We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe

Features Animals
Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 4:15 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:15 PM
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
West Coast Tree Top Walk Experience
From US$20.35*
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
ADMISSION TICKETS (1)
West Coast Tree Top Walk Experience
From US$20.35*
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
338
All photos (338)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“bird life”(37 reviews)
“golf cart”(17 reviews)
“fear of heights”(13 reviews)
About
An exhilarating treetop adventure among temperate rainforest giants. Experience life with the birds, high in the ancient Rimu and Kamahi tree canopy. Easy access for all to enjoy along a steel platform 20 metres high and over 450 metres long. Come...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 4:15 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
1128 Woodstock-Rimu Road, Hokitika 7883, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-755 5052
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
193
189
90
43
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
193
189
90
43
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird life golf cart fear of heights tree canopy flora and fauna lake mahinapua entry price views of the mountains souvenir shop different perspective information boards unique experience great attraction southern alps well worth the visit great walk take your time
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Was in a rush and had only about 45min to spare at this place. The lady at the ticketing counter was great to give us a ride in the golf buggy to the entrance of the walk which saved us about 10 mins. I have...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 264gweny
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

That's wonderful that you conquered your fear of heights! The structure is very safe which helps. Thank you for leaving feedback.

Reviewed 6 days ago

We stopped at the Treetop Top Walk and Cafe on our first day cycling the West Coast Wilderness Trail between Ross and Hokitika. We had a great lunch at the cafe before heading on to the Tree Top Walk. It was fun to be so...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Kiwiseeingtheworld
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the treetops. Thank you for leaving feedback.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Dine with views of the giant tall trees and a backdrop of snow-capped mountains. The new chef is very talented. 31 of us enjoyed a Christmas lunch function. Cooked to perfection! Staff are very attentive and hard-working.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank BirdsongHokitikaYHA
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your positive feedback. I will pass your comments on to Matt our new Chef and the staff. We are glad you enjoyed your lunch.

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is quite a high walkway through the trees, though most of the trees are even taller so not quite a walk in the canopy. Most of the fun is up the tower (very tall) and along the overhanging arm that bounces. There is a...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank readysteadyteddy
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for leaving feedback. Most of the Rimu trees are a lot higher than the 20 meters that the main structure stands, some are are even higher than the 47 meter Tower.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed sitting outdoors at the cafe having lunch on the cycle trail. Recommend for a coffee break. We did not do the walk.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank ams255118
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving feedback. It is great to see so many cyclists doing the Westcoast Wilderness trail. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a coffee, date scone, hot chocolate and fries. Deanna was most helpful. Full marks for excellent customer service. Thankyou.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank N4857PSsandrap
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback I have passed on your feedback to Deanna. Glad you enjoyed your visit to Treetops.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our wee group walked this in rain and got very wet. I know the views would be awesome on a blue day. Cafe was very welcome sight once we were soakinh.More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank chipmunk22
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving feedback, your group was very brave I think you struck the worst day weather wise. I felt sorry for you all when you came back soaking wet, I hope the towels were a help but unfortunately you had to go back...More

Reviewed 8 November 2018

This was a most enjoyable hour spent walking along the walkways. We were very lucky with the weather. The walk up the tower give you great views of the surrounding area - maybe you can see the alps on a clear day? The information given...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 2012kim
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2018

Thank you for leaving such great feedback! We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful place with amazing views. We have a great team of staff . I'm so glad you had such a great experience.

Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

Visited with a 8yr and 4yr. The tower part was a bit scary (for me and our 4yr). We had a windy & sunny day. Kids had fun giving us directions and food was nice so a very pleasant experience overall. Good job building the...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank evak233
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Hi Eva Glad you enjoyed the experience at Treetops. Children love being the tour guide. Thank you for leaving feedback.

Reviewed 26 October 2018

The only treetop walk in the South Island, so a novel activity in NZ. This was our second visit. Last time it was raining, so we had a much better day there this time, fine with a bit of sun. About a 20 minute drive...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank roaming_kiwi58
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for leaving feedback. Great you had a nice day to experience the walk this time, on a fine day you get to see the views of the Southern Alps. Lake Mahinpua and the Tasman Sea.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 nearby hotels
Annabelle Motel
278 reviews
10.11 km away
Stopforths Motel
25 reviews
10.16 km away
Heritage Highway Motel
69 reviews
10.22 km away
Mountain Jade Backpackers
95 reviews
10.32 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 32 nearby restaurants
The Hokitika Sandwich Company
62 reviews
10.36 km away
Stella Cafe Hokitika
484 reviews
10.38 km away
Ramble + Ritual
47 reviews
10.43 km away
Fat Pipi Pizzas
698 reviews
10.39 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 46 nearby attractions
Wilderness Gallery
253 reviews
10.32 km away
Hokitika Beach
480 reviews
10.42 km away
Hokitika Museum
163 reviews
10.23 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
despaterson
30 November 2017|
Answer
Response from canwest2016 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Sorry been away for a bit. I think it was around $25 per person, but best to check their website to be sure. we also had a mini buffet made up for our group as well that day.
0
Votes
vickie413
30 March 2017|
Answer
Response from carefree2017 | Reviewed this property |
I would allow about an hour to walk the Treetops and probably another half hour for drink and cake..
0
Votes
lisawZ4031YC
28 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Lucykiwi | Reviewed this property |
We did this and it said on the bookme email that it didn't matter if you were a bit late.
0
Votes