We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Scary as!!!

Amazingly scary!!!!!... 100% recommend me and my friends were scared will deffinatly not sleep well... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Markerob
,
Brisbane Region, Australia
via mobile
Great

Was great, myself and the boys had a better of a afternoon there. Feeling worse for wear from the... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
stwills14
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Read all 1,141 reviews
111
All photos (111)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“haunted house”(110 reviews)
“red door”(22 reviews)
“scary fun”(20 reviews)
About
Experience true terror, fun and frights at Fear Factory, Queenstown's newest, scariest haunted attraction! Be brave, grab a tight hold of your best friends and enjoy the horror that lurks in our spooky halls!
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
54 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Website
+64 3-442 8666
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Queenstown
from US$133.30
More Info
from US$97.10
More Info
from US$63.60
More Info
from US$70.30
More Info
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,114 results
Traveller rating
905
148
31
15
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
905
148
31
15
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshaunted housered doorscary funscary stuffscary experiencescariest thingred lightphoto packmy partnergreat funthe staff were greatrainy daya lot of funadrenaline rushthese guysawesome experienceactors
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,114 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Amazingly scary!!!!!... 100% recommend me and my friends were scared will deffinatly not sleep well after being here!!

Thank Markerob
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Was great, myself and the boys had a better of a afternoon there. Feeling worse for wear from the night before we were unsure whether we should go in by glad we did

Thank stwills14
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Heard from a few people that this was worth checking out. My partner and I were the only 2 people there, so we went straight through. It’s bloody scary, I literally closed my eyes for 80% of the time bracing myself for what was coming....More

Thank kvl200988
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello kvl200988, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review here on Trip Advisor. We're pleased to know you had such a good scare in our Haunted Hallways..and re your comments about price-point, we think we are great value for money compared to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Convinced my partner this was a great idea- and it was! Staff we very in character and it made the experience that much better. You get to select what scares you the most. Ed Sheeran chickened out! Probably not for children. Quite scary as they...More

Thank Extreme-traveler101
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Extreme-traveler101! We are really pleased you enjoyed your time in our Haunted Hallways...and yes, you're right about Ed Sheeran:) Happy onward travels from all our Team here in Queenstown

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow! I had heard rumours this was scary, but was very shocked at how scary it was! Very very well done by the staff. We were screaming, hugging, laughing as we went through it. I would certainly recommend this to anyone who enjoys horror. ENTER...More

Thank disturbed_groupie666
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi disturbed_groupie666 - Thank you! We are so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your visit - and yes we agree, the photos and newly available video's are amazing!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The only thing was scary there is falling and hitting the wall! As you are walking in a very dark place while following small hardly seen red spots. I think it is money wasting experience. The people working there were nice to be fair.More

Thank Hassan A
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Hassan A, We're pleased you found our customer service good, but surprised to read the rest of your review - we can only assume that you are a person who enjoys very straightforward visual scares? Here at Fear Factory Queenstown we specialise in the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very disappointed with the experience as I had been told it was a fun thing to do. Way too expensive for what it is. We had dinner and drinks then went up to Fear Factory. Upon paying $320 for our group of eight, they briefed...More

1  Thank DA F
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

DA F, As I'm sure you remember you and your friends were advised you could not enter our attraction as a group of 8 people, owing to our safety guidelines. Unfortunately you chose to ignore our advice and all jumped in together. You had clearly...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The experience begins as you walk through the door and is excellent until the end! Really fits the theme and definitely lives up to the name of being NZ's scariest haunted house!

Thank harrisongee1998
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much harrisongee1998! Your review really made our day - we are SO pleased you agree we're New Zealand's Scariest Haunted House:) Our Team are dedicated to all things scary and love their work, as you discovered!!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Huge fan of haunted houses, probably been to 15-20 in America; this one is in a league of its own. The staff out front were wonderfully helpful in explaining the rules to insure we had the best time possible. The use of darkness all the...More

1  Thank Paul-Paulson8679
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Awesome Paul-Paulson8679 - Thank you! Your review made our day, so pleased to know how much you enjoyed your visit :-) Happy onward travels from all our Team here in Queenstown

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not suited for groups. Kicked us out after 2 minutes because one of us fell over, wonder why, the whole place is dark. No refund. Worst experience I’ve had in a long time.More

Thank J1982QNlukec
Viv S, Owner at Fear Factory Queenstown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You were very drunk and that's why you fell over. Our security video shows in detail the abhorrent behaviour of both you and your group of 'friends' - contact us if you wish to view it. Your behaviour is especially hard to understand as we...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Pip M
19 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from natalieeokane | Reviewed this property |
No, too scary I think!
1
Vote
alpal78
13 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Manish_B28 | Reviewed this property |
No you can't see the actors but yes you can feel and sense them they are closer to you than you think. the don't grab you but sometime they touch your leg or shoulder. Sometime they ran beside you sometime suddenly appear... More
2
Votes
tara124428
6 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from TheFearFactoryTeam | Property representative |
Hi Tara12442... Maximum group sizes of 6 at one time. We don't mix groups so you will only go through with your friends or family :-). Thanks, The Fear Factory Team
2
Votes