We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fear Factory Queenstown

Is this your business?
54 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
+64 3-442 8666
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Good way to pass a rainy day

Definitely don’t go if you’re afraid of being touched or loud noises. Entertaining and something... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Jenna N
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Fear Factory Queenstowen

Was good not to scary, but was good on a rainy day. The group of teen girls were having a great... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
lotsacats
,
New Zealand
Read all 1,092 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Experience true terror, fun and frights at Fear Factory, Queenstown's newest, scariest haunted attraction! Be brave, grab a tight hold of your best friends and enjoy the horror that lurks in our spooky halls!
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“haunted house” (114 reviews)
“red door” (21 reviews)
“horror movie” (20 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
LOCATION
54 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-442 8666
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Queenstown
from US$53.00
More Info
from US$102.40
More Info
from US$144.80
More Info
from US$144.80
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"haunted house"
in 114 reviews
"red door"
in 21 reviews
"horror movie"
in 20 reviews
"scary fun"
in 21 reviews
"scary stuff"
in 12 reviews
"scary experience"
in 18 reviews
"scariest thing"
in 25 reviews
"red light"
in 16 reviews
"great fun"
in 76 reviews
"photo pack"
in 13 reviews
"my partner"
in 51 reviews
"the staff were great"
in 12 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 22 reviews
"rainy day"
in 13 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 11 reviews
"adrenaline rush"
in 12 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 12 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Definitely don’t go if you’re afraid of being touched or loud noises. Entertaining and something different to do in Queenstown.

Thank Jenna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Was good not to scary, but was good on a rainy day. The group of teen girls were having a great time.

Thank lotsacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and i went on the evening of her birthday. I am a bit of a chicken and was worried about chickening out but it was so much fun. Very friendly staff and a great briefing that left us wondering what was behind the...More

Thank tommasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!! *clears throat Very scary indeed. Don't bring youngsters. I went there once, I chickened out. I went there twice, I survived. But it is a very spooky Haunted House.

1  Thank Ash M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went with my family-husband, 15, 11 and 9 year old. Thought my kids would handle it, but apparently not. Disappointed that when my 9 year old lost it and couldn’t continue, my husband couldn’t just leave the house with her and let the rest of...More

Thank Watties75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Watties75, Thanks for being in contact and we're sorry to read you were disappointed. As we explained before you all entered the attraction, we don't offer refunds for 'Chickening Out', and if one member of the group decides not to continue, then the rest...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walked in without a booking and was lucky enough to be there early before it became too busy. Staff were amazing and their description of the experience was perfect. The time estimated to complete the maze was spot on and instructions were simple. As for...More

Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Brilliant George M! We're so pleased to know how much you enjoyed Fear Factory Queenstownand we look forward to welcoming you back :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had such a good time here!! Quick activity before dinner. We were both genuinely frightened through the whole house. Screams followed by laughter. Very cool! Glad we chose to visit Fear factory on a trip when we didn't bring our kids as I wouldn't recommend...More

Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Shelley R, Thank you! We loved reading your review - and great to know you're still enjoying those jumps haha!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

Had an amazingly spooky time,thought l could handle it but no,sung out l chicken out about half way through,much to my daughters horror 😅 would possibly try it again to see if l could make it to the end.

1  Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Anne - Awesome! Good on you for still enjoying your time with us, even though you Chickened Out...we hope to see you again sometime for that second go:) Best wishes from all our Team here in Queenstown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Loved being frightened by your actors even when you think you're 'cool with it and expecting the next fright... they catch you unaware' Most awesome anniversary find. Thanks for the great experience. :)

Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Jan A, Our pleasure! Really pleased to read how much you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for your great comments :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Thrilling but quite time limited activity for a rainy day when other plans were cancelled. Lots of screaming and frights. Only wish it lasted a bit longer, for the price of admission....More

Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hello Julie R, We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed lots of screaming and frights during your visit :) And re your comment about the experience lasting longer - time spent in our Haunted Hallways is always under your own control, so next time please walk...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 59 hotels in Queenstown
The Lofts Apartments
300 reviews
.07 km away
Sofitel Queenstown Hotel & Spa
1,608 reviews
.12 km away
Lomond Lodge
609 reviews
.15 km away
Eichardt's Private Hotel
298 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Taj Indian Kitchen
422 reviews
.07 km away
Tandoori Palace Indian Cuisine
258 reviews
.04 km away
Mrs Ferg Beach Street
104 reviews
.04 km away
Flame Bar and Grill
2,764 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Moa Statue
99 reviews
.07 km away
Mr Whippy
21 reviews
.04 km away
Off Road Expeditions
87 reviews
.06 km away
Stu Dever Fishing Charters
155 reviews
.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
pipmcconalogue
19 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from natalieeokane | Reviewed this property |
No, too scary I think!
1
Vote
alpal78
13 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Manish_B28 | Reviewed this property |
No you can't see the actors but yes you can feel and sense them they are closer to you than you think. the don't grab you but sometime they touch your leg or shoulder. Sometime they ran beside you sometime suddenly appear... More
2
Votes
tara124428
6 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheFearFactoryTeam | Property representative |
Hi Tara12442... Maximum group sizes of 6 at one time. We don't mix groups so you will only go through with your friends or family :-). Thanks, The Fear Factory Team
2
Votes
;