We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fiordland Helicopters

Te Anau, New Zealand
More
About Fiordland Helicopters
"The Ata Whenua Helicopter Experience"...Join us on a spectacular scenic flight into the heart of the Fiordland National Park. Fly over breathtaking scenery as you learn about Fiordland's rich history and culture. Land amongst the dramatic landscapes that earn Fiordland its reputation as one of the last great places on earth. We will show you the most spectacular areas of Fiordland. We give you more freedom on flight paths and landing locations and can tailor any flight to your own requirements. Ask us about our exclusive fishing, hunting, diving, kayaking, cruising and tramping packages to Milford Sound, Doubtful Sound and/or Dusky Sound. All flights include wilderness landings AND complimentary admission per person to our award winning film of Fiordland "Ata Whenua - Shadowland"
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 am - 8:00 pm
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Fiordland Helicopters
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
56Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 55
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
BazNZ wrote a review Apr 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand110 contributions42 helpful votes
We did the Kepler Heli hike which in itself is great. However we felt like they couldn't get rid of us quickly enough. Passengers flying with another company on the day were landed on another mountain before being dropped at Luxmore hut. They paid less too.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from FiordlandHelicopters, Manager at Fiordland Helicopters
Responded 1 week ago
We are so disappointed to hear your experience with Fiordland Helicopters wasn’t what you had expected. There are other companies in town that offer very similar packages and packages can be adjusted to suit customers preferences. We do apologise if this was the experience you would have preferred and had we of known at the time of booking we could have absolutely tailored the package to a trip that would have included multiple landings and a slightly longer duration. However, this can adjust the price. Without knowing the circumstances of the other company, it is hard to comment on the price. There can be many differing factors for this. I can see that your booking enquiry came directly from the Kepler Heli Hike page of our website. We have tried to be a clear as possible as to what this package includes and have not mentioned that the trip includes any landings other than Luxmore Hut but if you found any information on our website misleading, we would love to know so that we can rectify this to avoid any confusion in the future. Lastly, thank you for taking the trouble to give us feedback following your experience, we really appreciate it. You may like to know that we make many company decisions based purely on feedback, so it really is listened to. All comments are also reviewed on a regular basis and every one of them is seen as helpful to our business.
Read more
Jason Harman wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution
Someone recommended this company to us because of their excellent reputation in the region, and we weren’t disappointed. Mark dropped us into our Wapiti hunting block and promptly picked us up again a few days later (unexpectedly) after our campsite got flooded out. The scenery we flew over is absolutely phenomenal and needs to be seen to be believed. Sarah was super helpful throughout the booking process, and she even couriered us + our gear to/from the hangar because we didn’t have access to a vehicle - supreme southern hospitality! 100% would book with them again on future trips to Fiordland, and will recommend to everyone coming down here.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from FiordlandHelicopters, Manager at Fiordland Helicopters
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very grateful for the recommendation that brought you to us, and of course your recommendation too. We're sorry your trip didn't go to plan due to the weather this time but we would love to see you back this way again!
Read more
Joseph Graham wrote a review Apr 2021
2 contributions
Wapiti ballot block transport Awesome friendly service Mark was fantastic and went above and beyond to get us out before the weather really deteriorated! Highly recommend for hunting block transfers
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Mark wrote a review Dec 2020
Tawa, New Zealand1 contribution
Heli and Hike was an awesome way to experience part of the Kelper track in a day with 3 teenage boys. We drove from Queenstown and boarded the Heli with Mark as our pilot. Even though the day was a bit windy Mark was able to drop us at Luxmore Hut with the skill of a seasoned and knowledgable pilot. From there it took us about 3 .5 hours of leisurely downhill walking back to Te Anau. We met several persons coming up the hill whom wished they had experienced the track the way we were. Amazing track and amazing service with the team at Fiordland Helicopters. Would recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
jermanyjack wrote a review Jan 2020
Page, Arizona9 contributions1 helpful vote
I'm still stunned with experience! Mark Hollows was our pilot and guide - his knowledge was extensive and his treatment to my wife and me (I have a broken arm and wearing a cast) was beyond courteous - he was a gentlemen of the highest order. I was awed with the landscape and Mark"s description and narrative, but when we got back to our computer after the flight and uploaded the hundreds of photos we took, I became nearly speechless, as I talked with my wife, with beauty of the experience. We will fly the NORTH Ultimate Collecxtion in a few days, and my only regret is that we won't have time to make another flight after that.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from KimHollows, Reservations at Fiordland Helicopters
Responded 14 Jan 2020
thank you very much for your wonderful review. The Southern region of Fiordland is truly a spectacular sight that not many people get to witness due to how remote it is. We are pleased you have managed to capture it's beauty for future reference of your flight with us. We look forward to seeing you again for your Northern flight :)
Read more
Previous
123456