We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

SpotX Fishing Charters

Features Animals
Russell, New Zealand
More
About SpotX Fishing Charters
The very best fishing charters in the Bay of Islands and Amodeo Bay, Coromandel! We have the crew, the boats and the location providing unique fishing adventures in and from the magnificent Bay of Islands as within the Hauraki Gulf from Amodeo Bay, the spectacular northern peninsula of Coromandel. We have the steady 40ft Black Watch and the fast 28ft Bay fishing machine in the Bay of Islands and the 23ft offshore walk-around at Anglers Lodge, Amodeo Bay. They are all skippered by legendary skippers ready to take you out on a thrilling adventure. We have full range of options for you; half days, full days or sleepovers. Private or shared. You will catch Snapper, Kingfish, John Dory, Trevally and the huge variety of species in the Bay. Out on the deep reefs and blue waters we go for Marlin, Tuna and Hapuku depending on season. Regardless of what kind of fish you are after we strive to make your fishing experience to be something very special to remember!
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 6:00 am - 8:00 pm
See all hours
Travellers talk about

SpotX Fishing Charters
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
94Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 8
  • 5
  • 3
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Danessa6163 wrote a review Oct 2021
Palmerston North, New Zealand13 contributions2 helpful votes
I had a half day fishing charter from Amodeo Bay. Skipper - Chris, was excellent and really mindful of sustainable fishing, so we only caught what we needed, juicy snapper :) The boat was well setup and the fishing gear was also good. Boarding the boat at our accommodation Anglers Lodge was great and I was out on the water and fishing in no time. Chris, thanks for a great day of fishing and your sense of humour, your great company, nearly as good as those tasty snapper. Cheers - Danny.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from KatarinaJ409, Owner at SpotX Fishing Charters
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for coming out with us!!! Hope to see you on board soon again! Best/Katarina SpotX
Read more
Josh M wrote a review Mar 2021
12 contributions3 helpful votes
Organisation was good. Skipper was very nice and friendly. Unfortunately we didn’t catch any legal kingfish just one rat and two kahawai. My partner unfortunately didn’t even get a chance to catch a Kingfish. I called up and asked the reception how the fishing was going she said it was going very well but after talking to the skipper it sounded like the last few trips hadn’t returned any kingfish which made me annoyed that they lied.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from KatarinaJ409, Owner at SpotX Fishing Charters
Responded 13 May 2021
Sorry to hear the fish was not biting! Sometimes it is like that. We do not lie about how the fishing has been, our skippers have high expectations on them selves to make you catch a dinner or two. Sorry for misinterpretation. Kind regards/Katarina SpotX
Read more
ricosplaydates wrote a review Feb 2021
Napier, New Zealand173 contributions6 helpful votes
Thanks to Tish and Hamish we had two fantastic days on the water. The first trip was focused on catching kingfish and the second day snapper. On both days we managed to do both, unfortunately my kingfish got eaten by a shark so I only managed to bring his head on board. They are helpful and so knowledgeable about the area and techniques. The gear they supplied was well maintained and we had a variety of bait. Highly recommend going out with these two, hopefully we’ll be back.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from KatarinaJ409, Owner at SpotX Fishing Charters
Responded 13 May 2021
Thank you for coming out with us multiple days! Sorry about the shark, they have taken a lot this year! Hope to having you on board again soon! Kind regards, Katarina SpotX
Read more
jml664 wrote a review Feb 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions
This was my first fishing charter and I found our captain to be a very likeable professional man. Somewhat disappointed in quality of rods we were given to use compared to the nice looking ones in the cabin and the speed with which fish were declared too small and hastily thrown back although obviously unable to survive. While our captain quickly dealt with an overheated engine and an inadequately maintained tool box there was no real apology for this 30 minute delay. The number of tangled lines from fish hooking on one side of the boat and swimming through all other lines to end up on the other side of the boat is surely an unusual thing. As a novice I enjoyed the day the more experienced fishing people in our group were not so impressed. Certainly any more people on our boat would have been at best uncomfortable.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from KatarinaJ409, Owner at SpotX Fishing Charters
Responded 13 May 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We have of course gone through what was needed and we are very sorry for the unnecessary delays. Thanks again./Katarina SpotX
Read more
RosieM wrote a review Jan 2021
new zealand45 contributions31 helpful votes
We have just returned from a 2 day/one night game fishing trip with SpotX charter. From the moment we arrived at the wharf for the 7am pick up, we knew that we had made the right choice. We were met by Katarina, who I had communicated with throughout the booking, Hamish the skipper and Tish, the deckhand of Screaming Reels. The boat was clean, tidy and spacious - far exceeding our expectations. There was fishing gear for every scenario - all immaculate. It soon became clear that we were on board with a very experienced, knowledgeable and committed skipper. His "deckhand" Tish was far more than that - Tish looked after us so well, fed us, cooked for us and made sure we were comfortable, all whilst making sure that the reels were set up and lures positioned as Hamish wanted. We had a long first day trawling and despite 11 hours of searching, the fish did not appear. Everyone remained positive and we knew that there are never ever guarantees with fishing. The second day was raining with a decent swell but there was never any doubt that Hamish was out to do his best to get us some fish. We hooked a John Dory and a decent Kingfish but still had our hearts set on something bigger. Hamish and Tish never lost their optimism despite being soaked to the skin and with their clients feeling a bit green. When the Yellowfin was hooked and landed Hamish and Tish made the whole process look easy. We were lucky to get what we came for. Throughout our whole trip, Trish and Hamish were friendly, informative and worked together like a well oiled machine. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending the SpotX team if you are researching who to charter with out of the Bay of Islands. We would love to do it all over again.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from KatarinaJ409, Owner at SpotX Fishing Charters
Responded 13 May 2021
hank you Lisa for amazing feedback! We are so lucky having you guys on board, wonderful to deal with! Big thanks again! We can not wait to having you o board again!!!! Best/Katarina SpotX
Read more
Previous
123456
Recommended experiences in and around Russell
from US$90.08
More Info
from US$97.01
More Info
from US$110.16
More Info
from US$813.75
More Info