We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mooloolaba Canal Cruise

267 reviews
About Mooloolaba Canal Cruise
This highly popular cruise aboard the historic timber ferry MV Mudjimba has been operating on the Sunshine Coast from the Mooloolaba Wharf for 26 years. During this relaxing, still-water cruise you will see opulent waterfront mansions, yachts and historic landmarks, while listening to a live and informative commentary. Children get to take the helm alongside the Skipper for a great hands-on experience and photo opportunity. You will see wild pelicans being hand fed from the side of the boat, then feed the fish at the end of the cruise. It is a great experience for all the family. We run three cruises daily. Purchase a cruise-only ticket or add a lunch voucher to eat at the Wharf Tavern before or after your cruise. Sunset cruises are available subject to demand. Group bookings and gift vouchers available on application.
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Contact
Mooloolaba, Australia
Travellers talk about

Mooloolaba Canal Cruise
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Recommended experiences in and around Mooloolaba
from US$28.35
More Info
from US$72.70
More Info
from US$106.88
More Info
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
215
46
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
215
46
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pelican feeding other half fish feeding local history great hour steve irwins expensive houses canal side great commentary value for money multi million dollar homes relaxing hour wharf tavern different perspective bream excellent value mooloolah river
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent!! Great value. Kids got to feed pelicans & fish & my husband & I got to learn a lot about the area.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Vicky W
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Vicky, So pleased you all had such a great time. Thanks for the 5 stars, thats brilliant! Great to see you again next time you travel up north.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly captain with a nice manner. Kids loved having s steer. Feeding the pelicans was probably the highlight of the trip. A very pleasant hour on board

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Jill K
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jill, Yes Skipper Rob loves his work. Thats what he's like in and out of work. Hope you'll hop on again next time your in town.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We (family of 4) took the 1hr Mooloolaba Canal Cruise. The cost was $60 for a family, which was money well spent. The crew were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. It was great to listen to the history of the area and see...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank CESanctuary
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, Wow, what a fab review.....thank you sooo much. We love our 5 star reviews, so we can hopefully be deserved of a 2019 5 star certificate at the end of this year. Skipper Rob and Holly will be pleased to read your comments...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Canal Cruise is a lovely way to learn about the history and residents of Mooloolaba and Minyama, finishing with an opportunity to feel some wild pelicans.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank markS9076EZ
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mark, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our cruise.

Reviewed 16 January 2019

This is a great little cruise if you wish to take that special someone for a real treat it is great value for money and a little quirky give it a go you will not be disappointed

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Karawtha89
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there. Thank you for your review. However, I'm not sure if you have us mixed up with another cruise. Mooloolaba Canal Cruise will be out of operation for 2 weeks in February for "dry dock" yearly maintenance.

Reviewed 15 January 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately we turned up at the harbour to try and book this trip but was told it wasn’t running. Disappointed would try again if we go back that way againMore

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank annwales2016
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Let me start by saying that we are sorry you arrived on a day that our vessel was not operating. As with any small family run business, it is impossible to operate 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Circumstances arise where our schedule...More

Reviewed 11 January 2019

The skipper of the boat is so lovely and just great with the kids. He let all of the kids on board have a turn driving the boat which made my kids day! We also all had a turn to feed the pelicans which was...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Anna R
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2019

Hi Anna, Wow!, reviews don't get any better then this. Thank you so much. You have highlighted exactly the enjoyable experience that we want to convey. As I mentioned in another great review yesterday, the kids absolutely love driving the boat. Some of the kids...More

Reviewed 9 January 2019

What a wonderful skipper, full of knowledge and a sense of humour. Kids were given the opportunity to have a drive of the boat, which I thought was lovely. We were a group of six and everyone enjoyed the start to our day. Loved having...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Leanne A
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2019

Hi Leanne, What a great review! thank you sooo much. Skipper Rob will be happy to know that his humour is appreciated. He likes a bit of a joke! January is a busy time for the kids, and we make sure that they all have...More

Reviewed 7 January 2019

We had a great time on the cruise today. It's nice to sit back and take it all in and watch the kids have some fun feeding the pelicans & the fish and having a go at being the captain.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Tooshbah
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2019

HI there, Many thanks for your great review. We've had a few reviews this month highlighting the kids having fun. January is a busy time with the kids during the holidays, so it's important to us that we provide a fun family friendly experience.

Reviewed 31 December 2018 via mobile

We highly recommend this very relaxing 1hr cruise with the added bonus of an informative yet relaxed commentary from the Skipper !! Four of us did this cruise & loved it. A great intro to the canals of Mooloolaba.... thankyou Rob, Holly & Jo !!More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank VickieO21
JoJ1930, Owner at Mooloolaba Canal Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2019

Hi Vickie, Such a pleasure to have you all on board. Many thanks for your review. Loving the phrase "loved it". We love our Mudjimba too, and the classic ambiance that she ensues. Skipper Rob will be happy to hear that you enjoyed the commentary,...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jannettegeorge
18 April 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Abalooloom | Property representative |
Yes, you can still purchase the meal on the cruise. The meal is at the Wharf Tavern and is the choice of 3 options. 1 Crumbed fish, 2 Chicken schnitzel, 3 200g Steak and all meals come with chips, salad and sauce. You can... More
1
Vote
Brian J
3 August 2015|
Answer
Response from Abalooloom | Property representative |
Hi Brian. The cruise goes for 1hour
0
Votes
berty666
23 June 2015|
Answer
Response from Abalooloom | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. The cost for pensioners and concession card holders is only $18
1
Vote