We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
54
All photos (54)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good19%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“red zone”(23 reviews)
“white chairs”(14 reviews)
About
Join a Rebuild tour of the Christchurch central city showing at first hand the impacts on the central city and its iconic buildings while providing insights into the seismic forces at work during the significant earthquakes, and future development...more
Contact
Rolleston Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Website
+64 800 500 929
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Red Bus - Rebuild Tour
from US$35.10
More Info
from US$38.60
More Info
from US$138.60
More Info
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
149
38
4
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
149
38
4
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red zone white chairs complete change perfect length a real eye opener canterbury museum first hand experience city centre great overview visiting christchurch lost their lives informative commentary avon river earthquake organizations commentator facts
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 197 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Perhaps the most poignant aspect of this trip is the time spent driving though whole suburbs that no longer exist as a result of the earthquake. This, coupled with the visual destruction in the city itself puts a whole new perspective to something that we...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank cameocc
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

I as a passenger of red bus, on tuesday arvo roughly around 3:45pm i catch the bus with my partner from east gate,the driver name Abdul was on board welcomed us so friendly with a smile.what a driver ! Ive alws seen him greeting the...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ultimate01
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Gives a great overview of the history of Chritschurch and what a history it has. 15 years ago, this was a picture perfect city immersed in beauty and history. Then came 2 earthquakes. The city was DESTROYED !!!! I have been there several times. Before...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank alexandermayk
Nicky H, Manager at Red Bus - Rebuild Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

thanks for the feedback.

Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

As a member of the public was disappointed to learn that these tours are no longer available as private tourists. Was advised by Red Bus today that the Rebuild Tour is only available to tour groups.

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank SamanthaB4562
Nicky H, Manager at Red Bus - Rebuild Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Sam, very sorry to disappoint. The Rebuild tours were very popular, however the Rebuild is now well underway.

Reviewed 18 March 2018

Pleasant trip with a good commentary from a very knowledgeable person, tidy coach with a good driver, could not fault it in any way.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Trevor G
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

Due to technical reasons tendering from the ship was delayed. Therefore 2000 passengers were late for their tours. All the operators adapted to the situation - except Red Bus Ltd! They went off with 11 passengers and left 10 if us behind. I’ll say no...More

1  Thank IvorL890
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Awesome tour guides are very knowledgeable able the building affected by the Earthquake and what’s happened since.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Natalie S
Reviewed 10 October 2017

This was rather an emotional tour. Our guide had been through the horrors of the earthquake and suffered home loss etc. We really appreciated where Ch Ch has got to and almost feel that we should come back again in a few years to give...More

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank r0bertsusanb
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

Absolutely loved this tour. Perfect length of time. Thank you very much to our guide (Kim) - she was extremely knowledgeable and happy to answer all our questions! It was interesting to learn about the city and be guided by someone with first hand experience...More

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Megan B
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

My wife and I were visiting from Australia and a friend suggested we take the Redbus Rebuild tour. This costs $35 per adult and leaves from the Canterbury Museum at 11:30am each day (1.5 hour duration) The tour takes place aboard a large coach with...More

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Coastal707675
Nicky H, General Manager at Red Bus - Rebuild Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thanks for the review, we appreciate your feedback.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 148 nearby hotels
The Classic Villa
296 reviews
.09 km away
Hotel Montreal
294 reviews
.56 km away
The George Christchurch
1,585 reviews
.57 km away
Ibis Christchurch
1,050 reviews
.66 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,201 nearby restaurants
Zen Sushi and Dumplings
227 reviews
.21 km away
Inati
98 reviews
.42 km away
Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar
1,394 reviews
.25 km away
Cook'n' With Gas
377 reviews
.13 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 469 nearby attractions
Canterbury Museum
2,404 reviews
.05 km away
Christchurch i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
310 reviews
.16 km away
Avon River
523 reviews
.18 km away
The Arts Centre
50 reviews
.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anna L
17 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NickyH585 | Property representative |
Sorry, the Oxford bus does not operate at weekends.
0
Votes
Dawnyspice
11 April 2016|
Answer
Response from Dawnyspice |
What time are your tours today
-1
Votes
YRKATEKIM
23 March 2015|
Answer
Response from NickyH585 | Property representative |
There is no carparking directly outside the Museum. There is parking in the Botanical Gardens carpark at the end of Armagh Street. Alternatively there is off-street parking in the area.
0
Votes