We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunshine Coast Afloat

Features Animals
Parkyn Parade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
+61 7 5452 6697
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing!

From my 12 yr old: Amazing! We saw a whale and it’s calf and it was majestic! There was also a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jim H
via mobile
Excellent cruise

We went out on a 1 hr charter today to celebrate the life of a friend who tragically died at... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Narelle68
,
Moama, Australia
via mobile
Read all 24 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We offer fun water based activities such as Whale Watching without the crowds, Deep Sea Fishing, Cruises for all occasions, Ocean Jet Boating, Ashes Scatterings, Romantic Cruises for two and guided kayak tours. Our mantra is to give our guests the best experience we can everyone at Sunshine Coast Afloat has the same philosophy. Being a small owner operator we can adapt the experience to suit your needs. Cruises can incorporate swimming, cruising, BBQ, music etc.
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good4%
  • Average4%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Parkyn Parade, Mooloolaba, Queensland 4557, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 7 5452 6697
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"deep sea fishing charter"
in 2 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 2 reviews
"great boat"
in 3 reviews
"trigger fish"
in 2 reviews
"hour trip"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"these guys"
in 4 reviews
"sunshine coast"
in 4 reviews
"zoe"
in 6 reviews
"crabbing"
in 3 reviews
"bait"
in 3 reviews
"pilchards"
in 2 reviews
"anchoring"
in 2 reviews
"toby"
in 3 reviews
"squid"
in 3 reviews
"conducted"
in 2 reviews
"passengers"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From my 12 yr old: Amazing! We saw a whale and it’s calf and it was majestic! There was also a marine biologist on board also who answered my questions. Highly recommended for people of all ages (it can be a bit rough at times...More

Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia v, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you all for taking the time to give us a fabulous review. What we were hoping would be a fantastic whale watching day, mother nature decided it was not to be all that crash hot. Despite the conditions you still gave us a marvellous...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went out on a 1 hr charter today to celebrate the life of a friend who tragically died at Buddina Beach 20yrs ago today. Toby and Zoe were fabulous from the moment we stepped onboard. Safety demo was thorough and we all felt in...More

Thank Narelle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia v, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for acknowledging one of our many services that we offer here at Sunshine Coast Afloat. Being a small family owned and operated business our whole team's focus is always on doing everything we can to make our customers both comfortable on board, and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Why not owner reschedule if seas were so choppy? After the charter i read every other charter was cancelled the night before, why not this one? In my opinion i feel the owner should have cancelled it to a better day. It seemed like the...More

Thank 7RAV3L3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast A, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Wow - we are surprised to have received this review as there was no indication of anyone being upset at the time of the charter. As your trip on Sunday was a boat booking we only liaise with the organiser, not all the passengers concerned....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2018

We held an 80th birthday lunchtime cruise on the boat for our family - the boat was absolutely perfect - clean, comfortable and spacious and the staff and owners were professional and great to deal with from beginning to end.More

Thank NCBROOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast A, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

It was a pleasure having you all on board Nissa and so glad you enjoyed the trip. What a great way to celebrate John's 80th with all the family. That food platter looked amazing. Rosemary did a great job of that. :) Whale Watching season...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

10/10 on all aspects of the day, such a professional team that looked after any of our needs . thanks for a great day.More

Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast A, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you Ian for taking the time to give us a great review. We really appreciate it and will pass on your comments to our team. Hopefully we can have you all out again some time in the future. From all of us here at...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

I headed out on the 27thDecember on the 7 hour deep sea fishing charter. An afternoon trip that departed at 11AM. As I had to drive up from the Southside of Brisbane, this was a welcome change from the early 5.30AM departures more commonly offered...More

Thank greg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCAfloat, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us Greg. I really appreciate you took that extra step to post a review after our discussion! I realise it takes time and effort and we are very grateful you would do that. We know...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Had a fantastic day! Did the 5hr starter trip with my brother and son just to try it out and had a great day. My brother got sick me less so, so I was able to keep fishing. Both me and my son caught a...More

Thank Celestine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCAfloat, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi Celestine, Thank you so much for your great review on the 5 hour fishing trip you recently did with us. It's a pity when you get sea sickness but we're glad to hear you all still enjoyed your time out on the water on...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Both my wife and I were on the 3/4 day deep sea fishing charter on 27 dec 2017. We had a extremely enjoyable day. The boat was spacious and very comfortable, the crew was extremely helpful, friendly and very cheerful. It came to my surprise...More

Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCAfloat, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hi Alex, Thanks you so much for making the effort to review your experience with us! Especially as you already having the time to discuss it by phone. We are very grateful you would go the extra mile to do that. It was good to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Paid $180 pp for a full day charter and had a very very poor experience. Staff loud and overbearing, forgot the squid bait, too lazy to drop anchor on gps marks and basically crew appeared to be going through the motions.. even cleaning the boat...More

Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCAfloat, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Hello Jeff After the initial email conversations received from you, we checked all avenues to find out what exactly went wrong on your fishing charter. We spoke to our staff who replied that the charter was “a bit tough” but overall good. They felt their...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

We booked the boat for 16 passengers for our annual team Christmas Party. Paddy who handled our booking was amazing, assisted us with menu planning, boat decorations etc. we had a fantastic night despite being out in a really bad storm. The catering was superb,...More

Thank Kat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCAfloat, Owner at Sunshine Coast Afloat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Really appreciate you taking the time to put up a Trip Advisor review about your Christmas Cruise. A pity the weather was the way it was but you made the most of it and it didn't dampen your spirits which was great to see. It...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Mooloolaba
Beachcomber On The Spit
52 reviews
.53 km away
Sandcastles Mooloolaba
189 reviews
.95 km away
Nautilus Mooloolaba
306 reviews
1.01 km away
Landmark Resort
1,008 reviews
1.05 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fish On Parkyn
555 reviews
.14 km away
One on LaBalsa
150 reviews
.61 km away
Narinthorn Thai Food
39 reviews
.58 km away
Little Miss Saine
50 reviews
.60 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mooloolaba Beach
1,483 reviews
.65 km away
HMAS Brisbane
172 reviews
.67 km away
Point Cartwright
229 reviews
.70 km away
Sea Life Sunshine Coast
1,576 reviews
.84 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sunshine Coast Afloat staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit