Hokitika isite Visitor Information Centre

Hokitika isite Visitor Information Centre

Hokitika isite Visitor Information Centre
4.5
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
About
Call in to the Hokitika i-SITE and the friendly staff can help with bookings for accommodation,activities and transport all over New Zealand and with no booking fees. Free Maps and Brochures. Open Mon - Fri 9.00 - 5:00pm Sat - Sun 10:00am - 2pm We are also an AA Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agent. Open 9am - 4:30pm
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
98 reviews
Excellent
60
Very good
27
Average
9
Poor
2
Terrible
0

roaming_kiwi58
Christchurch, New Zealand2,826 contributions
Mar 2022
Helpful staff, good selection of info leaflets and retail items. We stopped by here to pick up a leaflet about the town heritage walk. They have a notice up saying they are cashless, but I was able to pay for my single page leaflet with coins - I could have used eftpos, but it seemed hardly worth it for 50 cents!
Written 1 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sorry about the notice of cashless, but it was a covid restriction for us. We are so glad you called in to see us.
Written 5 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pieter S
Nelson, New Zealand1,699 contributions
Jul 2020 • Couples
Popped in to get some info about a museum and he was very helpful, even ringing them up and looking online for us. Great place if you need help
Written 3 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your lovely review, so pleased you pooped in to see us.
Written 5 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

macodim
Nelson, New Zealand44 contributions
May 2020
was a bit disappointed on visiting the i site there wasn't enough staff on and he was busy with other people so we walked in and straight out again
Written 31 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are so sorry that happened and can only offer you an apology, Covid did hit us hard unfortunately.
Written 5 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dan_Explorateur
Gatineau, Canada226 contributions
Dec 2019
We were recommend by friends to stop in Hokitika and we therefore stopped at the i-Site to get some information about this very nice little City, home of the pounamu (greenstone) artworks. We were very received and got great recommendations from the friendly staff of this I-Site. Very nice visit of this small city accordingly.
Written 26 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We were happy to help you. Thank you.
Written 5 January 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sachin K
New York City, NY5,857 contributions
Dec 2018 • Solo
This visitor center has helpful staff who are committed to ensure that any tourist gets the best out of one’s dedicated time in Hokitika. A great place to start planning for, when in Hokitika.
Written 30 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jan Willem t
Nijmegen, The Netherlands1,458 contributions
Oct 2019
As so many others looks also this info centre more a shop/store.
Yes, the staff knows a lot to explain about the attractions of the region, but commerce still seems to dominate
Written 21 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JTr
Highlands Ranch, CO1,128 contributions
Oct 2019
Good visitor center for such a small town- shows some of the investment and hope this town keeps going
Went in to find out about a taxi service and got very good direction on which restaurant for dinner
Written 10 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marianne
17 contributions
May 2019 • Couples
We were serviced by a lovely lady with red hair. Very very helpful and her recommendations were just what we wanted. Thank you so much.
Written 21 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

dieselnator
Greenville, SC278 contributions
Apr 2019 • Family
Very friendly and helpful staff. The bathroom was clean. There is a large gift shop area and a cool fish tank.
Written 1 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you dieselnator for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you had a great experience. Nga mihi maioha. (Thank you with appreciation)
Written 7 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Totosfamily
Dunedin, New Zealand185 contributions
Apr 2019 • Couples
So I should clarify.... Service was fine. Lady was pleasant enough. Heaps of info. I guess that ticks the boxes for an I-site.

But I bought a Wilderness Cycle Trail Guide for $20 (100% mark up that I’m pretty sure doesn’t get back to the trail) and its an old, out of date version. That’s poor guys. I even asked it it was current. I know old stock is a perennial issue but it’s 2019 so the 2017 version isn’t good enough.

Ended up buying another up-to-date one elsewhere.
Written 16 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kia Ora. Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the retail price for the guide book was marked to high. The Wilderness Cycle Trail guide books differ in that one is from Greymouth to Ross and the other guide is from Ross to Greymouth with a few updates. The guide books for Ross to Greymouth are now available from the trust. We would be happy to refund your money if the book is still in good order. I am sorry for the delay in response. We support the West Coast Wilderness trail by providing advertising, donation collection and itineraries using local operators and sponsors of the cycle trail. I'm glad that you were able to purchase the guide book that you were after. Nga mihi maioha. (Thank you with appreciation)
Written 7 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 85
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

HOKITIKA ISITE VISITOR INFORMATION CENTRE: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Hokitika isite Visitor Information Centre

Hokitika isite Visitor Information Centre is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat - Sun 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM


Restaurants near Hokitika isite Visitor Information Centre: View all restaurants near Hokitika isite Visitor Information Centre on Tripadvisor