Bikes & Beyond
Bikes & Beyond
4.5
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Bicycles , wine-tours, electric assist bike rentals, tandems, mountain bikes. Best way to see Waiheke - Devonport and Auckland. Long term rentals, and specialist tours. Tandems, Bullitt cargo bikes, trailers, kids seat ..let us give you the next euphoric moment. Book on see-nz.com for Devonport @ Auckland CBD also. Much much more than just a magic carpet ride ;) ELECTRIC MOPED/SCOOTER RENTAL with Bosch motor also available (Call for more info)
Duration: More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles104 reviews
Excellent
86
Very good
10
Average
1
Poor
4
Terrible
3

Xavier G
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 • Friends
Awesome!
Went there with a couple of friends to enjoy the island and winery, and we weren't disappointed! Bikes aren't brand new but definitely up for what you rent them for, and for the price you get them.
Guys in the shop are cool, full of good advices and will give you a map (there's also a phone holder on the bike) to get to your destination.
As it's a small busy island, main roads are busy but not crazy busy, much safer than Auckland CBD at 5 pm. The small road are pretty chill, even though its a hilly island so you sometimes need to push little harder on the pedals (electric bikes does the job, but you need to pedal a bit anyway 😉)
They also have electric mopeds, next time we'll probably go for them!
Good fun, good team and good prices!
Written 15 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jeanne O
11 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 • Couples
Horrible experience. E-bikes are ancient. I tried two. First one the chain fell off second one had poor power and the battery died after less than 2hrs. I had to walk it back. I paid for a full day and only road for 3hrs. More importantly, It was very dangerous. THERE ARE NO BIKE TRAILS. You are riding on busy roads the whole way. Don’t be fooled by any maps. The bike routes they refer to are busy roads and with heavy traffic. We went at shoulder season. I can’t imagine what it would be like in high season. The island is beautiful. Go to Waiheke, but DONT RENT BIKES.
Written 12 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GlobeTrotting282210
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020
My wife and I visited Waiheke Island with high expectations for a beautiful day of bike riding and touring this beautiful island. Bikes and Barbers was the 1st bike shop we encountered off the ferry and we figured this was as good an option as any, wrong!
We rented 2 ebikes, opting for the less expensive bikes, which were older, but they assured us that they were in excellent condition and up to the task of taking us around the island. Wrong again.
Problems between the 2 bikes included; front brakes on one bike didn't work, derailer for the rear gear cluster on the same bike in poor condition and unreliable in shifting, especially up hills when you need it most. The control pad on the other bike not attached properly and when you went to use it to change power levels it was out of reach resulting in having to release your grip on handle bars to reach for it, very dangerous. Power levels fluctuated greatly going up and down hills, making it really difficult to maintain momentum. Ultimately the power failed on my wife's bike while going up a hill, which resulted in her taking a spill, fortunately she wasn't hurt, but we'd had enough.
We called to be picked up, which they did. When we explained what happened to the owner and asked for some consideration on the fee we paid, seeing how our day was ruined, the owner became defensive. He insisted that they maintained the highest standards and that every single bike was thoroughly checked out and maintained every night (there was an awful lot of bikes on their lot, so really?) Then he tried to blame us for the failure, pointing to a scuff mark on the end of the left handle bar grip, saying we damaged the bike. When I pointed out the fresh abrasions on my wife's right hand and forearm and made it clear that we weren't having any of that, he dropped it. Nice try though, blame the victim.
Extremely disappointing, I strongly recommend passing Bikes and Barbers bike rentals by.
Written 6 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Alicia B
Cleveland, OH13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Solo
I was a bit hesitant to book an e bike because I'm not the most experienced cyclist and I had already bought a ticket on the hop on hop off bus. Long story short as to all the events that followed but the e bike was absolutely brilliant. I could take in the sites, make my own schedule, go where I wanted and stop for pictures as I please but made it to all the places I wanted to go on time! So glad I did not use the bus nor rely on cab service as I saw many people doing and unable to go to places they wanted or waiting forever. I reckon even if you are a cyclist you would want the e bike just to give you a bit of help up the hills and make it to the wineries in time. Seriously I would get around waiheke any other way!
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tanya Egan
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
Chris at Devonport was fantastically helpful & very knowledgeable. The bikes were great and well Maintained ‼️ 2 days later we hired again at Waiheke 🌴 and Chris was there this day 😁👏 needless to say we were WINNING, he looked after us with excellent service yet again plus and 🍦 after our trip around the 🌴 a must for any 🚴🏻‍♀️ enthusiast- STUNNING SCENERY‼️ Thanks Bikes 🚲 & 💈 😁
Written 18 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Grant
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Couples
Just had a shocking experience with theses guys, including the owner by phone. We waited over 30 minutes to be served, chose to pay extra for their “premium” bikes, finally got on the road and quickly realised mine was unridable due to gears slipping locking up. Limped back to exchange for another one. I asked whether they check their bikes before sending them out and was told yes absolutely (later the mechanic admitted no they’re too busy not possible). Another girl was head off and said her tire wasn’t pumped up! They put me on another completely different full suspension bike and the guy clearly looked nervous. We headed a long way out for a vineyard lunch and realised the crank was grinding badly up hills and top 3 gears hardly worked making loud grinding noise. We only had half day on the island so couldn’t waste anymore time messing around with changing bikes...and I don’t believe they had any other well maintained bikes anyway. So got back before heading to ferry to explain how bad the experience was...and that I was happy paying $80 for my wife’s bike but expect a refund for mine. They wouldn’t have it !!! When you hire a bike for $80 it should work properly...not only do these guys have no quality control, they’re not interested in putting things right when they go wrong.
Written 17 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Duncan M
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Friends
Wanted to take 3 bikes out for the day, first bike had next to no front brake so asked for another one. Second bike had little air in the tyres, they put more in. Gears partially failed during the day, (it's a hilly island) when we got back to the bike shop they where not interested in a partial refund. We also hired an E bike which worked well.
Written 15 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Van N
Sydney, Australia64 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019 • Friends
I should start by saying that I did not take out the e-bikes nor physically interacted with the staff. This rating is based on the service received, or lack of, after cancelling my booking and for not receiving my refund after multiple emails. Before the cancellation, the team was responsive and helpful at each contact. However, due to bad weather, I had to cancel, I called and emailed (the day before and on the day of the booking, 23/10) to confirm the cancelling/refund policy and was assured (on email and verbally) it was not a problem. I have emailed the team twice since the cancellation, to date, I have not heard from them, nor seen a credit to my account. The deposit amount isn’t much, and I’m okay with the promise of a refund was a mistake, but ignoring a customer, especially when you owe them money, is very poor customer service.
Written 23 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi, i'm sorry to hear you are un-happy. Sadly you have not put your name on the review - ). Reading between the lines i think you are mistaken - we do not take deposits. We only ever take a booking fee of $5 , which lost if you do not turn up at all. The fee can be used on moving the reservation to another day- but we simply cannot refund $5 - This i think is made clear on our booking platform see-nz . com. So maybe we understood wrongly - or we somehow confused the system ? Anyway sorry for your trouble - please submit your name next time so we can help better. Regards chris and team
Written 24 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bev Neal
4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2019
This is the second time we've hired e-bikes from Bikes and Barbers and just like the first we had an awesome day. Customer service was excellent, instructions simple and bikes great fun. Waiheke is hilly but there's lots to see - we biked to plenty of viewpoints on the way out to Onetangi for lunch and stopped at a couple of wineries on the way back to Oneroa. We picked them up at 11am and dropped off at 4pm ish and we all had a bit of battery left. Lots of Waiheke's best bits are off the main roads and the e-bikes meant we could nip around without sweating buckets the whole day. We'll be back again this Summer!
Written 28 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

samcI2668AP
Newcastle-under-Lyme, UK194 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2019 • Couples
We had a fantastic day on the hired bikes, they made getting around the island much more fun. The bikes were good and easy to use.
Written 28 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 101
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

BIKES & BEYOND: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Waiheke Island HotelsWaiheke Island Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Waiheke Island
All things to do in Waiheke Island
Day Trips in Waiheke IslandTheatre & Concerts in Waiheke Island
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire