We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: The Station Building | Cnr Shotover and Camp Streets, Queenstown 9348, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-442 7318
Website
Today
08:00 - 19:30
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 08:00 - 19:30
Description:

Challenge Rafting operates exciting half-day trips on the Shotover and...

Challenge Rafting operates exciting half-day trips on the Shotover and Kawarau Rivers in Queenstown. The Kawarau River is suited to first time rafters or those wanting a taste of rafting and is accessed by vehicle. The Shotover River is accessed by vehicle through the historic Skippers Canyon forged out by goldminers during the big Gold Rush. This road is inaccessible in winter and for this reason Heli-rafting is offered in winter on the Shotover River.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$243.76*
and up
Helicopter and Shotover River Rafting Combo from Queenstown
More Info
US$164.67*
and up
Half-Day Shotover River Rafting Trip from Queenstown
More Info
US$164.67*
and up
Kawarau River Rafting from Queenstown

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 79 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 47
    Excellent
  • 21
    Very good
  • 6
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Best experience!

Our whole white water rafting experience with this company was amazing! Sam, one of the guides was hilarious and absolutely brilliant on the bus ride to the white water rafting... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
mia062015
,
Brisbane, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Our whole white water rafting experience with this company was amazing! Sam, one of the guides was hilarious and absolutely brilliant on the bus ride to the white water rafting. He made the 40 minute journey up feel like 10 minutes, by having the whole bus laughing the entire journey! Sally our guide on the raft was just as amazing!... More 

Helpful?
Thank mia062015
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review

Hi mia062015, thanks for taking the time to review your rafting trip. We are so happy to hear that Sally and Sam made your rafting trip so brilliant and that you had such an awesome time. We hope you had a great time in Queenstown and look forward to having you raft with us again in the future. Thanks again... More 

Deloraine, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This trip was amazing!! We rafted the shot over river, had such a great time, highly recommended! Had never done any rafting before but was easy as we had a great guide

Helpful?
Thank HLE-94
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review

Hi HLE-94, thanks very much for taking the time to review us. We are so glad you had an awesome raft trip and that your guide made it that much better. We always love getting such positive feedback. Thanks for choosing to rafting with us and hope you enjoyed your time in Queenstown. More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We rafted with Challenge - HUGE shoutout to Sally our guide who was epic!!! We had such a great time. Only issue was with the company, Challenge. We booked a heli-raft which was cancelled. Of course it can't go ahead without the numbers, we would never expect it to. But no one told us it was cancelled until we said... More 

Helpful?
Thank travellovex4240
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review

Hi travellovex4240, thank you for providing us with this feedback. So glad you enjoyed the rafting trip with Sally. She is great! We are sorry that the helicopter portion was unconfirmed, we do ask all customers to reconfirm 24 hours prior to their trip so we can advise of things such as this. We won’t cancel our helicopter portions until... More 

Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We have rafted before but have never experience a raft like this one. Our guide chief was absolutely hilarious and made sure we were all kept safe even we we went the wrong way on his directions. Thanks for a great day!

Helpful?
Thank SxcSarah23
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review

Hi SxcSarah23, thanks very much for taking the time to review us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed rafting with us. We are so glad Chief made the trip that much more enjoyable, we also think he is brilliant and will be sure to pass on your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Queenstown. Thanks from... More 

melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Just had a good rafting trip with Sally, who was an excellent and fun guide. You get 3treats in one...firstly, the 45 min mini-bus ride along Skippers Canyon Road is spectacular and rather hairy at the same time. Then the scenery along the Shotover river is superb, through the canyon and gorge, billy-goats on the hills, and under the Canyon... More 

Helpful?
Thank sammells
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Sammells, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your positive feedback and are so happy you enjoyed the trip. We also love the adventurous drive into Skippers Canyon. How awesome that you have also rafted the Zambezi! The Shotover River is definitely a different experience with its unique scenery. Thanks again. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

Shot over river rafting: Very good afternoon's activity, despite a bruised foot in the final Cascade. Level 3-4 but fine for a reasonably fit and willing adult beginner. A few did fall in; no capsizes or serious injuries. Exhilarating but made as safe as any such activity can be. The old gold miners' road down there has some very big... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stanleyba
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Stanley, Thank you for taking the time to share your rafting experience with us. We agree that the drive down through Skippers Canyon is thrilling and adds to the fun. There are lots of hidden gems and history throughout the trip. No matter the ability, so long as you are water confident and can swim, rafting should be on... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2017

First you trek up one of the most dangerous roads in the world to get to the launching point. This might be the scariest part but we made it with little difficulty. Our raft was led by the incredible Tim who never let us crash once. But they prepare you for the worst so we felt a little scared that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joe M
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Joe, Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. Your rafting adventure sounds brilliant! From what you have described, it sounds like Tim truly looked after you all. The Skippers Canyon Road and the Shotover River is such a magical place and we are glad you got to taste a little bit of New Zealand. More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2016

We booked this as a family of 4 - the two of us aged close to 50 and our two teenage daughters. What a fantastic time we had! Really well organised and our guide was so professional. The safety briefing was excellent and very thorough and the staff are all clearly well trained and experienced. We had a glorious day... More 

Helpful?
Thank Feliss2014
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is amazing to hear your time on the river made you feel like you can take on the world. The water is truly a powerful thing. We agree that no matter the weather, Rafting is still a lot of fun! We hope you enjoyed the rest of... More 

South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

My friends and I had a fantastic experience during our excursion with Challenge Rafting. The leaders kept the energy levels and excitement up during the trip and really engaged with the rafters in the boat. The rapids made for a fun and exhilarating trip that did not require previous rafting experience. Safety checks were conducted, equipment was reviewed by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Madeline P
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

We had an amazing experience with challenge rafting in queenstown. We did the heli- rafting and highly recommend it. Totally professional, totally awesome. Just the right amount of challenge and a lot of fun. Safety procedures were taken and never were nervous. Shout out to our raft guide tom. You rock.

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra C
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at Challenge Rafting, responded to this review

Hi Alexandra, thanks for taking the time to write us review about your Heli Rafting tour. We are proud to hear you received a professional customer service experience and had a blast out on the river. We are really lucky to have such a great team. We agree, Tom rocks! More 

Travellers who viewed Challenge Rafting also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Challenge Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Challenge Rafting staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?