We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ecoseaker

Features Animals
Open Now: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Ecoseaker
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
All photos (284)
All photos (284)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent97%
  • Very good1%
  • Average0%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
About
Dolphin Swimming And Harbour Cruise Adventures. Small Professional Family Company 100% Locally Owned & Operated. Only 12 Guests On Each Tour. Personal Experience. Free Dolphin Swimming Photos.
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
Rue Balguerie | Dalyʼs Wharf, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-304 7629
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Akaroa
from US$62.59
More Info
from US$59.78
More Info
from US$59.78
More Info
from US$91.43
More Info
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
436
8
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
436
8
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain steve small group swimming with dolphins hot chocolate hector dolphins amazing experience new zealand small boat fur seals hectors dolphins intimate experience once in a lifetime wild animals eco tour harbour tour these guys close encounter
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 448 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before joining this tour, I had been thinking whether it is a good idea to go with smaller group and smaller boat, but I'm super glad that I chose Ecoseaker, otherwise we wouldn't have the chance to lean on the side of the boat and...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank lezwgo
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm amazed with this absolutely lovely comprehensive review you have written! It really touched me thank you:) Thank you for a great review and high recommendation, we are very pleased you had a wonderful time on our Akaroa Dolphin Swimming Tour. Kind regards Steve Owner/Captain...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It was a wonderful cruise! Thanks to Steve and Dan, we could see some dolphins, pinguins, cormorans, albatros and seels! An unforgettable experience!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank laura_amstutz
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very pleased you had a wonderful time on our Akaroa Harbour Cruise :) Thank you for a great review. Kind regards Steve Owner/Captain ecoseaker Akaroa Harbour Cruise New Zealand

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fantastic time with Steve and Kevin. They are really eco sensitive and only interact with the dolphins in a way that doesn’t interfere with their natural behaviour. Very educational too. Saw lots of Hector dolphins and swam with them too, which was...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank kjg1961
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your high recommendation and wonderful review :) Our whole area is terribly special and of course Hector's Dolphins are incredibly special. Kind regards Steve Owner/Captain ecoseaker Akaroa Harbour Cruise New Zealand

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well organised small group tours with real knowledge of marine life and ecosystems done in a very respectful way with the dolphin's best interests at heart. We saw lots of dolphins and some tiny babies, the dolphins swam around and in-between us and we were...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank jbs499
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are very pleased you had a wonderful time on our Akaroa Dolphin Swimming Tour :) Thank you for a great review. Kind regards Steve Owner/Captain ecoseaker Akaroa Dolphin Swimming New Zealand

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Swimming with the dolphins in their natural environment was amazing. They came so close you could easily have reached out and touched them. We had plenty of time in the water and saw an array of other wildlife- royal albatross, seals, sun fish and so...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Kel H
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are very pleased to be one of your favourite experiences in New Zealand! Thank you very much for a lovely review :) Kind regards Steve Owner/Captain ecoseaker Swimming with Dolphins Akaroa New Zealand

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Last time I did a dolphin swim with a different company, but I liked ecoseaker far more!!! I like a lot their concern about dolphins and that the deal with nature very respectfully. And they were very friendly and very helpful, and also frank (nature...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank affeufembaum
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for a 5 star review on our Dolphin Swimming tour :) It's great that you have tried the other company and could compare both of us and give us this wonderful feedback. We do pride ourselves on being the premium Dolphin...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I went on February 22 2019 for a dolphin swimming experience. As a backpacker with a low budget traveling New Zealand for the past 2.5 months, I usually don’t spend much money on expensive attractions. But I was willing to pay 185$ for the experience...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Davidtomer
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Everyone else that day personally told me at the end of the tour they had a fantastic experience all round and understood that you cannot force wildlife in it's natural habitat. This guest was fully aware we did not have a refund policy when they...More

Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our trip with this local company. Very well organised tour with emphasis on respecting animals' natural habitats and safety. We saw a few dolphins; albeit we didn't manage to swim with them. However the company made a great effort to educate and entertain...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank skippy-rates
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a great review :) We are very pleased you had a great time even if the dolphins were uninterested when you were in the water. It's wonderful that you respect the fact that these dolphins are wild in their natural habitat and...More

Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

Swimming with the dolphins at Akaroa with Ecoseaker was an amazing day. With our short walk from the main wharf to Daly's wharf we were suited up in our wetsuits and ready to go. After a short boat ride we started to see dolphins very...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Shannon Z
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your high recommendation and telling others it is a must do here in Akaroa :) We are very pleased you had a wonderful time. Thank you for a great review. Kind regards Steve Owner/Captain ecoseaker Akaroa Dolphin Swimming New Zealand

Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

Steve and Adam took us out for a trip to swim with Hector's dolphins in February. They were friendly, knowledgeable and funny. On our trip we had a few quick encounters with the dolphins in the water and were lucky to see mother with her...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank vigfusa
EcoseakerAkaroa, Owner at Ecoseaker, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2019

Thank you very much! We appreciate your acknowledgement of the points of difference we think makes it a great experience for our guests :) Kind regards Steve Owner/Captain ecoseaker Akaroa Dolphin Swimming

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 nearby hotels
Akaroa Criterion Motel
365 reviews
.07 km away
Tresori Motor Lodge
149 reviews
.43 km away
La Rochelle Motel
244 reviews
.51 km away
The Grand Hotel Akaroa
69 reviews
.59 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 31 nearby restaurants
Murphy's On The Corner
193 reviews
.62 km away
La Rangis Pizzeria
82 reviews
.13 km away
The Little Bistro
920 reviews
.34 km away
Ma Maison Restaurant & Bar
226 reviews
.05 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 60 nearby attractions
Akaroa Museum
211 reviews
.10 km away
Little River Rail Station
19 reviews
.61 km away
Banks Peninsula War Memorial and Grounds
109 reviews
.10 km away
Akaroa Lighthouse
186 reviews
.20 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Andrea A
4 January 2019|
Answer
Response from EcoseakerAkaroa | Property representative |
The only bus that works with our times is the Akaroa Shuttle. You will have to book that yourself through their website. The bus usually gets here by 10.30am. Please advise the bus driver on the day that you are booked with... More
0
Votes
_bpingram001
13 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from EcoseakerAkaroa | Property representative |
Hi there, Thank you for your enquiry. We do have space on the 22nd of January and would advise to book it well before arriving in Akaroa as our tours are exclusively limited to 12 guests per tour. Price per adult is... More
0
Votes
jasonnC610VE
1 October 2017|
Answer
Response from EcoseakerAkaroa | Property representative |
Hi there, Thank you for your enquiry. We are a 10 minute walk from the Main Wharf to Daly's Wharf, allow 15 to be safe, but is really not far at all :) See the location tab on our website. We look forward to your... More
1
Vote