We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre

Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Saskia very helpfull

Thanks for all the good information! Very clean and bright I site. Very helpful staff! Toilets and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Mstrd
,
Dublin, Ireland
via mobile
Very good

We were spending the day in Whanganui prior to heading out to New Plymouth. We dropped in to the... read more

Reviewed 12 November 2018
Brian M
,
Montrose, United Kingdom
Read all 141 reviews
28
All photos (28)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent69%
  • Very good25%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“great info”(4 reviews)
“site staff”(4 reviews)
About
The Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Centre is your 'one stop travel shop' for tours, activities and accommodation in Whanganui and throughout New Zealand. Our friendly staff delight in welcoming visitors and locals to the heart of the city's historic old...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
31 Taupo Quay, Whanganui 4500, New Zealand
Website
+64 6-349 0508
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
89
29
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
89
29
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very helpful staff great info site staff same building local knowledge whanganui river brochure cafe keri isite model postcards shop nz pamphlet itinerary gallery
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thanks for all the good information! Very clean and bright I site. Very helpful staff! Toilets and cafe where you can stop for a while to think about your plans!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Mstrd
Whanganui_ISite, Front Office Manager at Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Mstrd for your feedback. A relaxing place to plan and prepare is exactly the vibe we want our customers to experience, so we are pleased you enjoyed it! And Saskia thanks you a lot for your kind words. Ngā mihi (thank you)

Reviewed 12 November 2018

We were spending the day in Whanganui prior to heading out to New Plymouth. We dropped in to the visitor centre to see what we could do in town. We got speaking with the two members of staff and they gave us some good ideas...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Brian M
Whanganui_ISite, Front Office Manager at Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora Brian. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to our I-Site, and to Whanganui. We hope to see you again sometime soon!

Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Staff were friendly and helpful fantastic town thanks for recommendations and the meal we had was fantastic

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank sullydump
Whanganui_ISite, Front Office Manager at Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora Sullydump - thanks for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your experience here at the I-Site, and in Whanganui in general. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Ngā mihi.

Reviewed 10 October 2018

Helpful and friendly staff, only too willing to share their knowledge of the countless things to see and do in and around Whanganui. Nice cafe housed in the same building is an added bonus.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank tonynyman
Whanganui_ISite, Front Office Manager at Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Kia Ora Tony. Thank you for your feedback - it is much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 11 September 2018

Stopped for a look around. Big drawcard was the location, being on Taupo Quay, and of course the cafe!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank CaroleB2352
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

Personnel were happy helpful and a joy to work with for transport issues we couldn’t take care of on our own. Got a better than Advt deal on Wellington Picton ferry!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank voyageusefolleRoma
Whanganui_ISite, Front Office Manager at Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. Taane is still excited that he got to meet you, but disappointed that he forgot to ask for a photo :( You are welcome to visit us again on your next New Zealand adventure! Ngā mihi.

Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Keri and Taane were knowledgeable, kind, happy and enthusiastic when helping us w a transport issue as well as great conversationalists. Look nowhere else for all your tourism need

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Julia G
Whanganui_ISite, Front Office Manager at Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hi Julia, thanks for your feedback. We are delighted you had a great experience, and hope to see you again soon! Ngā mihi

Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Excellent service, great staff, lots of ideas of what to do with my young grandchildren. We are all moving to Wanganui soon so were very happy with the help we were given plus the maps and pamphlets.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank SLRobinsonNZ
Whanganui_ISite, Front Office Manager at Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you Sandra. Welcome to Whanganui, and we hope you will become a regular visitor to the Whanganui I-Site!

Reviewed 9 April 2018

Very knowledgeable and friendly staff. A nice shop with busy café on site. Helped with campervan parking. Would not have experienced Durie St elevator without friendly help from staff.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank jd7772016
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I enjoyed pleasant staff, and a pleasant shop. They were even open on Easter weekend, whereas cafes and restaurants were mostly closed!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank pascale_delos
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 26 nearby hotels
Rutland Arms Inn
98 reviews
.22 km away
The Grand Hotel
164 reviews
.66 km away
Riverview Motel
165 reviews
.82 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
62 reviews
.90 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 117 nearby restaurants
Japanese Kitchen WA
176 reviews
.38 km away
Rutland Arms
228 reviews
.24 km away
Mud Ducks
206 reviews
.01 km away
Jolt
49 reviews
.16 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 43 nearby attractions
Kowhai Park
198 reviews
1.24 km away
Quartz Museum
55 reviews
.33 km away
Durie Hill Elevator
318 reviews
.49 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Whanganui i-SITE Visitor Information Centre staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines