We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe

Features Animals
1128 Woodstock-Rimu Road, Hokitika 7883, New Zealand
+64 50887338677
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.40*
and up
West Coast Tree Top Walk Experience
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
An exhilarating treetop adventure among temperate rainforest giants. Experience life with the birds, high in the ancient Rimu and Kamahi tree canopy. Easy access for all to enjoy along a steel platform 20 metres high and over 450 metres long. Come and enjoy a leisurely 45 minute to one hour stroll through the beautiful West Coast rainforest tree tops.
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good34%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“bird life” (37 reviews)
“golf cart” (16 reviews)
“fear of heights” (13 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 4:15 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
1128 Woodstock-Rimu Road, Hokitika 7883, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 50887338677
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bird life"
in 37 reviews
"golf cart"
in 16 reviews
"fear of heights"
in 13 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 12 reviews
"tree canopy"
in 6 reviews
"amazing structure"
in 6 reviews
"full price"
in 7 reviews
"lake mahinapua"
in 16 reviews
"views of the mountains"
in 6 reviews
"entry price"
in 6 reviews
"information boards"
in 7 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 8 reviews
"unique experience"
in 11 reviews
"great attraction"
in 7 reviews
"southern alps"
in 11 reviews
"take your time"
in 6 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 515 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

It was raining hard when we arrived and we had already done many bush walks on the coast so we skipped the walk. We ordered lunch instead. The staff were very helpful. The food was outstanding especially considering the price. We highly reccomend the mushrooms...More

Thank annamalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

I really enjoyed this experience. The view from above along with the distant scenery had me taking lots of photographs, though I do wish the railing was a little lower as I am short. I read all the tree identification labels with interest and was...More

Thank bpchrysalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for the feedback! I also found the many uses of the plants very interesting the first time I done the walk. Thank you for recommending us to friends and fello travellers we appreciate you promoting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

Very nice experience. Clean and quiet place. One gets a different view of the trees. Clearly marked paths and viewing points. Grab a map at the base cafe and you can explore and return on your own. Last patch of the walk is a cantiliver...More

Thank PreetiChhatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Very pleased you enjoyed our wonderful facility. Thank you for leaving feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

We really enjoyed this walk amongst the trees, even my 79 year old mother. Although by the end she was starting to get slightly afraid of heights. The leaflet was very good as it explained what to see at each stop. This made the walk...More

Thank MARGARET C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for leaving feedback. Your Mum needs to pat herself on the back for doing the walk good on her. Pleased you both enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

although a part of the walk was closed for repairs, and despite the reviews about the "dying trees" i'm so grateful I took this adventure. being among the treetops is breathtaking and if you're afraid of heights this is the place to challenge your fear....More

Thank Jenilee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. Mother nature has her own way of regenerating the bush and the bird life. It's great that you got so much out of the information provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently did the Treetop walk with our two children aged 3 and 6 and everybody loved it. The walk itself is great - although they did sustain some cyclone damage a few months ago and so you have to walk back on yourself at...More

Thank adamandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your great feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our facility, and your children had fun with the toys. We love seeing family's relaxing outside while the children play.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely worth it. The tower is amazing if you are brave enough...a short walk up then a very good walk around. Good signage on the walk up next to various trees and plants explaining their use for medicines etc. The setting for the cafe is...More

Thank Nadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for leaving feedback , we are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We felt this was overpriced and really not that well done. Impressive structures but overall the worst thing we did on South Island. We had booked online. When we got there part of the route was closed due to storm damage. People in front of...More

Thank Lour G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback, sorry you were disappointed. If you booked through our website you would have been given the 20% discount instead of 10% Adult normal price is $32.00 - 20% = $25.60 Seniors normal price $29.00 - 20% = $23.20. So if...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very similar to the Treetop walk in South West Western Australia. I like the addition of the tower, the views are stunning

Thank Lorraine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for leaving feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading reviews i was cautious not too expect too much, but I really loved it. It delivers exactly what it promises. Short walk to start of structure. Got a 20% discount as recent weather damaged part of it, but we didn't mind. After seeing...More

Thank elem7142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TreetopWalkway, Manager at Westcoast Treetop Walk & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. I'm very glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Hokitika
Annabelle Motel
273 reviews
10.09 km away
Stopforths Motel
7 reviews
10.15 km away
Heritage Highway Motel
68 reviews
10.21 km away
Mountain Jade Backpackers
89 reviews
10.31 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Stella Cafe Hokitika
451 reviews
10.36 km away
Fat Pipi Pizzas
652 reviews
10.37 km away
Stumpers Bar and Cafe
731 reviews
10.40 km away
Woodstock Hotel
70 reviews
7.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wilderness Gallery
227 reviews
10.31 km away
Hokitika Beach
440 reviews
10.41 km away
Hokitika Museum
155 reviews
10.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
despaterson
30 November 2017|
Answer
Response from canwest2016 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, Sorry been away for a bit. I think it was around $25 per person, but best to check their website to be sure. we also had a mini buffet made up for our group as well that day.
0
Votes
vickie413
30 March 2017|
Answer
Response from carefree2017 | Reviewed this property |
I would allow about an hour to walk the Treetops and probably another half hour for drink and cake..
0
Votes
lisawZ4031YC
28 March 2017|
Answer
Response from Lucykiwi | Reviewed this property |
We did this and it said on the bookme email that it didn't matter if you were a bit late.
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor