Bikes & Beyond

Bikes & Beyond, Waiheke Island: Hours, Address, Bikes & Beyond Reviews: 4.5/5

Bikes & Beyond
4.5
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Bicycles , wine-tours, electric assist bike rentals, tandems, mountain bikes. Best way to see Waiheke - Devonport and Auckland. Long term rentals, and specialist tours. Tandems, Bullitt cargo bikes, trailers, kids seat ..let us give you the next euphoric moment. Book on see-nz.com for Devonport @ Auckland CBD also. Much much more than just a magic carpet ride ;) ELECTRIC MOPED/SCOOTER RENTAL with Bosch motor also available (Call for more info)
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Tours and Tickets

The area
Address
Popular mentions

4.5
102 reviews
Excellent
85
Very good
10
Average
1
Poor
4
Terrible
2

GlobeTrotting282210
1 contribution
terrible experience
Feb 2020
My wife and I visited Waiheke Island with high expectations for a beautiful day of bike riding and touring this beautiful island. Bikes and Barbers was the 1st bike shop we encountered off the ferry and we figured this was as good an option as any, wrong!
We rented 2 ebikes, opting for the less expensive bikes, which were older, but they assured us that they were in excellent condition and up to the task of taking us around the island. Wrong again.
Problems between the 2 bikes included; front brakes on one bike didn't work, derailer for the rear gear cluster on the same bike in poor condition and unreliable in shifting, especially up hills when you need it most. The control pad on the other bike not attached properly and when you went to use it to change power levels it was out of reach resulting in having to release your grip on handle bars to reach for it, very dangerous. Power levels fluctuated greatly going up and down hills, making it really difficult to maintain momentum. Ultimately the power failed on my wife's bike while going up a hill, which resulted in her taking a spill, fortunately she wasn't hurt, but we'd had enough.
We called to be picked up, which they did. When we explained what happened to the owner and asked for some consideration on the fee we paid, seeing how our day was ruined, the owner became defensive. He insisted that they maintained the highest standards and that every single bike was thoroughly checked out and maintained every night (there was an awful lot of bikes on their lot, so really?) Then he tried to blame us for the failure, pointing to a scuff mark on the end of the left handle bar grip, saying we damaged the bike. When I pointed out the fresh abrasions on my wife's right hand and forearm and made it clear that we weren't having any of that, he dropped it. Nice try though, blame the victim.
Extremely disappointing, I strongly recommend passing Bikes and Barbers bike rentals by.
Written 6 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alicia B
Cleveland, OH14 contributions
Best way around waiheke
Jan 2020 • Solo
I was a bit hesitant to book an e bike because I'm not the most experienced cyclist and I had already bought a ticket on the hop on hop off bus. Long story short as to all the events that followed but the e bike was absolutely brilliant. I could take in the sites, make my own schedule, go where I wanted and stop for pictures as I please but made it to all the places I wanted to go on time! So glad I did not use the bus nor rely on cab service as I saw many people doing and unable to go to places they wanted or waiting forever. I reckon even if you are a cyclist you would want the e bike just to give you a bit of help up the hills and make it to the wineries in time. Seriously I would get around waiheke any other way!
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tanya Egan
3 contributions
Run ride
Jan 2020 • Couples
Chris at Devonport was fantastically helpful & very knowledgeable. The bikes were great and well Maintained ‼️ 2 days later we hired again at Waiheke 🌴 and Chris was there this day 😁👏 needless to say we were WINNING, he looked after us with excellent service yet again plus and 🍦 after our trip around the 🌴 a must for any 🚴🏻‍♀️ enthusiast- STUNNING SCENERY‼️ Thanks Bikes 🚲 & 💈 😁
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Grant
1 contribution
Don’t rent bikes here!!!
Jan 2020 • Couples
Just had a shocking experience with theses guys, including the owner by phone. We waited over 30 minutes to be served, chose to pay extra for their “premium” bikes, finally got on the road and quickly realised mine was unridable due to gears slipping locking up. Limped back to exchange for another one. I asked whether they check their bikes before sending them out and was told yes absolutely (later the mechanic admitted no they’re too busy not possible). Another girl was head off and said her tire wasn’t pumped up! They put me on another completely different full suspension bike and the guy clearly looked nervous. We headed a long way out for a vineyard lunch and realised the crank was grinding badly up hills and top 3 gears hardly worked making loud grinding noise. We only had half day on the island so couldn’t waste anymore time messing around with changing bikes...and I don’t believe they had any other well maintained bikes anyway. So got back before heading to ferry to explain how bad the experience was...and that I was happy paying $80 for my wife’s bike but expect a refund for mine. They wouldn’t have it !!! When you hire a bike for $80 it should work properly...not only do these guys have no quality control, they’re not interested in putting things right when they go wrong.
Written 17 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Duncan M
2 contributions
Poorly maintained bikes
Jan 2020 • Friends
Wanted to take 3 bikes out for the day, first bike had next to no front brake so asked for another one. Second bike had little air in the tyres, they put more in. Gears partially failed during the day, (it's a hilly island) when we got back to the bike shop they where not interested in a partial refund. We also hired an E bike which worked well.
Written 15 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Van N
Sydney, Australia64 contributions
Disappointing service and still waiting for a refund
Oct 2019 • Friends
I should start by saying that I did not take out the e-bikes nor physically interacted with the staff. This rating is based on the service received, or lack of, after cancelling my booking and for not receiving my refund after multiple emails. Before the cancellation, the team was responsive and helpful at each contact. However, due to bad weather, I had to cancel, I called and emailed (the day before and on the day of the booking, 23/10) to confirm the cancelling/refund policy and was assured (on email and verbally) it was not a problem. I have emailed the team twice since the cancellation, to date, I have not heard from them, nor seen a credit to my account. The deposit amount isn’t much, and I’m okay with the promise of a refund was a mistake, but ignoring a customer, especially when you owe them money, is very poor customer service.
Written 23 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi, i'm sorry to hear you are un-happy. Sadly you have not put your name on the review - ). Reading between the lines i think you are mistaken - we do not take deposits. We only ever take a booking fee of $5 , which lost if you do not turn up at all. The fee can be used on moving the reservation to another day- but we simply cannot refund $5 - This i think is made clear on our booking platform see-nz . com. So maybe we understood wrongly - or we somehow confused the system ? Anyway sorry for your trouble - please submit your name next time so we can help better. Regards chris and team
Written 24 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bev Neal
4 contributions
An amazing way to see the Island!
Oct 2019
This is the second time we've hired e-bikes from Bikes and Barbers and just like the first we had an awesome day. Customer service was excellent, instructions simple and bikes great fun. Waiheke is hilly but there's lots to see - we biked to plenty of viewpoints on the way out to Onetangi for lunch and stopped at a couple of wineries on the way back to Oneroa. We picked them up at 11am and dropped off at 4pm ish and we all had a bit of battery left. Lots of Waiheke's best bits are off the main roads and the e-bikes meant we could nip around without sweating buckets the whole day. We'll be back again this Summer!
Written 28 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

samcI2668AP
Newcastle-under-Lyme, UK202 contributions
Fantastic day
Mar 2019 • Couples
We had a fantastic day on the hired bikes, they made getting around the island much more fun. The bikes were good and easy to use.
Written 28 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Quintin Smart
1 contribution
Quite disapointed in the end.
Jan 2019 • Friends
We rented eight bicycles for the day. Between the eight we had three failures. First a flat tyre - before we even left (should have been checked by the staff.), which was replaced by one that had no battery power left.
We then went to Cable Bay Vineyards (1.1km) one of the bikes had on (of 5) bars left in the battery. Back we go for another bike.

In the end we went to Onetangi Bay which is about a 20km round trip. On the way back another two bicycles ran out of battery.
On the whole the bicycles were dirty and ill maintained. For the $60 we would have expected better.
Written 28 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi So sorry to hear. Our youngest staff member struggled with your group - mostly as you did not seem i think to comprehend one another . Sad to have a puncture - but silly to blame yr accident on him. You then unfortunately had not listened ? Or maybe misunderstood how to operate the turning on / off - a phone call would have been a solution but you choose to ride back . Obviously im only a third party to the equation here - but feel sad for both him and your group . As u can see from the many other reviews youre quiet a star for giving us our first ever 2 star review in 6 years, regards chris
Written 31 January 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KiwiFerrari
Wellington, New Zealand54 contributions
Egad, e-bikes - what a way to see Waiheke!
Jan 2019 • Family
If you have basic confidence on a bike and want to get up close and intimate with Waiheke Island, get an e-bike from these guys for a day. Pick-up from 10am is simple. Drop off is relaxed and permitted any time up to dusk.

While the island roads can be narrow and /or busy in places, most drivers are sensible and courteous. Some are even actually warm and encouraging!

Take advice from the hire shop staff after telling them what to take in. But the standard loop is about 25km and takes in most of the obvious highlights...and some little-known surprises like the Waiheke Museum (check days and times) and elevated beach vistas (keep an eye out as you climb the hills in e-comfort).

Use as much of the throttle as you need to make the hill climbs, and your legs will thank you at the end. There's little risk of running out of power in the 25km loop.

Stay left, dismount safely, and take your time, and you'll be so pleased you went to Bikes & Barbers. Just dont ask for a haircut. While they're top notch on the 'bike' part, the 'Barbers' part is an anachronism from a previous time when a barber was co-located with the bike shop!
Written 23 January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 99
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing