Odyssey Sensory Maze
Odyssey Sensory Maze
4
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
About
As you journey through Odyssey you will experience amazing illusions, lights, sound effects, quirky obstacles and strange sensations that will invigorate and indulge your senses!
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from $32.00
All you need to step foot in the door.

Top ways to experience Odyssey Sensory Maze and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles323 reviews
Excellent
142
Very good
89
Average
49
Poor
14
Terrible
29

Catherine C
Wellington, New Zealand219 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Family
This is a sensory maze so the caution is in the name if you are sensitive to the dark or small spaces.
We went as a family and some friends. 4 adults and 4 children (2, 4, 6 & 7yrs).
My husband gets claustrophobic and didn't make it past the first room after about 1 minute. He left and was kindly given a refund and waited for us in the reception.
I thought my son (4yrs) would be scared of the dark rooms but surprisingly had a great time. So essentially if you know your childs limits and you're there with them supporting them then its a bit of a laugh.
Yes its a bit expensy for what took us about half an hour but its at your own pace (we were the only ones there so were in no rush) and was something to do for a bit of entertainment
Written 28 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Cakeboi_fun104
Paraparaumu, New Zealand8 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Honestly just appalling me and my siblings (14) (11) (9) and my parents were going on holiday to Queenstown for a week and we decided we wanted to come here and I was excited to come here since I have sensory needs but it was bad just bad. We asked the lady if any of the rooms would trigger my claustrophobia, fear of the dark, getting lost or being scared but the woman said that I would be okay. What the woman said was far from the truth some of the rooms you couldn’t even stand in or have much free space, there was a dark room where we couldn’t see and I kept touching someone or something and it scared me every time, and the cherry on top of the bad experience is the mirror maze I banged my head into the glass at least 20 times and that hurt I also had no sense of direction in there and the worst part (I’m autistic by the way) was me feeling overwhelmed and stressed out because I’d been in there for at least 2 minutes and still was nowhere near finding my way out so I had a meltdown in the middle of the mirror maze and it took me a while to calm down and get out of there
Written 27 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sarah Costigan
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Family
A fantastic family activity- loads of fun!

Took about 30 mins

They have come up with some really cool and interesting experiences in each part of the maze…

They provide storage for your belongings & safety briefing.

Written 2 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ni mom
Queenstown, New Zealand2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
amazing activity to be with my 6 years old he could use a lot of he’s imagination in each space. we have a lot of fun together and could have a really good time
the team work there are amazing too and really patient to answer all my son questions

thanks
Written 29 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, thank you for your amazing review of Odyssey! We are stoked to hear you had a good time with your son and found our team helpfu;l! We make sure to pass your lovely words on to the team! Thanks again for your visit and fantastic review!
Written 15 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alyssa S
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Family
This is suited to older kids and is probably a great experience for them. I went through with 3 kids ranging from 20 months to 8 years and they struggled. No one mentioned it when I was booking in and it was advertised as suitable for all ages. It was very dark throughout all rooms. Trying to get 3 screaming kids through the pitch black room where you have to navigate obsticules was toture. The photos on the website don't make it look so dark. They were excited about the mirror maze but even in there the light turn completely off every 10 seconds or so for a few seconds. Which feels like forever with scared kids. It just turned into a race to get out as quick as we could.
I know it would take away some of the senses but it would be a lot more enjoyable for younger kids if they offered a time slot with the lights on. They enjoyed the foam pit.
Written 14 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Alyssa, Thanks for your review of Odyssey. We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. Could you kindly let us know on which plattform you have booked the tickets as we would like to follow up as usually we make it clear on our website as well as 3rd party platforms that we recommend Odyssey for children above 8 years as they can find the dark areas a bit daunting. We also mention the dark areas on our waiver form each customer must sign in before entering the maze. On top of that, we have posters positioned throughout the reception area mentioning the dark areas. Thanks for your feedback and visit.
Written 19 July 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Trish B
10 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Family
I went in the day before to check if it was okay for me to do. I explained i have a bad shoulder and side. If there was any low bits . The lady behind the counter said it would be fine. As we were taking our grandson I could do it with him. Absoulity gutted went in next day and only got to one thing and it was low low down and couldn't get through the wires. Had to leave . Never got a refund. No good for older people. So be aware disappointing
Written 14 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hey Trish, Thanks for your review of Odyssey Sensory Maze. We’re sorry to hear that you did not like your experience. Could you please provide us with a brief description of the staff member in question so we can follow up with the staff member working on shift that day as well as reviewing our CCTV footage at the time of your entry. Our policy is to respond to all customer enquiries within 48 hours. This is to allow us to account for staff's rostered days off as well as the opportunity for us to carefully review the situation and take all the necessary precautions. So please allow us some time to investigate the situation before we revert back to you. Info@odysseysensorymaze.co.nz. Thanks for your feedback and visit.
Written 19 July 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sandy H
Gold Coast, Australia219 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Was fun but very short. Upon entry it was stated experience takes 1 hour but in reality it took us 15 minutes. Not sure why it would need an hour. Even if you had kids with you it wouldn’t take an hour. Price is high for length of time. We scored half price but given how long it takes I wouldn’t consider it value for money.

During the compulsory sign in process I was asked if I would like a pic taken that I could download from Facebook. I ticked yes but nothing was mentioned, available or received.

If you can get cheap tix yes but would never pay full price.. too short an axperience
Written 30 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, Thanks for your review. We’re sorry to hear had mixed feelings. Whilst we want the maze to be loved by everyone we understand that is not always the caseIn regard to the duration, we do encourage each and every group to take their time inside Odyssey and that there is no time limit to enjoy Odyssey. Typically, groups take around 20 - 30 minutes to complete one journey, but we also offer an hour re-entry ticket, which allows multiple re-entries within an hour. All photos will be uploaded on our Facebook page as mentioned on the Check In App. Please have a look if you can find it there or contact us at info@odysseysensorymaze.co.nz with a brief description of the photo should you fail to find it on FB. Thanks for your feedback and visit.
Written 19 July 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Josh M
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2022 • Couples
I visited odyssey a couple of days ago, and was pleasantly surprised by the rooms! They definitely exceeded expectations. Being on holiday in the area, we were looking for some local knowledge and Sarah was super helpful, giving us personal recommendations and being really kind - despite our directional incompetence. We would definitely recommend and would like to visit again.
Written 18 November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi there, Thanks for your amazing feedback! We are glad to hear you had a blast and passed your lovely words onto Sarah, who was very happy! We are looking forward to having you back. Thanks for your visit and fantastic feedback.
Written 23 November 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tahlia
6 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Family
My family and I came to the odyssey sensory maze to do a fun activity and were beyond disappointed. For 2 adults and 2 children it came to a total of around 120 dollars and the service was pretty terrible. We completed the maze in 9 minutes and were left wondering where the rest of it was for the price that was paid? Would be good for kids under 7.
Written 28 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your review of Odyssey Sensory Maze. We’re sorry to hear that you did not like your experience and would like to hear more about that. We strive to provide the best customer service possible, so we are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with staff. Please feel free to shoot us an email and we will follow up on this: qtnmanager@odysseysensorymaze.co.nz In regard to the duration, we do encourage each and every group to take their time inside Odyssey and that there is no time limit to enjoy Odyssey. Typically, groups take around 20 - 30 minutes to complete one journey and you had an hour inside to explore. Thanks for visiting and for your honest feedback.
Written 5 November 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Julia H
13 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2022 • Couples
This was amazing! So much fun and Sarah was such a great help and was so lovely and kind 😊😊 Has made our day
Written 15 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Julia, thanks for your 5 star A-MAZE-ING review! We are glad you had a great time and found Sarah helpfull. We make sure to pass this lovely words onto her and are sure, that these compliments will make her day too. Thanks for your fantastic feedback and visit.
Written 15 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 319
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

ODYSSEY SENSORY MAZE: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Odyssey Sensory Maze



All Queenstown HotelsQueenstown Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Queenstown
All things to do in Queenstown
Day Trips in QueenstownZoos & Aquariums in Queenstown
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire