We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Headfirst Travel

Dunedin, New Zealand
+64 3-477 9083
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful and interesting tour

We've been picked up on time at our hostel, by the very friendly guide, to go to Larnach Castle... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
MerlinVercingetorix
Wonderful morning

We were collected and taken to Larnach Castle and then a city tour. Our driver/guide was very... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Kerry T
via mobile
Read all 54 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Here at Headfirst Travel Dunedin we bring alive local legends with a range of guided tours that include most of Dunedin’s main attractions. Join us on our guided tour up to the grand Larnach's Castle, which also includes a city sights tour. You can also add in a tour at the sweet Cadbury World and an exciting tour of the Speight's Brewery. Or take a ride on the spectacular Taieri Gorge Railway or in a Silver Fern Railcar. Explore the Elm wildlife or take a tour of the historic Olveston House. See our many cruise ship excursions or hop onto our Bottom Bus and explore NZ’s deepest south. We have something for everyone!
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 06:00 - 21:00
LOCATION
Dunedin, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-477 9083
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've been picked up on time at our hostel, by the very friendly guide, to go to Larnach Castle. Although it is was in renovation, it's a lovely place, well maintained, with a beautiful view over the Otago Peninsula and Dunedin. The gardens were quite...More

Thank MerlinVercingetorix
botbusman, General Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Merlin, Thanks for taking the time to review our Larnach Castle Dunedin combo tour with Cadburys. We take pride in showing off Dunedin to it's best and we are very happy you enjoyed your tour with us. Our guides Bring Alive Local Legends every...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were collected and taken to Larnach Castle and then a city tour. Our driver/guide was very informative and easy to listen to. Larnach Castle was fantastic as was the city sights tour. Excellent value for money. Thoroughly recommend it.More

Thank Kerry T
Headfirst T, Reservations consultant at Headfirst Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia Ora Kerry, It was great having you on board! We are pleased to hear you had a lovely experience. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We wish you all the best and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Warmest regards...More

Reviewed 16 June 2017

My friend & I booked this tour several weeks earlier by phone, & receipt wasn't forwarded so had to ph again & ask for it as needed to match timings. On the morning of pickup we hurried down our breakfast & raced back to our...More

Thank marrekach
Headfirst T, Reservation Consultant at Headfirst Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Ora! Thank you for your feedback, it is very much appreciated. It was a pleasure having you on board and we are glad you have enjoyed your tour. We are sorry to hear you were misinformed and this caused you so much trouble. Our...More

Reviewed 25 April 2017

Had a blast with the headfirst guys. The drivers i had throughout the day were Petra and Weetax and they were just fab, very informative and helpful! The parks themselves were fantastic as well! A great day out from Rotorua!

Thank GiSanders26
Reviewed 30 March 2017 via mobile

The other day i used the City Hopper for some sight seeing here in Dubedin. I do not have my own car so it was very convienent to get to places. I absolutly loved the Hopper. It is an historic red double-decker bus with its...More

Thank JessicaS1312
HeadfirstTravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Kia Ora! We love to hear that we are creating memorable positive experiences for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Many thanks and Warm Regards from the Headfirst Travel Team

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Run two busses on an 8 stop course, at least one is so vintage that the very nice driving lady's comment was difficult to understand. And the return shuttle to the harbour was delayed - no apologies. Pity!More

Thank Rudolf J
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We would like to apologize that your time with us did not live up to expectations. Our goal is to always provide our passengers with a positive memorable experience. Please rest assured...More

Reviewed 14 February 2017

This made our trip to Dunedin VERY much worth it. I have attached a photo taken during the Larnarche Castle tour. HIGHLY RECOMMEND the 2 tours we took!!!

Thank deming14440
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Kia Ora! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us as well as at Larnach Castle. It is certainly one of the best spots to visit in Dunedin. Kind Regards, Sylvie

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Unbelievable that they could charge almost $50 for a couple hour train ride to see (mainly) lost of tree tops. While New Zealand isn't a good value for most things, the train ride is the worst value of all.

Thank Sandi S
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2017

Kia Ora! Thank you for your review. However, the review you have left does not seem to be for one of our tours as we do not offer a tour that fits the description you have left. Kind Regards, Headfirst Travel

Reviewed 13 February 2017

We paid $40. each for bus ride from the cruise port to on off bus situation in the town. We could have walked the town in a few minutes time but my real complaint is that the bus we were on was so loud that...More

Thank christyjotravels
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Kia Ora! Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise us of the problem you had during your time with us. Feedback like this is always helpful to ensure that we are providing our passengers with positive memorable experiences and...More

Reviewed 15 January 2017

I did this tour of Dunedin and Larnach Castle on my last day in Dunedin. It was a great experie3nce and good value. Our guide Dick was terrific, really good-humoured and knowledgeable and clearly had a passion for his city and for Larnach. This is...More

Thank DerekLeebosh
Headfirsttravel, Front Office Manager at Headfirst Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Kia Ora! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Many thanks and warm regards from the Headfirst Travel Team.

Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kathy C
4 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Kathy C |
Thanks for that Sylvie
0
Votes
Sharyn C
27 December 2015|
Answer
Response from HeadfirstTravel | Property representative |
Hi, if you please go to our website and you will find all the details you require. The specific Cruise Ship bookings page contains tours designed to fit with the arrival and departure of the cruise ships that dock at Port... More
0
Votes