Game Over
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Game Over is Queenstown's most exciting indoor entertainment centre - Located at Remarkables Park, Frankton and only minutes from Queenstown Airport, we offer a Grand Prix Indoor Karting track with state of the art electric go-karts! We offer high speed Italian built go-karts, around our exciting 290m track with a unique bridge and tunnel! There is plenty of fun to be had for the whole family, or challenge your mates to beat your time! Game Over's Lazer Tag is a live action packed 250 square metre lazer arena with the latest technology, lighting and sound. You'll be kitted out in all the gear for entering the Jurassic Arena - There are plenty of spaces to hide but nowhere is completely safe! Watch out for the opposition and the dinosaurs! Check out our huge arcade, with games starting at $1 we have something for everyone!
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles356 reviews
Excellent
248
Very good
66
Average
22
Poor
7
Terrible
13

Johncena
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020
Not a great experience here... You will find the laser tag more annoying than fun as you spend more time waiting for your timer to go down than you do shooting. The area you play in is really small and cramped I fell over 3 or 4 small kids in my one game. Worst of all is the arcade. All the machines are 2 dollars a play, which is extremely expensive compared to the timezone arcades around the country and the games last about 30 seconds each. As for the sports simulator it hardly works at all and the tracking of the ball is so poor its borderline unplayable. Overall I'd give this absolute shambles a miss and head over to site or literally anywhere else.
Written 14 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Jonathancena, From our perspective it's always intriguing when someone joins Trip Advisor for the first time with the sole intention of giving a bad review - we're sorry that you felt so negatively about us that you needed to do that. It's a shame you didn't discuss your concerns with one of us on the day as perhaps we could have helped make you feel better. For the benefit of customers reading your review I'd just like to clarify a few points: 1. Our laser tag equipment is world leading and features in arenas in all NZ's biggest cities, as well as Australia and the US. We follow the suppliers recommendations with regard to 'down-time' after a laser hit. 2. The arena is large enough to be enjoyable. Describing it as 'small and cramped' is untrue. We deliberately limit the number of players to ensure an enjoyable experience. 3. Laser tag is good for anyone 4+ who wants to play and we mix the groups. The vast majority of groups have a great time. If this was not the case for you then I wish you would have let us know at the time so that we could have fixed it. 4. In terms of the arcade, again what you have said is untrue as we are not more expensive than Timezone. Different games are different lengths and some of our games including Terminator (5 mins); Crazy Speed (5 mins) and Jurassic Park (5 mins) are set the maximum time settings from the manufacturer. $2 for 5 minutes entertainment in an arcade is a good deal. Overall though, we wholeheartedly dispute your use of the word 'shambles' to describe us. Our facility, team members and processes are impeccable. Once again, if you had discussed your concerns with us on the day we would have gone out of our way to fix them. We are not in the business of making people unhappy. Warm regards, The Game Over team.
Written 13 February 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Zara K
Queenstown, New Zealand6 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 • Family
We recently attended Game Over for my son's 7th birthday party. He was very excited as it would be his first turn driving a go kart and he'd had to wait to turn 7 and watch his brother do it previously.

His Birthday falls on a public holiday weekend, which resulted in a need to amend the original booking date as guests were away. Then one was delayed returning from their camping trip. The staff at Game Over were great and so accommodating of all changes needed.

They also ensured a child who was borderline for their height requirement was enabled to kart with a booster. They also matched the discount I would have received if I'd been able to book him in in advance. 🥳

Everything was offered willingly, politely and with smiles. Such great service!
Written 8 February 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Denise
Queenstown, New Zealand2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022 • Family
We booked for 3 adults and a 10 year old. Through our own fault we didn’t read the fine print. Kids can’t race with adults. Our son was left to race a race completely on his own. Braking is controlled remotely. Overall the karts were a very underwhelming experience.
We had a big enough group that the laser tag was good. Throughly enjoyable as a family activity. Recommend the laser tag but would make the trek to Highlands for go karting.
Written 10 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Denise, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's disappointing to hear you didn't have the experience you had hoped for. I hope once your child is 13 years of age we get to see you again so you can race together. We do make sure to have the age ranges in the product description so as to try and avoid this type of disappointment. In regards to us controlling your breaking, this isn't the case. Our race marshals do have a controller in hand so they can slow a kart if they need to give the driver a warning for dangerous driving or to slow all karts to prevent a crash however we do not individually break each kart. Regards, The Game Over Team
Written 15 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DelanaS
Invercargill, New Zealand24 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 • Friends
Was a great time spent here and we absolutely had a blast, this place is fantastic if your going with a group of people.
I did have a issue with the go karts I think if your not experienced with go karting at all or have very little experience they shouldn’t put on the track with people who have way more experience than you, as I got crashed into multiple times quiet hard from people who had more experience than me and it was my first time on a track. This definitely ruined the whole experience for me
I do think that you should be putting people on a track with only the group they come with not combine 2 groups together.
Written 10 April 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Elaine Tukuitoga
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020
Having rung the day before we thought it easy to walk in at any time. On arrival we found a 35 minute wait so probably best to book. Laser Tag was heaps of fun while we waited to race.
Written 11 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hey ElaineTuk, Thanks for the awesome review! Pleased you all enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again! Warm regards, The Game Over team
Written 14 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Allan T
172 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2020 • Couples
Great venue with lots to do. Bought the go cart & laser tag combo & had fun fun fun.
The E carts are so good & the track is amazing, we had to have another round one is never enough.
Laser tag was fun too
We will be back before we leave.
Written 29 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hey 635allant, Thanks for the awesome review! Pleased you all enjoyed it and we look forward to seeing you again! Warm regards, The Game Over team
Written 14 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Mike S
Sydney, Australia143 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Family
Awesome fun. Electric Karts are serious fun. Racing against the clock. Great venue. Reasonable value for time but well worth it for fun. Track is a very decent size and exceptional quality. Going back before we head home.
Written 9 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi SedzSnr, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We're so pleased you enjoyed your time here! Looking forward to seeing you again next time you're in Queenstown! Warm regards, The Game Over team
Written 27 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jeromesenterre
Liege, Belgium4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2016 • Friends
I came there with my brother (20years) to have some fun and sensations, but it appears that the speed of those karting are controled by a steward. When you try to over take, he reduces the speed of your car to avoid any contact with the other racers... So where is the competition ? ( those are electric karting, and the speed is controled by a computer )
Just an huge deception... 39 dollars for 0 sensation and 15 min race...
We won't ever come back, and never advise it.

Nevertheless, maybe good for young kids.
Written 13 June 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tim
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 • Family
ATTENTION INTERMEDIATE/ADVANCED KART DRIVERS! (Or anyone over the age of 5)

I have personally been to over 10 Go-Karting facilities in the last 5 years, with 2 facilities being electric and 2 facilities being in NZ and I can very confidently say that this was by far the worst Karting experience I have ever had.

The Karts were extremely slow, slow enough that not a single corner required brakes. We asked if we were at the max speed and the employees told us we were.

There was no allowance for any kind of skill based race, mainly because of the speed of the Karts, but also the fact that the weight of the drivers altered how the karts responded.

GameOver claims that their Karts are tuned so that driver weight doesn’t make a difference with kart performance and responsiveness but this is just a lie. Myself being 90KG and the rest of my family being around 70KG made a massive difference. On the straights they would speed past or away from me with ease (still unfortunately for them, very slowly).

On another disappointing note, we were very excited to experience the elevated part of the track as we had previously been to an electric kart track similar in Perth WA and it was very enjoyable. GameOver ruined that excitement for us all. Coming up the ramp the karts slowed which wasn’t a surprise, but when coming down the Karts activated braking automatically, completely disabling the motor until around the corner at the bottom of the slope where it re-engaged.

When we finally finished our snail paced race I proceeded to notify the Male, French sounding employee that the Karts were extremely slow and the race was very underwhelming. He said that that was my opinion and seemingly didn’t care about my feedback and frustration.

I implore you to consider the Highlands Raceway Go-Kart track if actually looking for some fun.
Written 7 January 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Craig
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2020
In the thrill filled capital of the Southern Hemisphere comes the most dull and controlled go carts this side of a teacup and saucer ride at a children's funfair.
I have been on many adult electric go carts over the years and these are by far the slowest and most controlled one's yet, you are basically a 'passenger' while the guy controlling you, yes, controlling your speed, is trying his best to stop you having any fun/excitement that you thought you were going to have, and don't you dare to try and race or overtake anyone because 'daddy' will shut you down with his remote control and give you a warning.
I understand safety will always be at the forefront of their operation but please let people have a little bit of fun, I barely touched one of the carts as I was trying get passed a slower rider, SHUT DOWN!! How absurd of me to think I was in a race.
It's good for kids but not for adults seeking a bit of fun.
If you want excitement of this sort go on the luge instead of wasting your money on remote controlled cars.
Written 20 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hey Taff_Robbo, We aim to please and the vast majority of our customers have a great time. They absolutely love our go-karts and many return several times in the same trip. Obviously not the case for you. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to Queenstown. Kind regards, The Game Over team
Written 14 December 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 349
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

GAME OVER (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Queenstown
All things to do in Queenstown
Day Trips in QueenstownZoos & Aquariums in Queenstown
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire