Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre: Hours, Address, Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre Reviews: 4.5/5

Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
4.5
Visitor Centres
Read more
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
About
Call in to the Hokitika i-SITE and the friendly staff can help with bookings for accommodation,activities and transport all over New Zealand and with no booking fees. Free Maps and Brochures. Open Mon - Fri 9.00 - 5:00pm Sat - Sun 10:00am - 2pm We are also an AA Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agent. Open 9am - 4:30pm
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
The area
Address
Best nearby
We rank these restaurants and attractions by balancing reviews from our members with how close they are to this location.
Restaurants
21 within 5 kms
Attractions
13 within 10 kms
Popular mentions

4.5
98 reviews
Excellent
60
Very good
27
Average
9
Poor
2
Terrible
0

roaming_kiwi58
Christchurch, New Zealand2,712 contributions
Mar 2022
Helpful staff, good selection of info leaflets and retail items. We stopped by here to pick up a leaflet about the town heritage walk. They have a notice up saying they are cashless, but I was able to pay for my single page leaflet with coins - I could have used eftpos, but it seemed hardly worth it for 50 cents!
Written 1 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Pieter S
Nelson, New Zealand1,698 contributions
Jul 2020 • Couples
Popped in to get some info about a museum and he was very helpful, even ringing them up and looking online for us. Great place if you need help
Written 3 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

macodim
Nelson, New Zealand40 contributions
May 2020
was a bit disappointed on visiting the i site there wasn't enough staff on and he was busy with other people so we walked in and straight out again
Written 31 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Dan_Explorateur
Gatineau, Canada223 contributions
Dec 2019
We were recommend by friends to stop in Hokitika and we therefore stopped at the i-Site to get some information about this very nice little City, home of the pounamu (greenstone) artworks. We were very received and got great recommendations from the friendly staff of this I-Site. Very nice visit of this small city accordingly.
Written 26 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sachin K
Plainview, NY5,840 contributions
Dec 2018 • Solo
This visitor center has helpful staff who are committed to ensure that any tourist gets the best out of one’s dedicated time in Hokitika. A great place to start planning for, when in Hokitika.
Written 30 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jan Willem t
Nijmegen, The Netherlands1,457 contributions
Oct 2019
As so many others looks also this info centre more a shop/store.
Yes, the staff knows a lot to explain about the attractions of the region, but commerce still seems to dominate
Written 21 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

JTr
Highlands Ranch, CO1,128 contributions
Oct 2019
Good visitor center for such a small town- shows some of the investment and hope this town keeps going
Went in to find out about a taxi service and got very good direction on which restaurant for dinner
Written 10 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Marianne
17 contributions
May 2019 • Couples
We were serviced by a lovely lady with red hair. Very very helpful and her recommendations were just what we wanted. Thank you so much.
Written 21 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

dieselnator
Greenville, SC270 contributions
Apr 2019 • Family
Very friendly and helpful staff. The bathroom was clean. There is a large gift shop area and a cool fish tank.
Written 1 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you dieselnator for your feedback. I'm glad to hear you had a great experience. Nga mihi maioha. (Thank you with appreciation)
Written 7 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Totosfamily
Dunedin, New Zealand178 contributions
Apr 2019 • Couples
So I should clarify.... Service was fine. Lady was pleasant enough. Heaps of info. I guess that ticks the boxes for an I-site.

But I bought a Wilderness Cycle Trail Guide for $20 (100% mark up that I’m pretty sure doesn’t get back to the trail) and its an old, out of date version. That’s poor guys. I even asked it it was current. I know old stock is a perennial issue but it’s 2019 so the 2017 version isn’t good enough.

Ended up buying another up-to-date one elsewhere.
Written 16 April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kia Ora. Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you felt the retail price for the guide book was marked to high. The Wilderness Cycle Trail guide books differ in that one is from Greymouth to Ross and the other guide is from Ross to Greymouth with a few updates. The guide books for Ross to Greymouth are now available from the trust. We would be happy to refund your money if the book is still in good order. I am sorry for the delay in response. We support the West Coast Wilderness trail by providing advertising, donation collection and itineraries using local operators and sponsors of the cycle trail. I'm glad that you were able to purchase the guide book that you were after. Nga mihi maioha. (Thank you with appreciation)
Written 7 May 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 85
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

Hokitika i-SITE Visitor Information Centre is open:
  • Mon - Fri 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  • Sat - Sun 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM