We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 37 Shotover Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-442 6699
Website
Today
08:00 - 20:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 20:00
Description:

Nomad Safaris offers guided 4WD and Quad Bike tours around the Queenstown...

Nomad Safaris offers guided 4WD and Quad Bike tours around the Queenstown Lakes area. Half or full day and charter options are available. We offer very popular tours to Lord of The Rings filming locations where you can experience the phenomenon that is LOTR. We also run tours to Skippers Canyon or Macetown where you visit old goldmining ghost towns and hear about the unique history of pioneer New Zealand and have a go at goldpanning for yourself.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.20*
and up
Glenorchy Movie Locations Tour: The Lord of the Rings
More Info
US$133.20*
and up
Half-Day Wakatipu Basin 4WD Tour from Queenstown
More Info
US$115.20*
and up
Half-Day Routeburn Track Guided Walk from Queenstown

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 738 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 554
    Excellent
  • 101
    Very good
  • 24
    Average
  • 17
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
fantastic tour

we did the half day tour with Nomad safaris, it was brilliant. Our tour guide Jenny was a fantastic driver especially through the terrifying skippers canyon. she was very friendly... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 January 2017
ajparis2017
,
Paris, France
Add Photo Write a Review

738 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 713: English reviews
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017

we did the half day tour with Nomad safaris, it was brilliant. Our tour guide Jenny was a fantastic driver especially through the terrifying skippers canyon. she was very friendly and knowledgeable about the Lord of the rings filming locations. We had a fun ride through the river as well. the views were spectacular and it was an unforgettable experience.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ajparis2017
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with such a great review! We're delighted to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time with Jenny, we will certainly pass on your kind words! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and visit us again soon. :) More 

Cheddar, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

keep the $5 for the petrol, but you owe me $180. Glenorchy tour was both a waste of time and money, which I'm now forever going to associate with these movies.

Helpful?
Thank gaidijeyayagh
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for your comment. We would very much have appreciated your contacting us first with your concerns before posting this vague, inaccurate comment. What are your issues? We get many excellent reviews about our Glenorchy tour, so we do not understand what your issues are. Please contact us to explain your concerns and we will try to... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We had a great morning with Nomad Safaris and our excellent guide Hamish! He was enthusiastic and extremely knowledgable about all things related to LOTR and Queenstown. He created a great atmosphere within our group and ensured everyone had a great time! We stopped at numerous locations around Queenstown, all offering exceptional views. There was also a morning tea and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ally S
NomadSafaris, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Ally, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and a great review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we will certainly pass on your kind words to Hamish! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and safe travels back home. :) More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Having heard a lot about the Nomad Quad biking experience, we started our day on an excited note. However, in the right beginning itself, me and another female friend of mine were asked to take the passanger seats on the buggy instead if the individual quads. This was quite shocking as we hardly did 5-10 min of training and we... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank hetaldave
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We take the safety of our clients very seriously and total discretion is left with guides, who are highly trained, to decide whether you are able to continue with the quad bike tour whilst training is undertaken. The terrain we cover is high and there are a lot of sheer drop-offs and we have to... More 

1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

This has been by far the most stupid quad biking activity ever 1) it was definitely not a 2.5 hour quad bike activity, definitely lower. 2) the instructor was very rude to us. His name was James 3) the terrain was really boring and slow 4) 0 adrenaline rush 5) even kindergarten teachers arent as strict as them 6) james... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Poras S
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We take the safety of our clients very seriously and total discretion is left with guides, who are highly trained, to decide whether you are able to continue with the quad bike tour whilst training is undertaken. The terrain we cover is high and there are a lot of sheer drop-offs and we have to... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

I am so disappointed, annoyed, angry, irritated and all other bad stuff that can come to my head! So I just did my Quad tour 15 minutes back with James and the other guy and it was so awful that I chose to take time out of my holiday to write a review first. Reason being, these guys 1st test... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JainYash
NomadSafarisQT, Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We take the safety of our clients very seriously and total discretion is left with guides, who are highly trained, to decide whether you are able to continue with the quad bike tour whilst training is undertaken. The terrain we cover is high and there are a lot of sheer drop-offs and we have to... More 

Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017

We booked a combo tour of Shotover Jet and a 4X4 experience with Nomad Safaris. Our driver picked us up from the Shotover Jet location and we began our tour. It was raining the day of our tour so it didn't make for a fun experience. But, our driver did his best to make the experience as nice as he... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allyson H
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Allyson, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. Unfortunately the weather is out of our control, and I'm glad our driver made the experience as nice as possible for you. Our Essential Queenstown Combo is designed to give customers who are on a shorter time frame the adrenaline on the Shotover Jet and a... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Quad biking with Matt and Hamish was absolutely fantastic. These professional, friendly and down to earth guys made this adventure top notch. Awesome fun, spectacular views and exhilarating fun on the quads. Would do this again in a heartbeat. Super thanks, Sean and Bek

Helpful?
Thank Sean S
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Sean and Bek, thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a fantastic review! Excellent to hear you had such a great time on our quad safari, we will certainly pass on your kind words to Matt and Hamish! We hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown and safe travels home. :) More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Matt and Hamish were top notch guides. Taught us some skills and techniques before getting out into the course. A+++ highly recommendable! Get on it!!!

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Amy, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a great review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we will definitely pass your kind words on to Matt and Hamish. More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Matt and Hamish were both very informative and responsible guides! Expertly assessed our abilities and tailored our experience accordingly! Would recommend them to anyone travelling to Queenstown! Maddie from Australia

Helpful?
Thank Maddie T
NomadSafarisQT, Front Office Manager at Nomad Safaris, responded to this review

Hi Maddie, Happy Australia Day! Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with a great review, we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your quad safari with us. We will certainly pass your kind words on to Matt and Hamish and we hope you enjoy the rest of your time in Queenstown! :) More 

Travellers who viewed Nomad Safaris also viewed

 

Been to Nomad Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Nomad Safaris and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Nomad Safaris staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?