We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Back to Nature Tours

Dunedin, New Zealand
More
About Back to Nature Tours
Back to Nature Tours conducts nature based tours of Dunedin and the Otago Peninsula, Catlins and Stewart Island. Join us on one of our world famous cruise ship excursions that include Dunedin's best tour attractions, scenery and wildlife. We also organize private tours for individuals or groups that are tailor made to make your experience in Dunedin one you will never forget. We are a Qualmark Endorsed New Zealand owned business - Qualmark is New Zealand tourism's official quality assurance organisation, providing a trusted guide to quality travel experiences. We are Department of Conservation Permit holders and have a Marine Mammal permit - allowing us to guide visitors legally in some of New Zealand’s most remote and beautiful locations.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Travellers talk about
282Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 234
  • 34
  • 10
  • 4
  • 0
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Madeline Q wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Ben, my knowledgable guide started me off with Baldwin Street, then down Otago Uni and around the beautiful Peninsula before stopping at Larnach. He left me a tip to go up the castle tower and the 360 view was simply breathtaking. He then drove around the inlets and I enjoyed scenic views of the waterfronts. At the albatross colony, luck wasnt with us that day due to the strong winds so we caught sight of only a couple of fleeting ones over the hill. At the Penguin Place, we made many attempt-stops to look for them. Saw one hiding inside their nest and another further out in the open via binoculars. Spotted seals along the way too. At the last point, there had to be a bit of waiting to see the penguins in action. Ben was patient and wanted tourists to get the most out of the tour. Unfortunately I had an appointment to go to so we didnt stay long enough to catch sight of them. Good excuse to come back on this tour in future with family/friends when the borders reopen. Definitely gotta see more of the albatross and penguins again!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Back2NatureTours, Chief TA Responder at Back to Nature Tours
Responded 15 Dec 2020
Hi Madeline, Thanks for the 5 start review - it inspires us! I'll pass your feedback on to Ben today:) Its been a quiet start to the season but with forward bookings picking up we are exited about the future - hopefully your back down this way so we can treat you to some true southern hospitality. Haste Ye Back!
Read more
Brian Carlmichal wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Awesome tour, it was just me, my partner and driver/tour guide/overall friend Ben. He was very knowledgeable about the places and wildlife, because of him and this tour we were able to see yellow eyed penguins, albatrosses, sea lions and the only "castle" in New Zealand for the very first time! I highly recommend this tour company to all! great service! P.S. Give Ben a raise
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Back2NatureTours, Chief TA Responder at Back to Nature Tours
Responded 15 Dec 2020
Hi Brian, Thanks for the 5 star review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us in Ōtepoti - Haste Ye Back!
Read more
Teresa L wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Highly recommended day your - Chris was nice, friendly and very informative. Will definitely recommend this to my friends.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Back2NatureTours, Cheif TA responder at Back to Nature Tours
Responded 15 Dec 2020
Thanks for your 5 start review - you've made our day. Next time your down south make sure to look us up!
Read more
Anne M wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Our tour guide was brilliant. I loved the tour but was a bit disappointed that we didn't have tickets to see the albatross. Our guide managed to spot two flying in from the sea and they were magnificent. Larnach castle was suburb.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Back2NatureTours, Chief TA Responder at Back to Nature Tours
Responded 15 Dec 2020
Thanks for the great 5 star review, it makes our porridge taste sweeter in the morning:) Sadly the Albatross Centre's 1 hour wildlife tour isn't included in the tour price. We take our guests to the best viewing point depending on weather conditions so were super happy you managed to see a couple! Your a Back to Nature Legend Haste Ye Back!
Read more
Andy T wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We were very fortunate to see the both sealions and fur seals on a picture perfect beach on the Otago peninsula.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Back2NatureTours, Chief TA Responder at Back to Nature Tours
Responded 29 Mar 2020
Hi richardtL9, Thanks for the 5 star review. You never really know what your going to see on our tours, I guess that's why our guides love taking travelers out onto the peninsula. Great to see you saw to NZ fur seals and NZ Sea-lions, they both have their own amazing stories that we love talking about. Your a person that lives for the moment, we're glad you enjoyed your day here. Haste Ye Back!
Read more
Previous
123456