We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Akaroa Farm Tours

Features Animals
Akaroa, New Zealand
More
About Akaroa Farm Tours
Don’t be misled that you are about to embark on merely a simple farm tour. A visit to this 5th, 6th and now 7th generation family, descendants of the earliest French settlers on Banks Peninsula, is thought provoking and entertaining whilst it educates you on how farming has developed from 1837 to the present day.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:30 AM - 3:00 PM
See all hours
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Akaroa Farm Tours
Overview
Now it’s your chance to discover Christchurch and its nearby attractions in one day by car! Explore the beautiful historic Lyttelton, Sumer and Redcliffs seaside beaches and lakes, plus the historic buildings and parks with our one day tour. Our local experienced guide not only shows you the peerless attractions of Christchurch, but you can also visit a historical cheese factory and meet our friendly, award-winning alpacas in Akaora’s Shamarra Alpaca Farm Tour, which is a great experience for both adults and children.
203Reviews14Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 191
  • 8
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
CraigMS wrote a review Jun 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand26 contributions13 helpful votes
This is the highlight of our stay in New Zealand. My wife and I "embedded" ourselves at Paua Bay Farm for 24 hours experiencing the shearing, the dogs and their demonstration, a wonderful dinner and overnight stay. Because we visited during COVID restrictions, this was not a standard tour, but we experienced the same things mentioned in other reviews. The dog demonstration is amazing, because of the dogs, of course, but also the location. The "wool shed" is on one side of a rather steep ravine, and the paddock is on the other side of the ravine, so the view is spectacular and vivid. The dogs can't wait to race down and up the ravine sides, following the commands of the shepherd. Because the ravine side is very steep, you can follow the actions of the dog perfectly. The shearing process is an eye-opener because of the physicality of the work. We happened to be there during their shearing period, so there were three shearers at work, plus others. At the end, I tried my hand at it, but it's clear it requires more talent than I have to bear on it! Much fun. But Murray and Sue are the stars of this visit, because of the warmth of their hospitality. You leave with a wonderful understanding of the lifestyle of sheep farming in a drop-dead gorgeous corner of the world. We would return in an instant!
Read more
Date of experience: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Richard Mendick wrote a review May 2020
Fort Myers, Florida1 contribution
This tour was a highlight of our 33 day cruise. Hearing father Murry explain the history of this multi-generation farm and all the hard work was a terrific learning experience. The photo opt with Hannah and the wholly sheep, then watching her clip the sheep and another photo opt with the bare sheep was wonderful. Watching the dogs herd the sheep-amazing. Then to be invited into their home and served food and drink was over the top excellent. Definately recommending for a learned perspective to life on a farm in New Zealand.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2019
Helpful
Share
penmick wrote a review Mar 2020
San DIego, California79 contributions68 helpful votes
This was a disappointing tour. I was looking forward to seeing a sheep dog working with the sheep. That lasted about 30 seconds. Then we stood around and looked at sheep while people asked the rancher sheep questions. It was interesting seeing him sheer a sheep and the tea was nice but I had was disappointed that there was so little time spent showing us how the dogs work the sheep.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Murray J, Owner at Akaroa Farm Tours
Responded 22 May 2020
Hello, i am wondering if this review actually relates to our tour called Akaroa Farm Tours. Two remarks in the review make me doubt IT IS OUR TOUR. Firstly the the sheep shearing is always done by my daughter in law taking at least 3 minutes. The dog display is a tour highlight .Guests view this for around 7minutes. I am sorry you were disappointed in the tour you experienced.
Read more
Mercedes T wrote a review Mar 2020
Davenport, Florida221 contributions95 helpful votes
We booked this through the cruise line as we had shipboard credit. What followed was a wonderful experience. We met two sheep farmers who shared the challenges of running a sheep farm and demonstrated a shearing which is a physically exhausting task for both the sheep and the shearer. We met the dogs who gave a herding demonstration that showed the extraordinary communication between the farmer and the dog and between the dog and the sheep. It was capped off with tea and home made scones of the porch of the family home. This was a very personal experience with locals that helps you understand the people, the region, the economy of New Zealand. Or you could just enjoy the food and the views. Either way, it’s a don’t miss tour.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
AlisonB683 wrote a review Feb 2020
Sacramento, California81 contributions40 helpful votes
We were delighted with this tour! Murray the proprietor of the farm, spins the story of his family’s arduous dedication to the land from the 1800’s providing guests with a peek into the past of this region. The family is devoted to superior animal husbandry and care. Murray’s daughter-in-law Hannah demonstrates the process of her 48 seconds shear and then also the prowess of her 11 herding dogs which was a jaw dropping experience for our audience of around 14. At closing his wife serves a tea with scones on their patio. This excursion is representative of value And learning. Its an all time best for us!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous