Mercury Bay Estate

Mercury Bay Estate, Whitianga: Hours, Address, Mercury Bay Estate Reviews: 4.5/5

Mercury Bay Estate
4.5
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Sunday
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM
About
Boutique Vineyard & Restaurant located above Cooks Beach & over looking the beautiful Mercury Bay. Offering a selection of estate grown wines and matched with high quality Italian style food in a casual & relaxed setting.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
256 reviews
Excellent
151
Very good
61
Average
22
Poor
11
Terrible
11

Tom O
Auckland, New Zealand22 contributions
Probably a little expensive but then it was worth the visit and experience
Apr 2021
A wine appreciation group of 12 - enjoyed the wine tasting and the platters, We enjoyed the experience and the staff were excellent and attentive.

Super setting and vista,
Written 15 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jane
Te Puke, New Zealand107 contributions
Nice pizza
Apr 2021 • Couples
Tasty pizza and salad only complaint is not to remove plates from table until all diners finished...
Written 7 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

johnve2015
Auckland, New Zealand2 contributions
Uninterested owner
Apr 2021
Went for a drink, uninterested owner, said no tables available , told we could sit outside on the grass, so we did.
10 minutes later another couple arrived with no booking as we overheard the conversation, he went inside and came out a few mins later and placed the couple at a table that had been empty when we had arrived.
Not worth the drive ! This is the second time we have tried to experience this place, never again.
Written 3 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

nztraveller476
Auckland Central, New Zealand59 contributions
Average wines and expensive
Mar 2021
Average wines and expensive to do a tasting ($20 for 4 wines). For $20 I'd expect to get some kind of explanation or tasting sheet but this was not provided. No staff member asked if we were okay, wanted anything to eat or were enjoying the wines at all during our visit.
Written 22 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

helenmatthews
Auckland, New Zealand14 contributions
Hidden Gem in Cook's beach
Feb 2021 • Couples
The entire experience was outstanding.
While staying in Cook's beach, we had a drizzly summers day and decided to lunch at Mercury Bay.
The wines are superb and the food absolutely delicious, the little extras that the ownwrs have added to the experience, make this a must do if you visit the area! Cannot recommend this place enough.
Written 9 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dayle Steele
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Frustrating - drive on past!
Jan 2021 • Family
This is the second time we have attempted to do a tasting here and have been given an obscure reason as to why we could not. We are not familiar with a vineyard turning paying customers away and are left with a strong impression that tasting the wine may not be advantageous to this business in any way shape or form. Not worth the stop - drive on past!
Written 13 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
It is clear and written on the front of the entry, website and menu that wine tastings finish at 3pm and you arrived at 4pm. Not an obscure reason.
Written 15 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Claire E
Pukekohe, New Zealand252 contributions
Family Birthday
Dec 2020 • Friends
As always a fabulous visit to Mercury Bay Winery. Ferry ride over from Whitianga then Cathedral Cove Taxi Shuttle service to the winery. Food is always superb.
Lovely way to wile away the sunny end of 2020 with family & friends. MAGIC!!
Written 30 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike.102m
16 contributions
Bubble tent and meal
Oct 2020 • Couples
My wife and i were travelling around the coromandel and through our google searching we came accross the bubble tent experience which was just amazing and what a fantastic idea!! We also had dinner here on the first night and the pizza was to die for! Overall a five star experience. Highly recommend
Written 3 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Great feedback Mike, much appreciated. thank you
Written 5 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Catw0man31
Auckland, New Zealand3 contributions
A little slice of Italy on the Coromandel
Sep 2020
Amazing pizza! The best I’ve had outside Italy.
Beautiful setting and enjoyable wine tasting experience.
Written 24 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Talia R
23 contributions
Appalling service
Sep 2020 • Couples
Can’t speak for the food or wine because we sat at our table for 30 minutes and no one spoke to us. Booked a table as recommended, table was ready for us and we were told where to sit. We then sat there for approximately 15 minutes at which point I went and got menus inside. Two servers walked by me and didn’t say anything. Took them back to the table to look. No one came to take our order or even tell us to order at the bar (if that’s what you are meant to do). People around us we’re getting served at the table, including orders taken, and still no one stopped at our table. Eventually left after 30 minutes, again with no one saying anything on the way out. Will not be going back.
Written 11 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Obviously we are disappointed with this feedback & we do apologise, operating under level 2 definitely impacts our service. However we must pull you up on some inaccuracies in your review. We can't find any evidence that you actually had a booking. Yes there was a delay due to us giving the reserved tables priority but you weren't seated for anywhere near the time you suggest. Under COVID 19 there must be 'one server per table' & it's 'table service only,' this is why you were told you cannot order at the bar, that's the rules so you should respect this & understand that while we have these restrictions service will be compromised anywhere you go.
Written 15 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 243
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing