We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Onley

Open Now: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Open today: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Share
Review Highlights
Great evening meal

Very enjoyable evening meal, to celebrate a great friends birthday. The staff were very polite and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Kirk111197
,
Braintree, United Kingdom
Fab meal and great bar staff

Had a fab meal here last night. Massive portions and great Camden Ale to wash it all down with... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Navigator29497419209
via mobile
Read all 146 reviews
44
All photos (44)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good17%
  • Average16%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch”(7 reviews)
“three courses”(4 reviews)
“cask ales”(3 reviews)
About
The Onley is nestled in the idyllic village of Stisted, Essex. Located on the site of The Black Lion, which burnt down in the early part of the 19th century, before being rebuilt as The Onley Arms by Mr Onley. Re-Opened June 2016 after an extensive...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
The Street | Stisted, Braintree CM77 8AW, England
Website
+44 1376 325325
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 29 March 2017

This is a difficult review to write because the food is really good, the staff obliging, nice selection of wines but the noise is horrendous. We have visited three times recently and on each occasion it has been so so noisy that it's difficult to...More

3  Thank Pollyshill
fohmanager_theonley, Manager at The Onley, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Good evening, Thank-you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal and thought our service was as good as well. I'm sorry that the level of noise affected your visit to the point you do not wish to return. Your feedback will be...More

Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I visited this beautiful establishment a while ago having drinks on the fantastic terrace on a warm evening. Only thing that marred our visit was a group of young people being very loud, one girl in particular, swearing and talking openly about drugs and even...More

4  Thank ssjacks0n
Lynn E, Guest Relations Manager at The Onley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I sincerely apologise for the situation that occurred. I can assure that all staff have been made aware of what happened and further staff training has been undertaken to ensure this situation does not...More

Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
69
26
24
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
69
26
24
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch three courses cask ales lovely meal beef food was fantastic potatoes cheesecake large booking nice place to eat tzatziki wine list visited with friends evening meal triple cooked chips homely feel family birthday meal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a fab meal here last night. Massive portions and great Camden Ale to wash it all down with. Only went in for a an hour ended up staying all night.

Thank Navigator29497419209
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My lovely Husband organised a Surprise 40th Birthday dinner gathering for 15 at the very modern Onley Arms Pub in Stisted Village. The deposits for the party were paid for in advance a week before the party date, and the menu choices were given 3...More

2  Thank louise r
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent weekday evening meal for 2, food was high quality along with service from staff and wine, we ate in the bar area but have had several meals in the restaurant with friends and family, all of which have been equally high quality, considered now...More

Thank Steve E
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very enjoyable evening meal, to celebrate a great friends birthday. The staff were very polite and welcoming, the food although took a little time to come, was worth the wait. The Rib eye steak was excellent! Good selection of beers and wines. We will be...More

Thank Kirk111197
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First visit with a friend. Very warm welcome from girls behind bar. Told them we wanted to eat so was invited to eat in the restaurant. We had a good table and ordered the pork crackling with apple sauce (from a jar) and the fish...More

Thank jomaleary
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Three of us popped in for a Sunday toast on a wet and miserable day. Despite being a little late 2.30 pm we had a warm welcome and a fantastic beef. The meat was so tender and the veg delicious clearly not having sat around...More

Thank Jane C
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Have been here a couple of times, without disappointment, but wasn’t impressed this visit. The mains were the smallest I’ve seen anywhere. More like child portions! Usually a main & dessert would fill me up, but left still hungry. Won’t be returning.

Thank SweetMumma1
Onleystisted, Manager at The Onley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

We are very disappointed that our food portions were considerably smaller than you have previously experienced. In order to rectify this, please can I ask the dish you ordered and the date you visited The Onley. Best regards Nicola Kent Manager

Reviewed 2 October 2018

6 of us dined two had sea bass at £14 smallest fillet ever ive had whole one at that price other meals ok but nothing special shame lovely decor friendly staff wouldn,t go back

Thank annettewislon56
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Very pleasantly surprised with this beautiful upmarket in the quaint village of Stisted. The restaurant was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. The beef burgers were very sumptuous, and the service was excellent. We will definitely visit here again.

Thank ldyshaz
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

You never think that a wake can be an enjoyable occasion but I honestly can’t fault the service we experienced and the time we had at the Onley today. We had sadly said goodbye to our mother but came in to see all the tables...More

Thank Jess H
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Premier Inn Braintree (A120) Hotel
505 reviews
3.44 km away
Premier Inn Hotel Braintree Freeport Village
535 reviews
3.62 km away
White Hart Hotel
475 reviews
4.57 km away
Essex Golf & Country Club
366 reviews
5.23 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 145 nearby restaurants
Spicy Swan
76 reviews
1.80 km away
The Dolphin
486 reviews
1.52 km away
Fowlers Farm
706 reviews
3.59 km away
Taj Mahal Indian Restaurant
120 reviews
3.67 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 38 nearby attractions
Gosfield Shopping Village
62 reviews
3.97 km away
Braintree & Bocking Public Gardens
78 reviews
3.69 km away
Gosfield Gallery
8 reviews
3.85 km away
Coggeshall Clock House and Clock Tower
21 reviews
5.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ann B
11 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andrew F | Reviewed this property |
We had a taste card so it was half price, but if it helps we had a three course meal and it came to about £25 for two of us . Very good value .
1
Vote
jennisamson44
8 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Lynn E | Property representative |
Yes food is served until 9pm the Sunday roast finishes at 6pm and thereafter the choice up until 9pm is from the full menu. We really look forward to welcoming you tomorrow if you are able to make it and once again I am... More
0
Votes