We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys)

Open Now: 6:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Open today: 6:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys) tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
105
All photos (105)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good27%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“kiwi rail”(10 reviews)
“south island”(17 reviews)
About
The Great Journeys of New Zealand provide a window to the most spectacular scenery in New Zealand. With three long distance train services and three ferries that span the country, there is no better way to experience the best New Zealand has to...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 6:30 AM - 3:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Christchurch Railway Station, Christchurch, New Zealand
Website
+64 4-495 0775
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys)
from US$38.20
More Info
from US$61.72
More Info
from US$78.20
More Info
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
77
38
11
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
77
38
11
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern explorer kiwi rail south island rail journey new zealand tranz alpine arthurs pass return trip clean windows wonderful journey breathtaking scenery great photos highly recommend this trip right hand side canterbury plains headphones carriage
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed this train trip, I had been told it’s a lovely trip & it is. I was a bit worried it would be too long sitting but the seats are roomy & comfortable. Great views from large clean windows. We had good weather...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank BrendaG296
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Great experience! We've traveled across a few countries in trains, which we've loved, and I'd read that this was one of the most scenic in the world, so it was a must do whilst we were in New Zealand. We were taking the TranzAlpine railway...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Brenda_82
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We recently took the Trans Alpine Trip to Greymouth to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.. We hit the weather spot on brilliant. It was a no car trip as we could walk to the train stop and back. The staff were amazing and the standard...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank birdman222015
Robin H, Online crew at The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys), responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi birdman222015, Thank you so much for sharing your wedding anniversary with us! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the journey so much and we hope you'll join us for another car-free holiday when the Coastal Pacific returns in a few months. Best...More

Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

The most interesting day you will have by rail honestly it’s a full day adventure! The staff make you feel welcome, thought I do feel somewhat sorry they only had one coffee machine to service the train. Upgrade? The views are outstanding and the history...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank ColinM3080
Robin H, Online crew at The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys), responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Colin M, Thanks for the excellent rating and we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed our company en-route. Alas, we are a little pushed for space in the cafe, so there's no room for a second machine. Besides, the short wait gives us...More

Reviewed 28 June 2018

I contacted Great Journeys to ask if they had a DVD of the Northern Explorer train excursion that a very sick relation had to cancel because of her illness....not only was their response full of genuine concern for her but they sent me a memory...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Amanda C
Robin H, Online crew at The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys), responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Hi Amanda C, It really was the least we could do and we sincerely hope that things are going well for you. We hope to see you on board one day! All the best, Robin | The Great Journeys of New Zealand

Reviewed 10 April 2018

Travelled on both the Tranz Alpine and Northern Explorer trains whilst travelling around New Zealand. Both times I was made to feel very welcome, the on-board crew on both trains were extremely friendly and helpful. The food and drink though a bit overpriced for what...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Connor E
Robin H, Online Crew at The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys), responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hi Connor E, Many thanks for taking the time to complete a review of our services. We're happy to hear your experience was exemplified by our friendly crew. We hope to see you travel with us again, soon. Best, Robin | The Great Journeys of...More

Reviewed 25 March 2018

we did the northerner from auckland to wellington. a great trip.lots of things going on that can not be seen from a car.country so different from the south island.the food car closes when the train stops .seems a bit stupid as this is the best...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank jukgra
Robin H, Online crew at The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys), responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi jukgra, Thanks for the great review! Sadly we have very little storage space on-board, which is why we advise passengers to pre-order their food when they make their booking online. So I'm afraid running out of sarnies isn't a deliberate homage to the glory...More

Reviewed 24 March 2018

A great way to cross the country, taking in some breathtaking scenery with a commentary all the way, though this was a little hard to hear at first. We rang in advance to slightly change our booking and the staff were very helpful and accommodated...More

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank JohnHerring
Robin H, Online crew at The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys), responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi JohnHerring, Thanks for the four-star rating. We are really pleased that we impressed you with our service! All the best, Robin | The Great Journeys of New Zealand

Reviewed 4 February 2018

This was a journey through hell! The carriages blast out ice cold air con and no windows to open so we ALL FREEZED! No blankets provided. The carriage doors constantly screeched open and shut every 2 minutes as people constantly walked back and forth through...More

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Marie n Jules m
GreatJourneysofNZ, Online crew at The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys), responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi Marie n Jules m, I am very disappointed to read your review, but thank you for bringing these points to our attention. I will get in touch with the crew about having a few blankets on-board for people who feel the cold - this...More

Reviewed 16 January 2018

On Thursday April13, 2017, my wife and I with 45 other travellers, we were dropped off by our coach Captain at the Arthur’s Pass Railway Station to get on board the Kiwi Rail train for our TranzAlpine Rail Journey to Christchurch. This particular railway journey...More

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Lets_Cruise_13
GreatJourneysofNZ, Manager at The Great Journeys of New Zealand (formerly KiwiRail Scenic Journeys), responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you so much for your review, so glad you enjoyed the TranzAlpine! Sounds like the whole experience with Grand Pacific Tours was well organised. Hope you enjoy your time in New Zealand. Sorrel, Great Journeys of NZ Team

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 148 nearby hotels
Arcadia Motel
68 reviews
3.58 km away
Sumner Bay Motel
55 reviews
4.61 km away
Ferry Motel
56 reviews
4.82 km away
Cashel Court Motel
11 reviews
5.91 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,203 nearby restaurants
Nobanno
650 reviews
1.94 km away
Winnie Bagoes Ferrymead
216 reviews
2.17 km away
Ferrymead Tony's Teppan Yaki Restaurant
135 reviews
2.17 km away
Valley Inn Tavern
67 reviews
.56 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 470 nearby attractions
Christchurch Gondola
1,860 reviews
1.06 km away
Lyttelton
219 reviews
1.13 km away
Ferrymead Heritage Park
130 reviews
.93 km away
Tamaki Heritage Village
7 reviews
1.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Suebash
23 July 2018|
Answer
Response from ColinM3080 | Reviewed this property |
It’s always better to pre buy tickets as there are a couple of seating classes, you aslso don’t have to wait in line and avoid the disappointment of missing the train.
0
Votes
dweeks2
8 May 2018|
Answer
Response from JohnHerring | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry, but we didn't book meals on board. We were too busy admiring and photographing the fabulous scenery.
0
Votes
ndrompal
20 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from StanTVL | Reviewed this property |
Yes but only few minutes. not many atops too.
0
Votes