We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Dunedin, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-477 9083
Website
Today
06:00 - 21:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 06:00 - 21:00
Description:

Here at Headfirst Travel Dunedin we bring alive local legends with a range...

Here at Headfirst Travel Dunedin we bring alive local legends with a range of guided tours that include most of Dunedin’s main attractions.

Join us on our guided tour up to the grand Larnach's Castle, which also includes a city sights tour. You can also add in a tour at the sweet Cadbury World and an exciting tour of the Speight's Brewery. Or take a ride on the spectacular Taieri Gorge Railway or in a Silver Fern Railcar. Explore the Elm wildlife or take a tour of the historic Olveston House.

See our many cruise ship excursions or hop onto our Bottom Bus and explore NZ’s deepest south.

We have something for everyone!

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 50 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 30
    Excellent
  • 10
    Very good
  • 2
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
great tour

Had a blast with the headfirst guys. The drivers i had throughout the day were Petra and Weetax and they were just fab, very informative and helpful! The parks themselves were... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
GiSanders26
,
Sydney, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

50 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a blast with the headfirst guys. The drivers i had throughout the day were Petra and Weetax and they were just fab, very informative and helpful! The parks themselves were fantastic as well! A great day out from Rotorua!

Helpful?
Thank GiSanders26
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The other day i used the City Hopper for some sight seeing here in Dubedin. I do not have my own car so it was very convienent to get to places. I absolutly loved the Hopper. It is an historic red double-decker bus with its own personality. Upstairs you could see a lot of Dunedin without anything blocking your view.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JessicaS1312
HeadfirstTravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this review

Kia Ora! We love to hear that we are creating memorable positive experiences for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Many thanks and Warm Regards from the Headfirst Travel Team More 

Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Run two busses on an 8 stop course, at least one is so vintage that the very nice driving lady's comment was difficult to understand. And the return shuttle to the harbour was delayed - no apologies. Pity!

Helpful?
Thank Rudolf J
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would like to apologize that your time with us did not live up to expectations. Our goal is to always provide our passengers with a positive memorable experience. Please rest assured that your feedback is being taken seriously and we are working on a solution to... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This made our trip to Dunedin VERY much worth it. I have attached a photo taken during the Larnarche Castle tour. HIGHLY RECOMMEND the 2 tours we took!!!

Helpful?
Thank deming14440
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this review

Kia Ora! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us as well as at Larnach Castle. It is certainly one of the best spots to visit in Dunedin. Kind Regards, Sylvie More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Unbelievable that they could charge almost $50 for a couple hour train ride to see (mainly) lost of tree tops. While New Zealand isn't a good value for most things, the train ride is the worst value of all.

Helpful?
Thank Sandi S
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this review

Kia Ora! Thank you for your review. However, the review you have left does not seem to be for one of our tours as we do not offer a tour that fits the description you have left. Kind Regards, Headfirst Travel More 

Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We paid $40. each for bus ride from the cruise port to on off bus situation in the town. We could have walked the town in a few minutes time but my real complaint is that the bus we were on was so loud that my ears hurt for two days afterwards. The bus driver had volume at top and... More 

Helpful?
Thank christyjotravels
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this review

Kia Ora! Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of the problem you had during your time with us. Feedback like this is always helpful to ensure that we are providing our passengers with positive memorable experiences and improve upon the services we deliver where necessary. We are very disappointed to hear that... More 

Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2017

I did this tour of Dunedin and Larnach Castle on my last day in Dunedin. It was a great experie3nce and good value. Our guide Dick was terrific, really good-humoured and knowledgeable and clearly had a passion for his city and for Larnach. This is a real must if in Dunedin

Helpful?
Thank DerekLeebosh
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this review

Kia Ora! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Many thanks and warm regards from the Headfirst Travel Team. More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2016

This is a nice attraction and piece of early history of new zealand. The castle itself is majestic with nice open views of the ocean and the peninsula. The tour guide was good and told us the history of the castle and the town. Lots of antiques to see in displays, photographs from the 1800s, muskets and wedding ornaments from... More 

Helpful?
Thank CKMurray13
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this review

Kia Ora! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your day with us! Many thanks and Warm Regards, The Headfirst Travel Team More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2016

A great way to spend a day in Dunedin. We started the day with a tour to Larnach Castle with great insight into Dunedin and the castle's history thanks to our guide. Then we dis a tour of the Otago peninsula with two great guides who explained to us all there is to know about the wild life of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank sollerclaire
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your day with us and Elm Wildlife! Many thanks and warm regards, The Headfirst Travel Team More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2016

larnarchs castle . great if you want an insight into early settlers in new zealand. great views and history penguins elm wild life tours offers local wildlife visit to habitats of seals penguins sea lions etc.

Helpful?
Thank Ash K
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this review

Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We appreciate all feedback that we receive from our guests. Many thanks and warm regards, The Headfirst Travel Team More 

Travellers who viewed Headfirst Travel also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Port Chalmers, Otago Region
 

Been to Headfirst Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Headfirst Travel and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Headfirst Travel staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?