We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
16
All photos (16)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average5%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“little river”(3 reviews)
“day trip”(2 reviews)
“driver”(13 reviews)
About
Take a day out to get a taste of Banks Peninsula adjacent to Christchurch city with our Akaroa Shuttle service. Leaving the city skirting around the base of the port hills, travel through leafy outlying suburbs, prime farmland and lakes Ellesmere...more
Contact
Christchurch 8145, New Zealand
Website
+64 800 500 929
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Christchurch
from US$36.70
More Info
from US$19.65
More Info
from US$38.40
More Info
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
19
6
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
19
6
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews little river day trip driver commentary scenery
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Booked this trip through over accomodation and was very happy they offered to collect us from here. The tour guide was great as he described the scenery that we were passing and also provided local knowledge about where to go and other ideas for our...More

Thank FredP1293
Nicky H, Manager at Akaroa Shuttle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for the fabulous review. We are pleased you enjoyed our service.

Reviewed 11 March 2018

We booked Akaroa Shuttle for transportation from our cruise ship docked Akaroa for roundtrip to Christchurch. The cost for our group of 5 was less than the cruise excursion and had better departure times both ways. Unfortunately, we were not able to dock in Akaroa...More

Thank Larry W
Nicky H, Manager at Akaroa Shuttle, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Larry We were sorry you were unable to visit stunning Akaroa on your cruise. We do hope you have another opportunity, Akaroa is not to be missed.

Reviewed 25 February 2018

We are sad to see this service cut back ,but I guess that is what happens to a small village of 600 people . The bus leaves Christchurch in the morning and returns from Akaroa in the evening .So residents you can’t go over and...More

Thank Julia G
Nicky H, Manager at Akaroa Shuttle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Julia, thanks for your feedback. We have been operating one return service from Christchurch daily for several years now. We depart Christchurch at 8.30am, and return from Akaroa at 3.45pm. Unfortunately there is little demand for a morning service from Akaroa at this time,...More

Reviewed 27 January 2018

I booked the shuttle a few weeks in advance, way before I arrived in NZ. They will collect you from multiple city centre pick up points, the shuttle bus is lovely and clean. The driver was excellent, friendly, professional. Left in the afternoon right on...More

Thank CathCarr
Nicky H, Manager at Akaroa Shuttle, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thanks for reviewing our Akaroa Shuttle service. We are pleased your travel with us more than met your expectations, and you found our driver friendly and professional. We hope to see you again on our tours.

Reviewed 30 December 2017

The trip to Akaroa from Christchurch was good, however I felt abit of motion sickness and tried to see if the air conditioner works. Thankfully, we arrived without drama. The trip back however was marred by the driver who was condescending if not out right...More

Thank CiiruK
Reviewed 1 December 2017

If you do not have a car or you want to enjoy the scenery to go to Akaroa, Bank's Peninsula or Little River catch the Akaroa Shuttle. Safe and knowledgeable drivers who are happy to pick you up or drop you off on the way...More

1  Thank nevslife
Nicky H, Manager at Akaroa Shuttle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our service. We are pleased you enjoyed your trip to Akaroa and found Banks Peninsula and the Akaroa township and scenery amazing. It is always great to hear reports of our drivers providing a safe and knowledgeable...More

Reviewed 21 April 2017

We booked the Akaroa Shuttle on-line after reading some reviews (MUCH cheaper than through the cruise line) and were thoroughly delighted with our choice. We were greeted at the dock in Akaroa and had the picturesque drive to/from Christchurch. Every detail was carefully managed: they...More

2  Thank MaryC508
Nicky H, Manager at Akaroa Shuttle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you for reviewing our service. We are pleased our service met your expectations and contributed to a successful excursion to Christchurch. We take pride in ensuring our passengers enjoy their travel with us.

Reviewed 17 March 2017

Prior to booking this service i emailed the company a number of times to confirm timings particularly because my friend and i were booked to go on the Swim with the Dolphin excursion - i was assured that given the timings of this excursion the...More

Thank RaRaUk
Nicky H, Manager at Akaroa Shuttle, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Thank you for the review. We were sorry to learn that you had such an unfortunate experience with our service. The service you received was not up to our usual high standard and we will be investigating to find out what happened on this occasion....More

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Two of us took the shuttle from Christchurch to Akaroa, and we had several problems on the trip. Our driver, Charlie, was personable and a careful driver, which we appreciated. However, the bus had several problems. First, it had no seat belts. Although maybe NZ...More

Thank vectorvictor
Nicky H, Manager at Akaroa Shuttle, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thank you for reviewing our service. We are sorry your experience on this day did not meet your expectations. Drop offs at the Airport are a part of our standard service on request. Unfortunately at busy times this can lead to some delays. The issue...More

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Taking this shuttle is a nice way to start your trip to Akaroa. The Driver told us a lot about Christchurch and the little towns and landscaped as we were driving through which was really nice and made the time goes past fast. We also...More

Thank lis5689
Nicky H, Manager at Akaroa Shuttle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you for reviewing our Akaroa Shuttle service. We are pleased you enjoyed the picturesque drive over to Banks Peninsula. The view from the Hill Top is definitely stunning.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 147 nearby hotels
Lilybrook Motel
36 reviews
.54 km away
Riverstone Motel
82 reviews
1.13 km away
Rangiora Lodge Motel
40 reviews
1.42 km away
Pegasus Gateway Motels & Apartments
46 reviews
6.31 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,195 nearby restaurants
A Pocket Full of Spices
219 reviews
1.29 km away
Nom Nom Kitchen
122 reviews
1.25 km away
Fools Of Desire
115 reviews
1.38 km away
The Plough Restaurant
142 reviews
1.28 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 462 nearby attractions
Ohoka Farmers Market
36 reviews
5.50 km away
Pegasus Golf & Sports Club
13 reviews
7.50 km away
The Town Hall Cinemas
33 reviews
1.23 km away
Breedenbroek Gardens
6 reviews
5.46 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Linda P
28 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Nicky H | Property representative |
There is a 8.15am pick up at the bus interchange, see website for more pickups
0
Votes
cat749
23 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from LeeMcKerracher | Reviewed this property |
Hi, We left Akaroa at 4.00pm and the bus stops on the way back at a cheese place (which is pretty good), so we got back to Christchurch at about 5.40pm but it depends where you get off the shuttle for your final arrival... More
0
Votes