We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mon Repos

Features Animals
Review Highlights
Definitely worth a visit

It was a little bit slow to start - coaches picked you up from the car park from 6pm. From there... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Happywanderers20
,
Happywanderers
via mobile
Loved seeing these amazing creatures

We had a nervous few hours wait, we were warned that they are wild creatures and not subject to a... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
gewers
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 559 reviews
232
All photos (232)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good19%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“eggs”(169 reviews)
“turtle season”(18 reviews)
“baby turtles”(37 reviews)
About
Watch loggerhead turtles nest on the beach
Contact
Mon Repos Road, Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Website
+61 7 4153 8888
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
375
108
36
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
375
108
36
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eggs turtle season baby turtles turtle laying egg laying turtles hatch an amazing experience long wait take photos be patient information centre late night flash photography total darkness high tide turtle experience wild animals
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 544 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

It was a little bit slow to start - coaches picked you up from the car park from 6pm. From there you were left standing around for nearly an hour - with little seating, but there was a food van. The amphitheatre had loads of...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Happywanderers20
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We had a nervous few hours wait, we were warned that they are wild creatures and not subject to a rota...... Then we went to one very large turtle who couldn’t get comfy so turned round and went back to the ocean. Although disappointed, as...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank gewers
Reviewed 4 days ago

A visit to Mon Repos Rookery will be a highlight of your life. This is a very unique experience, a chance to see amazing creatures do what they have done for tens of millions of years, and only now struggling to survive. Come and take...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Michel J
Reviewed 4 days ago

We went for two consecutive nights. Each was different due to the nature of the turtles visiting the beach. First night we arrived early, about 6ish, and had a bit of standing around. Second night arrived about 6:45 and had less waiting. You are allocated...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 605patm
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I turned up at the designated time to catch the bus up to the site from the car park area. Once there, absolutely no information or direction about what was going on. After about 70 minutes, someone came out to to start the ticketing process....More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank teargas
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We booked our tickets for this event back in October and were rewarded by being in the first group called to the beach on the night we went. What a privilege to witness. It was the first time our turtle had been to the beach...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank SouthDevonTracker
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What an amazing experience to be able to be a part of. Watching a beautiful loggerhead turtle lay her eggs was such an emotional experience, a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Angela S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Poor communication. Long wait - we are at the site right now - arrived for the 7:00pm session. It’s 8:30 now and we are still sitting around waiting for something to happen. 300 people waiting - kids all around us starting to whine. We are...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Mike2450
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great night. Definitely book EARLY. We booked about 6 weeks before we went - but it meant we were in the first group for the first turtle on the beach. Take insect repellent! We had a great ranger and volunteers helping us and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 34randalls
VisitBundaberg, Manager at Mon Repos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We think the mumma turtles are just so amazing. Thanks so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are happy that you got to share this special moment with your family here at Mon Repos. We hope to see you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked as soon as bookings opened September for Sunday 25 November - we thought we were lucky when we were going in group one. We were told to be at pick up point at 6..... we’re transferred to Mon Repos and then had to...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Nomad82165
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Koola Beach Apartments Bargara
154 reviews
1.60 km away
Manta Bargara Resort
184 reviews
2.06 km away
C Bargara Resort Grand Mercure Apartments
140 reviews
2.16 km away
Kacy's Bargara Beach Motel Complex
264 reviews
2.40 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 182 nearby restaurants
Red Chilli Thai Bargara
387 reviews
2.38 km away
The Windmill Cafe at Bargara
283 reviews
2.52 km away
Bargara Asian Cuisine
201 reviews
2.48 km away
See Street Seafood Take-Aways
126 reviews
2.32 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 70 nearby attractions
Turtle Park
86 reviews
6.75 km away
Mon Repos Turtle Centre
69 reviews
.00 km away
Amandine Lavender
87 reviews
5.06 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
highflyergirl
22 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from VisitBundaberg | Property representative |
Thanks for your questions! You are correct, the group you are in is automatically allocated based on the date you purchase your ticket and is finalised on the night of the tour. Mon Repos or Bundaberg Tourism staff cannot... More
1
Vote
JDVH1
3 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 12 answers
Response from Freddie B | Reviewed this property |
The centre is informative and the beach spectacular,worth a look can spend time there about half hr,sometimes the beach is closed . Nothing to do except read the walls .
0
Votes
Carmen S
14 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from RaceRider | Reviewed this property |
We had booked about a month in advance for hatching season and were very well rewarded. The night time viewing does have limited numbers.
1
Vote