We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lost Waterfalls-Boquete

Bajo Mono, Boquete 0413, Panama
+507 6691-9144
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great hike - 3 great waterfalls

Great hike, not too hard. We just did this hike the 1st week in January 2018. With a lot of rain in... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
k6671
,
North Carolina
Steep but Worthwhile

The beginning of the trail was very steep and we had to go slow with my father in law, and managed... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Tom S
,
Austin, Texas
via mobile
Read all 388 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Lost Waterfalls is a moderate to difficult hike through the cloudforest in western Panama to three fabulous waterfalls. The hike can take from one to three hours round trip depending on how many waterfalls you want to see. If you are lucky you may spot sloths, monkeys, quetzals or any number of the fascinating wildlife living in the cloudforest.
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good28%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“great hike” (36 reviews)
“entrance fee” (17 reviews)
LOCATION
Bajo Mono, Boquete 0413, Panama
CONTACT
Website
Call
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Great hike, not too hard. We just did this hike the 1st week in January 2018. With a lot of rain in the area the previous days it was one of the muddiest hikes I have ever been on - and one of the best...More

Thank k6671
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

The beginning of the trail was very steep and we had to go slow with my father in law, and managed to get to the official entrance which overlooks the valley below. The path was slightly muddy and handrails were intermittent. We didn't see much...More

Thank Tom S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hike . 3 waterfall. Not too far from downtown. It do not take the hole am. You can see a lot of flower , vegetation. Some birds. Swim in the river( very cold ) . If you take your time i would said 1h...More

Thank Anouk V
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading the owners' responses to the very few negative reviews of this place, we got convinced to go to the lost waterfalls. And what a great day we had! Absolutely stunning place with only natural paths, great flora and several swimming opportunities. The water...More

Thank Rick A
burtondogs, Owner at The Lost Waterfalls-Boquete, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Does that mean that you liked the responses? Glad you came! Thanks, Wendy

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hike is really good fun to spend a morning on. In Boquete touragencies offer overpriced tours, but you can easily organize it yourself. A local bus costs 2,50USD (okt2017) and drops you of at the start where you still need to walk for about...More

1  Thank soesanstravel
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We did the hike to the first two waterfalls. My shoes wouldn't allow me to make it to the third. Lovely waterfalls and a nice walk. Moderate on the whole but with some uphill, mainly at the start. We were waiting for our friends who...More

1  Thank kittyh1982
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I do a lot of hiking, on trail, off trail, city, country, wilderness and this is one of the best jungle trails i can ever recall. How to get to the trail: Take the taxi shuttle from downtown Boquete. The taxi shuttle departs every half...More

Thank Alice B
burtondogs, Owner at The Lost Waterfalls-Boquete, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Alice, Afton as in Afton Alps? I'm from Mpls and have been here for almost 14 years. Thank you for the great review. The week that you were here, the reason that you were stopped the first few times was that the tourist commission,...More

Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

Good hike with some steeper sections, you will have to climb a little with support from your hands. But one of the most beautiful waterfalls in perfect nature and some really good views. The guy who lives there is really friendly and can show you...More

Thank Linda D
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

We booked to the trip in mamallena hostel for 30$ each. It was very nice hiking. A lot of green and amazing view. Dont miss this.

Thank Leehisabag
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hike. We had beautiful weather and saw such beautiful landscape. This was easy to get to by bus. The steepest part of the hike is the walk from the parking area to where you pay. The rest is easier. The rope to...More

Thank Melissa B
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Boquete
Finca Lerida
402 reviews
3.52 km away
Valle Escondido Resort Golf & Spa
320 reviews
7.67 km away
Hotel Panamonte
210 reviews
8.08 km away
Hotel Ladera
141 reviews
8.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Rock
888 reviews
7.52 km away
Fire Side Inn - Georges' Grill
374 reviews
7.09 km away
Il Pianista
253 reviews
6.41 km away
Ruiz Coffee Shop
22 reviews
6.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sendero Los Quetzales (The Quetzales Trail)
225 reviews
2.85 km away
Pipeline Trail
160 reviews
1.74 km away
Bajo Mono Camping Site
17 reviews
.90 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sarabentov
20 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from burtondogs | Property representative |
Hi, Sorry that I didn't see this question before. It's rated moderate to difficult. The 4 year old would have problems without a lot of help and they would both need supervision.
0
Votes
crazychick88
27 November 2016|
Answer
Response from burtondogs | Property representative |
You can get a bus near the center of town in front of the grocery store Bruna. Just ask for the buses going to Baja Mono or the 3 waterfalls or las tres cascadas. If there are several people in your group, you can also get a... More
2
Votes
crazychick88
27 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Barnesy4 | Reviewed this property |
The buses leave from Parque Central - but don't actually drop you at the entrance. From the bus stop it's another 15min+ walk to the entrance. I'd advise the same, a taxi. You can also organise for it to meet you when you... More
2
Votes