Akaroa Shuttle

Akaroa Shuttle, Christchurch: Address, Phone Number, Akaroa Shuttle Reviews: 4/5

Akaroa Shuttle
4
About
Take a day out to get a taste of Banks Peninsula adjacent to Christchurch city with our Akaroa Shuttle service. Leaving the city skirting around the base of the port hills, travel through leafy outlying suburbs, prime farmland and lakes Ellesmere and Forsyth. Stop at the historic railway station in Little River. Arriving in Akaroa there is plenty of time for wandering around the quaint streets, enjoying the many shops or taking a harbour cruise.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

4.0
43 reviews
Excellent
24
Very good
11
Average
2
Poor
4
Terrible
2

Paul40
York, UK12 contributions
Jan 2020
A delightful area with pleasant walking and great views, you must try Murphys fish and chips up the side street, the best i have ever had in this part of the world
Written 20 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to Akaroa and were able to take in the splendid views.
Written 22 March 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

bravegirltravels
London, UK206 contributions
Feb 2020 • Solo
Prompt pick up and drop off.
Friendly driver and knowledgable.
Good service.
Booked off book me website and was bargain at $28 return.
Written 4 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed the service provided by our driver.
Written 6 February 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

laelaok
Toronto, Canada44 contributions
Jan 2020
Very easy to book, friendly + informative driver (Paula) who pulled over at a great photo opp for everyone. The morning shuttle that departs outside The Canterbury Museum at 830am gives you plenty of time to catch the 11am Black Cat Cruise in Akaroa as it drops you off right at the pier.
Written 28 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for reviewing our Akaroa Shuttle service. We are pleased you found our driver friendly, booking was easy and the timing worked for your cruise. Akaroa is a beautiful town as I am sure you discovered for yourself.
Written 29 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Nick P
6 contributions
Jan 2020 • Solo
I had a wonderful experience with Akaroa Shuttle. The driver was so kind and friendly and knew a lot about Christchurch's history. We had a scenic photostop and I was able to be dropped off at the Christchurch Airport, making Akaroa a great daytrip for anyone with a late afternoon flight.
Written 26 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

mariorus27
14 contributions
Nov 2019
A convenient and reliable way to get from Christchurch to Akaroa. The shuttle arrived on time and the driver was polite, informative and drove to ensure the passengers were comfortable. Have used them before and will use them again on my next trip.
Written 4 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your review. We are pleased our service once again met your expectations and you enjoyed your travel and the service provided by our driver.
Written 5 December 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

plumbob76
Christchurch, New Zealand26 contributions
Jul 2019 • Solo
Top tip: If you're travelling to Akaroa in winter ignore Akaroa Shuttle and book direct with Akaroa French Connection.

During the winter months both companies use the same bus. Akaroa Shuttle's role is to collect your money and then, if you're lucky, pass on your details to Akaroa French Connection (who then take you over to Akaroa). In my case Akaroa Shuttle didn't pass on my details and I was left behind. Not impressed.

We eventually got it sorted and I can vouch for a good level of service from Akaroa French Connection.

I've deliberately left a few days between travelling and posting this review to let Akaroa Shuttle get in touch with an apology but I haven't heard from them.

It'll be direct bookings with Akaroa French Connection for me from now on.
Written 9 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We were sorry to learn of the difficulties you experienced with your travel to Akaroa recently. Unfortunately we were unaware of this. All our bookings go directly to French Connection who then schedule to pick passengers up. It seems on this occasion there was an oversight. If you wish to contact us direct we can investigate further to ensure this does not happen again. I trust you were still able to enjoy your day in beautiful Akaroa.
Written 10 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Pauline S
Brisbane, Australia27 contributions
Mar 2019 • Couples
Booked 2 adults with 2 bikes. Told a trailer would be available for bikes. Bus turns up no trailer. Oh just fit your bikes in under the bus. No apology and no help. Use someone else is my recommendation.
Written 4 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are sorry that our service did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Along with our trailers we also provide under bus space for bikes and other luggage depending on bookings. This was the case on this occasion. We trust this did not deter from your experience on Banks Peninsula..
Written 5 March 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Fred P
Victoria, Australia177 contributions
Aug 2018 • Couples
Booked this trip through over accomodation and was very happy they offered to collect us from here. The tour guide was great as he described the scenery that we were passing and also provided local knowledge about where to go and other ideas for our trip. On our return the bus broke down which was a bummer, but our driver didn’t show it and gave us updates about our situation which was very reassuring. Over all five starts out of five would recommended and use again for sure
Written 19 August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for the fabulous review. We are pleased you enjoyed our service.
Written 20 August 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Larry W
18 contributions
Feb 2018 • Friends
We booked Akaroa Shuttle for transportation from our cruise ship docked Akaroa for roundtrip to Christchurch. The cost for our group of 5 was less than the cruise excursion and had better departure times both ways. Unfortunately, we were not able to dock in Akaroa due to a hurricane. Akaroa Shuttle refunded the cost without even being asked! Thanks for being proactive with superior customer service due to circumstances beyond anyone's control.
Written 10 March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Larry We were sorry you were unable to visit stunning Akaroa on your cruise. We do hope you have another opportunity, Akaroa is not to be missed.
Written 11 March 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Julia G
Gold Coast, Australia233 contributions
Feb 2018 • Couples
We are sad to see this service cut back ,but I guess that is what happens to a small village of 600 people .
The bus leaves Christchurch in the morning and returns from Akaroa in the evening .So residents you can’t go over and back to Christchurch.
Written 25 February 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Julia, thanks for your feedback. We have been operating one return service from Christchurch daily for several years now. We depart Christchurch at 8.30am, and return from Akaroa at 3.45pm. Unfortunately there is little demand for a morning service from Akaroa at this time, but this is always under review.
Written 5 March 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 38
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Akaroa Shuttle


Restaurants near Akaroa Shuttle: View all restaurants near Akaroa Shuttle on Tripadvisor