken for the other Shark and Ray center nearby. No stingers as yet. The stingrays and sharks are completely harmless and a strict safety and 'interaction' protocol is enforced for the sake of the animals which I appreciated. This was the best experience of the whole weekend.
Written 10 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Oceaswimmer, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review! As a small family business, we really appreciate the feedback and support. The Shallows Encounter in Socks is a great option for those that don't want to get completely wet, but still have an interactive in-water experience. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed getting up close and personal with our friendly and affectionate animals. Education is incredibly important to us, and our staff are extremely dedicated in sharing their knowledge about our amazing animals and spreading awareness around conservation. Phase 2 is just about to begin, hoping to be completed by the end of the year! We are all very excited about the next level of expansion and hope you visit us again to check on our progress. Glad we were able to provide you with such a memorable experience. Thanks again for visiting! Take care and have a lovely weekend. Warm Regards The Irukandji Team
Written 29 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 341
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

IRUKANDJI SHARK & RAY ENCOUNTERS (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Port Stephens HotelsPort Stephens Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Port Stephens
All things to do in Port StephensZoos & Aquariums in Port Stephens
Day Trips in Port StephensAmusement Parks in Port Stephens
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire