We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
All photos (331)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good41%
  • Average20%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“gold panning”(139 reviews)
“steam train”(103 reviews)
“train ride”(58 reviews)
Shantytown is a leading New Zealand culture and heritage attraction. Made up of over 30 historic buildings it is a faithfully recreated 19th century pioneer town, inspired by the West Coast gold rushes of the 1860s. Highlights include riding the...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Rutherglen Rd | Paroa, Greymouth 7805, New Zealand
+64 3-762 6634
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Greymouth
from US$57.60
More Info
from US$115.20
More Info
from US$16.90
More Info
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgold panningsteam traintrain rideshanty townstep back in timepan for goldgold rushcouple of hoursfew hoursgreat place to visitrainy dayon displaynative bushwell worth the visitnew zealandsawmilllife
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited on Saturday 12th May. We spent about 2.5 hours there just wondering around looking at the old buildings and riding on the steam train. Well set out and maintained, great place to visit to discover about Greymouth's early history.

1  Thank Michael-4551
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyable experience and something I would recommend to enjoy if you are around the West coast in your travels. There are some nice photo opportunities here and well maintained grounds. Have a try at the Gold panning, Enjoyable stop.

1  Thank Kristjan_Iceman
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed Shanty Town. Some of the heritage park could do with a bit of tlc but the information provided was interesting. Wide variety of stuff to look at.

1  Thank 100kaylaw
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for visiting today. We plan to kick back into some R&M as soon as we hit spring! Thanks for the review. Keep warm!

Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We went in the school Holidays and the place seriously lacked human interaction! So disappointing. $7 to gold pan was absolutely criminal! Pleased I went back to relive my childhood but not sure it was such an amazing time for my kids.More

2  Thank loveroflifenz
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello and thanks for your review. We're disappointed to learn that you weren't satisfied with your return visit on this occasion. We can agree that sometimes in the middle of winter it may seem like there are not many people around. You would have met...More

Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

I recently booked this entire venue (2 years in advance) for a business event. The events coordinator was confusing and disorganised and had very poor communication skills. After booking this venue we stated which areas we would like to use and had them reserved for...More

2  Thank Chris E
Shantytown, General Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear reader, it’s with much disappointment to advise that this review contains content that is misleading and has no bearing on Shantytown’s tourism product. The opinion of Chris E should not be a reflection on Shantytown Heritage Park and we are sorry that Chris E...More

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

On a whim I decided to visit this place. At the entrance I paid one of the highest entrance fees I have paid on my holiday. I was just in time to get on board the steam train. This train goes up and down a...More

1  Thank Tijs v
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Tijs v. Just a quick message to let you know that our gold claim person doubles up as your train guard therefore they would have disembarked at the sawmill with you - he/she should have been right behind you!! Also, due to security reasons...More

Reviewed 26 June 2018

We were keen to call at Shanty Town to check out the steam train, which was good. They have a few old loco's and if you like trains, there is a short trip into the bush, which was good as well. You can pan for...More

1  Thank ppcp19792015
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, thanks for the review and great to hear you particularly enjoyed the train ride and our steam collection. Yes, we acknowledge that in June we held an event for 450 people. On arrival you would have been greeted with a notice board to...More

Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

A sleepy ghost town replica of a good rush town. Not much activities and over priced. Better off visiting arrowhead.

2  Thank Shamus C
Shantytown, Manager at Shantytown Heritage Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your review. We like to promote ourselves as an interactive museum. Activities include steam train rides, sluice demonstrations, gold panning lessons, wild-panning, old-time photos, holographic movie screening + there are over 30 shops and buildings to explore.

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Not worth the money. Exhibits are ill maintained. Under staffed...and grumpy ticket seller...i would have gone Nelson as recommended or Arrowtown if i had the time.

1  Thank GloriaLim
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

The day was windy, wet and miserable but we cheered up on entry. Lots to see and great little area to pan for gold. We even found some! The train was good but open and chilly so rug up if you go in winter.

Thank Marian K
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
9 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kerry C | Reviewed this property |
The gold panning is mapped on site, easy to find when you walk down from the train ride up... and someone turns up there when you arrive. It is fun but you 'pan' a preprepared scoop of gravel that is already loaded onto your... More
Leah G
6 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from NicolaFoote | Reviewed this property |
Not in a heavy or shower or consistently wet day if you have kids. Adults would probably spend enough time in each building to make it worth dodging the rain.
30 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kim H | Reviewed this property |
Half a day would be enough ... we arrived at lunchtime and left at closing time.