We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Scarborough Wine Co

Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
A must visit winery

Very friendly, knowledgable and helpful staff. Had the flights tasting which we all thoroughly... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Chrisandjoe
,
Taranaki, New Zealand
If Your Looking for an Experience, This Is It

If you're after an experience, then I would highly rate this cellar door. You go in and get a seat... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Monique M
via mobile
Read all 401 reviews
154
All photos (154)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good16%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“crackers”(35 reviews)
“pinot noir”(23 reviews)
“small cheese”(13 reviews)
About
Please be aware that we are generally unable to take walk-in groups over 8 people if not booked prior to arrival.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
179 Gillards Rd, Pokolbin, Cessnock, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Website
+61 2 4998 7563
Call
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
315
64
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
315
64
6
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crackers pinot noir small cheese dried fruit tasting experience complimentary cheese cellar door were seated at a table hunter valley cheese plate late harvest lovely cheese tasting notes biscuits full range beautiful location friendly staff
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 392 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Very friendly, knowledgable and helpful staff. Had the flights tasting which we all thoroughly enjoyed and recommend. Great range of wines (brought some). Will certainly go back there again when in the region.

Date of experience: January 2019
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you're after an experience, then I would highly rate this cellar door. You go in and get a seat and then choose which tasting you would like to do. No standing at crowded bars! We did the 'obsessive' tasting with a non-refundable tasting fee...More

Date of experience: January 2019
StephanieT3441, Manager at Scarborough Wine Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Monique M, The 'Obsessive' tasting experience is fabulous isn't it. I am glad you enjoyed the tasting and the overall informative experience we offer. See you next time you are in the Hunter Valley. Regards, Steph

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a glass of Scarborough's chardonnay at a delightful restaurant (Amanda's on the Edge) our first night in the Hunter Valley. We liked both the restaurant and the wine so much that we decided to check out Scarborough the next day. We enjoyed this...More

Date of experience: December 2018
StephanieT3441, Manager at Scarborough Wine Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Sarah B for the review, we are glad you enjoyed the tasting at our cellar door and hope you continued to enjoy the wine you purchased while visiting Australia. Do come back again next time you are here in the Hunter Valley. Regards,...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed 5 tastings on our visit to Hunter Valley and this was our favourite. We paid £5 for the Obsessive tasting which we enjoyed on the veranda with a small cheese plate included to accompany the wines. We liked that the wines were served...More

Date of experience: December 2018
StephanieT3441, Manager at Scarborough Wine Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Boondoggler, Thank you for the great review. It is always great to know that our structured style of tasting experiences are well received and that you enjoyed your experience with us. See you on your next visit. Regards, Steph

Reviewed 16 December 2018

Slightly off the the standard tourist route but worth the effort. Lovely chardonnay, beautiful fruit without too much acid.

Date of experience: December 2018
StephanieT3441, Manager at Scarborough Wine Co, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi RonWaberal, thanks for the review of our cellar door. the chardonnays are lovely aren't they? see you next time you are in the Hunter Valley. regards, Steph

Reviewed 1 December 2018

My boyfriend and I visited this winery back in October. We are from Canada and had hands down the best customer service we have ever had from this winery! Zac was doing our tasting; he was very friendly and knew so much about the wines....More

Date of experience: October 2018
StephanieT3441, Manager at Scarborough Wine Co, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2018

Hi Alex, Thank you for the fabulous review. We are very fortunate to have great staff to ensure your experience is a great one. What a great spot to be able to drink our 'Obsessive' Chardonnay, we are glad you enjoyed it. I will be...More

Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

Nice place off the main strip for a more relaxed tasting. Unfortunately do not always let you sit outside on the verandah which was disappointing this time. Also the size of the cheese and fruit platter seemed smaller. Still nice to visit to relax.More

Date of experience: November 2018
Sally S, Owner at Scarborough Wine Co, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Hi Nevilll, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your time with us. We usually only ever offer tastings on the verandah on Long Weekends and other busy weekends such as when concerts are on. Glad to hear that you had...More

Reviewed 26 October 2018 via mobile

It was my second time of wine tasting ever and I Loved their service... Bought some of their wines as well. I would recommend it to everyone... Will certainly visit again!

Date of experience: October 2018
Sally S, General Manager at Scarborough Wine Co, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Hi Sundar, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your visit, we look forward to seeing you again when you are in the gorgeous Hunter Valley. Cheers Sally

Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

A program med thorough wine tasting. Great range of whites reds, desert wines. Lovey view over winery. Consultant was excellent. Joined wine club. We all bought wines. Put on your to visit list.

Date of experience: October 2018
Sally S, Manager at Scarborough Wine Co, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Thanks Janellesteve for your great review. We look forward to seeing you at one of our Wine Club events in the future. Cheers Sally

Reviewed 22 October 2018

We stopped on our bike tour of the hunter. The view is amazing and we sat and had sandwiches outside. We wanted a taste, but didn't want to sit for several hours and go through each wine. You can only do so much of that...More

Date of experience: October 2018
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 nearby hotels
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation
406 reviews
.92 km away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1,016 reviews
1.32 km away
Spicers Guesthouse
34 reviews
1.54 km away
Pokolbin Village
418 reviews
2.11 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 83 nearby restaurants
Cafe Enzo
1,268 reviews
1.17 km away
The Cellar Restaurant
505 reviews
1.16 km away
Goldfish Bar & Kitchen
648 reviews
1.50 km away
And The Winner Is...Oscars
242 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 144 nearby attractions
Constable Estate Vineyards
137 reviews
.27 km away
Hunter Valley Gardens
2,085 reviews
1.17 km away
Brokenwood Wines
232 reviews
1.53 km away
Questions & Answers
798tammyc
28 June 2017
Show all 5 answers
Response from howardd847 | Reviewed this property
Gillard is the original, very picturesque and far more intimate. Hermitage is newer and built far more for the tourist trade. Same style of tasting experience but go for Gillards......enjoy
1
Vote