We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa

160 Arthurs Point Road | Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
+64 3-442 5707
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing views

Staff really friendly, great that there is a shuttle service from the town. Only thing is we didn’t... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
20Nicky89
,
Wellington, New Zealand
via mobile
Great views from your private hot tub

Loved the private hot tub! Great view and seeing the jet boats going past was a treat. My husband... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Lynley M
,
Auckland, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 1,305 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
While Queenstown is generally done at full pace, Onsen Hot Pools takes a step back to let you take in the beauty of the surroundings and simply relax. With uninterrupted views across the Shotover Canyon, our Cedar Hot Tubs are heated to 37.8C on warmer days and up to 39.8C during the winter and can accommodate up to four adults. Our natural setting is matched by the pure water captured on its endless journey between the sky and earth to continually fill and refresh the pools. With complimentary transport to and from Queenstown, Onsen Hot Pools is relaxation the natural way.
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
160 Arthurs Point Road | Arthurs Point, Queenstown 9371, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-442 5707
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Queenstown
from US$95.50
More Info
from US$145.00
More Info
from US$63.00
More Info
from US$91.30
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"shotover river"
in 130 reviews
"indulgence package"
in 44 reviews
"candlelight package"
in 38 reviews
"private pool"
in 33 reviews
"retractable roof"
in 22 reviews
"spa room"
in 15 reviews
"roller door"
in 15 reviews
"pamper pack"
in 13 reviews
"my partner"
in 69 reviews
"clear night"
in 17 reviews
"staff were lovely"
in 14 reviews
"amazing views"
in 47 reviews
"unique experience"
in 14 reviews
"visiting queenstown"
in 25 reviews
"new zealand"
in 29 reviews
"tub"
in 67 reviews
"hotpools"
in 15 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Staff really friendly, great that there is a shuttle service from the town. Only thing is we didn’t start right on time and took them about 10 minutes to get us sorted so felt like we didn’t get our full hour. However thoroughly enjoyed it...More

Thank 20Nicky89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Loved the private hot tub! Great view and seeing the jet boats going past was a treat. My husband ordered a wine. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!! It was a rip off. The glass was tiny with an inch of wine for $9.50. You get a candle, water...More

Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Lynley M, Thank you for your recent review, As previously mentioned on many reviews, we do not have a liquor licence therefore we are unable to sell alcohol independently, this is strictly down to health and safety advice around dehydration and overheating whilst bathing...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

The hot pool spa was fabulous. Really pretty and relaxing with the roof open even though it was freezing outside. Would also be a great way to finish off a day skiing or walking. The only negative is they charge you for towels which I...More

Thank Frostles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Frostles we are so grateful for your feedback! Thanks so much for rating us 5 stars. In regards to towel hire, we do charge $3 for spa towels, the reason for this is due to sourcing our spa towels from a local provider in Queenstown...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
6
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely place to visit, nice and relaxing. We booked the Tandeki which was beautiful, and the pool was lovely on a cool night.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are beaming with pride knowing that we hit the mark and delivered on everything that we promised. We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, The Onsen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible customer service. "Manager" refused to admit that they communicated to us insufficiently even though we made changes within the policy listed in the confirmation for our "ultimate relaxation experience". Not so relaxing by the end of the evening. On top of everything he blamed...More

2  Thank Aveline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Aveline S, Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent visit with us. It is disappointing to read such comments as we have an excellent history of customer service as proven by our internal and external guest feedback. To clarify, you booked two Ultimate...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter booked this tour and we both thoroughly enjoyed every second of the experience that Onsen offered. We had had heaps of snow the night before and even getting there was an experience. The snow covered mountains right down to the waters edge was...More

Thank mkskupch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi mkskupch, Reviews like this fuel our hearts and make us try better every single day. Thank you for your kind words and for giving us a high five for all that we do. It is truly nice to know that our efforts are paying...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was amazing, booked in for twilight time slot and the views were spectacular. Great experience. Enjoyed some lovely NZ wine and ice cream. So glad we visitedMore

Thank shell822017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi shell822017, Thank you so much for taking a few moments to let us know how we are doing. We're so glad you had an amazing time with us and managed to secure that very popular sunset session! Your review makes a difference to us...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was so lovely - we had a 10pm time slot on a cold winter evening, and the hot pools were divine. The wall was retracted and the stars were brilliant over the moonlight valley below. It was a GREAT experience!

Thank Kristine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited at a time to catch the sun setting from our own private hot pool. We got the Tandeki package and the room was lit with the most beautiful lanterns. We admired the view when we first got in and then watched the sky turn...More

Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Heather M, Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We're pleased to hear that you managed to experience a sunset session, they are incredibly popular - and now you know why! We are beaming with pride knowing that we hit the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Steph from Onsen Hot Pools was an absolute pleasure to deal with over the phone. That is what customer service is all about, you go girl, and you made us look forward to our experience even more!More

Thank Tamika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing U, General Manager at Onsen Hot Pools Retreat & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tamika M, We are so grateful for your feedback! Reviews highlighting the commitment of our people to serve every customer with passion reaffirm that we are indeed living up to our mission statement. Steph is a highly valued team member who always brings a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 59 hotels in Queenstown
Nugget Point Queenstown Hotel
678 reviews
.14 km away
Swiss-Belresort Coronet Peak
280 reviews
.16 km away
Holiday Inn Queenstown Frankton Road
441 reviews
4.73 km away
Sherwood Queenstown
352 reviews
4.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Boatshed Cafe
355 reviews
4.79 km away
Pedro's House Of Lamb - Queenstown
889 reviews
5.15 km away
Gantleys Restaurant
343 reviews
.17 km away
True South Dining Room
287 reviews
5.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Queenstown Trail
158 reviews
4.67 km away
Peregrine Wines
200 reviews
2.18 km away
Historic Skippers School
29 reviews
4.02 km away
Ben Lomond Lavender
7 reviews
1.57 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lis0402
29 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from nutymama | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't have any problem taking my kids ... it just wont be a romantic date lol. And it is more of a soaking type place than a swimming or playing around place. So depends on your child.
1
Vote
Kay K
19 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ustripfeb2010 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Kay K, probably contact them directly, I imagine it would be dependent on when sunsets are at that time of the year. Your visit to the pools will be amazing no matter what time you go!
1
Vote
;