We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pompallier Mission and Printery

603 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Pompallier Mission and Printery

603 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around Russell
from US$95.73
More Info
from US$95.73
More Info
from US$524.92
More Info
from US$114.14
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
5 The Strand, Russell 0202 New Zealand
Get to know the area
Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch
Sailing Trips

Bay of Islands Tall Ship Sailing on 'R. Tucker Thompson' Including BBQ Lunch

193 reviews
Top off a trip to the Bay of Islands with a sailing adventure aboard the “R. Tucker Thompson.” You can help hoist the sails on this tall ship, a replica of a 100-year-old schooner. It’s ideal for exploring the bays and beaches of the maritime park. Catch a complimentary ferry from Paihia to Russell and enjoy a barbecue lunch provided on board.
US$117.09 per adult
603Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 446
  • 132
  • 15
  • 7
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
DaveOwen66 wrote a review 23 Jan
Te Awamutu, New Zealand84 contributions10 helpful votes
Our family did the full historical tour and even our internet-addicted teenage kids found it interesting. The tour guide was knowledgable and able to answer all questions.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Jerzei B wrote a review 18 Jan
20 contributions3 helpful votes
We did the guided tour with Afton. She was fantastic! Very knowledgeable, funny with a beautiful spoken voice. The Printery was fascinating. The restoration makes it quite a different experience from the last time we visited many decades ago. We didn’t go to the cafe so can’t say anything about that. If you are visiting Russell we totally recommend you visit this historic site.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Foodie4food wrote a review 12 Jan
214 contributions52 helpful votes
We did this in a wet windy day instead of boating and totally enjoyed the experience ! Do book in for the guided tour though which can be done via the gift shop on site . Not so easy for those with babies as the second part of the short tour is up stairs. A nice touch is for families to actually print a momento on one of the printing presses upstairs to take home . Great touch and the explanation of where many of of English phrases and terms come is educational ie “ first impressions “ is the the first copy of the print etc . Guide shares a short history of BOI and Russell which segways into the Mission and the work of the priests and the process of printing and binding the prayer books , from tanning the leather to the finished binding ! Quite extraordinary. Loved the experience and finished off with great coffee and perfect light pastries on the French cafe patio . Highly recommend And do give me a thumbs up if this was helpful
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Serendipity wrote a review 4 Jan
Auckland, New Zealand105 contributions39 helpful votes
This is a must see place as the history is fascinating . We had the guided tour and learnt so much about the history of Pompallier and the printery as the guide was very knowledgeable. After the tour we visited the museum within the building and was intrigued by the information and artifacts on display. A tour around the gardens is a must see with many fruit trees.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from KirstyHofs, General Manager at Pompallier Mission and Printery
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it!
Read more
Avocadonut wrote a review 1 Jan
Christchurch, New Zealand15 contributions11 helpful votes
A cafe that advertises all day croissants and coffee as the main trade runs out of croissants 1.5 hours after opening. Poor show. Beautiful surroundings and view...but again, no croissants seems unredeemable when we'd been seeing adverts all around Russell for them. Sure it's a busy season...but no surprises there. Cannot recommend unfortunately.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from KirstyHofs, General Manager at Pompallier Mission and Printery
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to review our French Coffee House here at Pompallier Mission. We continually bake fresh batches of our croissants and pastries all day, so we have a fresh supply throughout the morning and afternoon. If there were none at the moment you arrived, there would have been a fresh batch out shortly after - if you had enquired at the counter any of our lovely staff members could have let you know. I'm sorry you left disappointed, but rest assured that we do have plentiful croissants available throughout the day, every day.
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Pompallier Mission and Printery