We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zoo de Santillana

Features Animals
Closed Now: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Open today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Review Highlights
Lots of animals but seemed a bit run down

There were plenty of animals to see but the facilities overall were a bit run down and in need of a... read more

Reviewed 31 October 2018
RichardC4954
via mobile
Great Zoo

Ignore the negativity in other reviews and judge for yourself. Lots of animals, and well looked... read more

Reviewed 19 September 2018
PeteJ196
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 577 reviews
361
All photos (361)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good35%
  • Average13%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
31 Oct 2018
“Lots of animals but seemed a bit run down”
14 Oct 2018
“Bored and boring”
About
Santillana Zoo is a 41 year old zoo where you will enjoy more than 2000 animals from all over the planet in a surface bigger than 6 football fields... You will enjoy the magic of the Butterfy house and more than 40 European endangered species...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:30 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Avda. del Zoo, 2 | A 800m de la villa medieval de Santillana de Mar, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Website
+34 942 81 81 25
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
6
3
4
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
6
3
4
3
7
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

There were plenty of animals to see but the facilities overall were a bit run down and in need of a refresh. Paths were muddy and slippery and the cafe was closed. The areas for some of the animals were quite small (compared to Chester...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank RichardC4954
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Thank you Richard for your feedback because it is always useful for us having many different opinions. See you soon!

Reviewed 15 October 2018

Wish I hadnt gone. The animals clearly demonstrated institutionalised behaviour and their surroundings were uninspired. The terrain was hilly and the facilities non existant or poor.More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank torquoise
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

I am sorry for your disappointment. Our Zoo has been here for the last 41 years and it is well respect by all the zoos all around Europe because of our successful way of breeding endangered species. Besides it is a private one with no...More

Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

Ignore the negativity in other reviews and judge for yourself. Lots of animals, and well looked after. Lots of food for animals and lots of staff maintaining and cleaning enclosures. Butterfly house is easily one of the best wildlife attractions I’ve been to! Friendly staff...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank PeteJ196
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

Thank you very much Pete for your nice explanation about the staff and the enclosures of the zoo. When someone gives us such a great opinion is when our work makes sense. Thank you again and see you son!

Reviewed 20 May 2018

This is s horrible place. The large animals have insufficient space. The live on concrete with no greenery. They are either suffering from complete misery or must have been drugged. The smaller animals pace and space as there is no room to move further. Even...More

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank Harrysmumanddad
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Sir: I am sorry to hear such a negative comments. We are member of EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria, https://www.eaza.net) and one of its objetives is ensuring that its member zoos and aquariums achieve and maintain the highest standards of care and...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Although we had read the reviews against my better judgement we visited this zoo. It was not quite as bad as I expected and not as bad as another zoo I visited in the north some years ago. However, I left feeling very sad rather...More

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank gone2asturias
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

I'm sorry you felt like that but if you have the opportunity, please come back whenever you can and I'll explain you many things that may change your opinion about us.

Reviewed 2 September 2017

My children and I used to volunteer here in the 80's. It was smaller then but is now well advertised.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank nmph2017
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment and the mark you give us! See you soon

Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

The zoo does not have the concept of animal welfare, the orangutang cage has concrete floor and nails projecting, bear cage concrete floor, enclosures not big enough for the type of animal, social animals held alone. There is a stream with a concrete channel through...More

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank rdsp430
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

I'm sorry about such a bad opinion evethough I do respect it. Anyway, thank you for your comments

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We thought that it could have been a bit expensive at €20, but it's well worth it. A large area with an excellent variety of animals.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Dennis C
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment and see you soon!

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

No words to describe this awful run down zoo .Animals in horrific conditions , small dirty enclosures hence very smelly !! Rabbits in wire bottomed cages no food, peeing etc onto the concrete floor underneath them what a stench ! No grass or runs for...More

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank DeborahG508
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

We are sorry you felt like that... Anyway, we appreciate your opinion, thank you and have a good day.

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Although the weather was not cooperating we had so much fun in that zoo! Animals are displayed so that you can see them well and even interact with some. Monkeys are especially funny. My kids have been in many zoos around the world and I...More

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Anna T
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much! See you soon!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 nearby hotels
Los Hidalgos Apartments
94 reviews
.52 km away
Casona Los Caballeros
164 reviews
.77 km away
Hotel Salldemar
47 reviews
.79 km away
Hotel Cuevas
129 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 54 nearby restaurants
Descanso Altamira
12 reviews
.92 km away
El Bisonte Rojo
1,071 reviews
.72 km away
Pizzeria Bitinia
699 reviews
.81 km away
EL Pasaje de Los Nobles
1,345 reviews
1.03 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 25 nearby attractions
Escuela de Surf El Pico
20 reviews
1.07 km away
Plaza Mayor de Ramon y Pelayo
679 reviews
1.09 km away
Calle de Juan Infante
196 reviews
1.03 km away
Collegiate Church of Santillana del Mar
778 reviews
1.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zoo de Santillana staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines