We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Natural High

Christchurch, New Zealand
About Natural High
Huge selection of leading-brand bikes & accessories including mountain, performance carbon road, hybrid, touring bikes, children's bikes & accessories for hire. Secondhand bikes for sale, bike workshop, luggage storage. We also offer self-guided & guided cycle tours. One day cycling tours around Christchurch. Campervan rental.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Natural High
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
Traveller rating
  • 56
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sheree H wrote a review May 2021
Matamata, New Zealand2 contributions
Our group of 3 couples ditched the kids and did the Otago Rail Trail with Kirke as our Captain. Not only was the scenery AMAZING but the tour was so well organised with Captain Kirke taking us to great eateries, Curling and cool quaint pubs. 5 of us hired e-bikes (as we were there for the social occasion) and this proved to be a good idea day 2 with a head on wind. The baking provided by Cappy along the trail was a bonus. Within one week of finishing we had already planned our next biking trip with Natural High.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2021
Tom Williams wrote a review Jun 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions
Thanks for arranging this ride for me. I had a great time in the Canterbury area. The bike was an excellent fit for me and the riding I wanted to do. I will be back in the future to do some other rides in the South Island.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Faith wrote a review Feb 2020
2 contributions
Hired a bike for a month and despite a few hiccups with it the trip was outstanding and the owner Steve was very helpful and flexible. Really reasonably priced. I am already planning to go back and will definitely hire Natural High again!
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Response from Natural H, Owner at Natural High
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Thanks! Great to hear you had an awesome cycling adventure. The team look forward to your return.
Read more
Bella J wrote a review Aug 2019
Blue Mountains, Australia27 contributions3 helpful votes
Bikes are expensive to rent in comparison to other places for what you get. Owner was rude when I enquired about hire and purchase of bikes. The bikes were rusted, in poor condition, tires had almost no tred left and chain looked like it has never seen oil in it's lifetime, the bikes were also covered in mud and had probably never been cleaned or serviced. Wouldn't recommend unless safety isn't high on your priorities. Ended up with a better bike in better condition elsewhere for the same price and better service
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Response from Natural H, Manager at Natural High
Responded 19 Oct 2019
This is completely unreasonable and unfair feedback posted on this forum regarding our bike fleet. 1. This person was not a customer and did not experience bike hire from Natural High. 2. Client safety is always of concern of Natural High. 3. The owner was not rude to the visitor. 4. The comments are not true and this rating is undeserved. It is evident from our other reviews this is definitely not our level of service or the experience of our customers. It is unfortunate Natural High did not have an option to suit this individuals personal budgetary constraints when they briefly called into our branch without any booking or prior communication with us. We were unable to offer a suitable option at such short notice for this person’s late request to fit their budget and it is a real shame that as a result they have misinterpreted this as “rude” and vented their frustration on this forum without any regard to its potential impact. We request the individual to contact us directly via email or phone, our contact details are on our website, to discuss this further so we can gain an understanding as we are confused and very disappointed by the comments stated here. It appears the individual may have looked at some bikes recently returned from hire in our return bike stands when they briefly visited but their description of the bikes is highly exaggerated and untrue. The bikes in our return stands had obviously not yet been through our workshop / cleaned and serviced after being thoroughly enjoyed by our customers on their NZ biking adventures. All our bikes are always serviced, cleaned and prepared to be ready for hire / second-hand sale. This person has assumed that this post hire state is the condition our bikes are hired / sold in. We give reassurance that this is definitely not the case. If this person had in fact hired Natural High bikes they would then be able to fairly and more reasonably judge and then give honest feedback on the condition of our rental fleet and “what you get”. It is unfortunate that any issues or concerns were not raised with us at the time in person so we could address and clarify these assumptions. Natural High has been operating since 1996 and we pride ourselves on having the best serviced fleet of bikes in NZ. Every bike is fully serviced before every hire by one of our qualified bike mechanics. We also hold a second hand dealers licence for the sale of our ex-rental fleet. In addition, we are aware of our impact on the environment Natural High is an Official Partner to the Cycle Trail, a partner with the Summit Road Society, a member of Tourism Aotearoa, CTONZ (Cycle Touring Operators of New Zealand) and is Qualmark NZ Endorsed and with a Silver Sustainable Tourism Business Award. We would gladly welcome this person back to our Christchurch branch to explain and actually experience our service. We look forward to hearing from them directly soon.
Read more
Tim E wrote a review Apr 2019
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom1 contribution
Rented 2 bikes and a trailer over 28days on a self organised tour. It's not cheap and you pay a price for the rentals but there was no cheaper alternative and quite a niche area so I can understand why. Good quality equipment, professional service. Friendly customer service especially the cup of tea and free shower at the end! Would recommend Natural High for a pleasant seemless premium service with good customer service should this be required. Had no issues on the New Zealand roads with (mostly) curteous car and lorry drivers. Despite all the bad press it is a much less busy and more pleasant place to cycle compared to anywhere in the UK. Thanks.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
Response from NaturalHighnz, Owner at Natural High
Responded 11 Apr 2019
Thank you kindly for your review and feedback.
Read more