We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TranzAlpine Train

Christchurch, New Zealand
More
About TranzAlpine Train
The TranzAlpine is a long-distance train between Christchurch and Greymouth, from one coast of New Zealand to the other. Unlike normal passenger trains, the TranzAlpine is designed to provide a window to New Zealand's best scenery, with large reclined seating and huge panoramic windows. The spectacular TranzAlpine journey begins by roaming through the vast farmsteads of the Canterbury Plains to the spectacular gorges and valleys of the Waimakariri River. The TranzAlpine then ascends into the majestic Southern Alps to Arthurs Pass National Park, before descending through lush beech forest to the West Coast town of Greymouth - a great base for visits to Punakaiki and the always-popular glaciers. All services feature panoramic windows, reclined seating, GPS triggered at-seat commentary, a fully licensed cafe, toilets, and open air viewing decks. The TranzAlpine is operated by The Great Journeys of New Zealand, and runs daily throughout the year.
Read more
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by TranzAlpine Train

Arthur's Pass National Park with TranzAlpine Train Tour from Christchurch

Enjoy a full day in the gorgeous landscapes outside of Christchurch. This tour features the scenic TranzAlpine train and a guided tour of Arthur’s Pass National Park. See the Canterbury Plains, Waimakariri Gorge, and the Southern Alps, then explore by minivan from Arthur’s Pass, stopping for rain forest walks and a closer look at Cave Stream, Castle Hill, and Waimak Gorge. This small-group tour includes lunch and two teas.
Read more
9 hours
from US$425.69
3443Reviews121Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 2,175
  • 906
  • 265
  • 58
  • 39
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Crayeater wrote a review Jul 2021
Hamilton, New Zealand63 contributions32 helpful votes
We did the return trip departing from Christchurch. It is a couple of decades since my last trip and the train, service, and food was much better. June was a great time to go. We had excellent views of the mountains and snow on the way over. The weather closed in, with a gale driving freezing rain down the main street while we were in Greymouth, but that just added to the experience. It was interesting to see how the storm rolling in completely changed the journey on the way back. The commentary was good. It is a long day to do the return trip, but we found it quite manageable.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kirsten_GJNZ, Online Crew at TranzAlpine Train
Responded 6 days ago
Kia Ora Nita M, Thank you for writing this review on your TranzAlpine train experience – it’s much appreciated! The TranzAlpine train journey is one of the top 10 train journeys in the world and is definitely a must do for all and we agree with you, it needs to be experienced more than once! We are so happy to hear that you had a great trip with us on your day trip. It must have been a very different experience travelling back to Christchurch with the storm rolling in. Thank again for your review and we hope to see you again soon. All the best, Kirsten | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
Camda wrote a review Jul 2021
Wellington, New Zealand586 contributions374 helpful votes
A must do for all NZ'ers especially now with no overseas tourists when I imagine it would be not as pleasant. July, a great time to go as being able to see the mountains capped in snow and frosts on the ground was wonderful. We did a day return trip whcih meant 8 hours sitting on our bums which I wouldn't recommend. Instead, I would suggest doing one way only, get off at Greymouth and spend a night or drive from there to Nelson. There is a separate dining car and a separate viewing car, open to the elements for you to get photographs without the glass reflection.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen_GJNZ, Online Crew at TranzAlpine Train
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia Ora Camda, Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you had a pleasant journey onboard with us. How beautiful is the scenery during this time of year?! Doing a day return journey is a great idea, as you can get off in Greymouth for lunch before re-boarding or take advantage of stopovers and enjoy any places you want to visit on the way before hopping back on when the train comes back past again that day or the next. We hope you had a great rest of your onward trip! Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
gtlegacy2015 wrote a review Jul 2021
Wellington, New Zealand206 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
Return day trip on a not that fine day, but still able to see the surrounds easily on the way to Greymouth. As there was a delay the return trip ended in darkness, but that is expected in winter. Excellent commentary along the trip through individual headsets An hour in Greymouth which was enough to stretch the legs. Parking available at Addington station.
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen_GJNZ, Online Crew at TranzAlpine Train
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Ora, Thanks so much for taking the time to provide your feedback on your TranzAlpine journey! So pleased to hear you had a great journey with us and enjoyed the commentary provided through the headsets. We hope you travel with us again sometime. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
NEWZEALANDFLYBOY wrote a review Jul 2021
new zealand7 contributions6 helpful votes
Being a lover of trains and beautiful scenery this was one of the worst days of my life. Just before the otira tunnel going to Christchurch the train stopped as someone had a medical event and the rest of the trip was done in darkness. No sorry no refund no new ticket. Disgusted
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen_GJNZ, Online Crew at TranzAlpine Train
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We are very sorry to hear about what has happened during your journey. This medical event was an unfortunate circumstance which is out of our control. Unfortunately travelling during winter, the sun does set earlier also. Again, we are sorry you had a bad experience with us and hope you can join us again one day for a better journey. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
Leila wrote a review Jun 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Just write a review to let know people what's happening Be aware if you book a ticket with them it's not a tourist attraction as like they say even if their price are expensive it's just a train so if there are late for some reason and you are not able to see something which was my case because when we were on the train during Arthur pass it was completely dark they don't do any refund or any compensation. So before book and spend lot of money be aware and just understand it's just a train service and not a tourist trip like as they pretend in their website. They do lot of rules to be able to not refund you even with 2hours delay so also don't plan anything else on the day. What they say "Experience the South Island’s striking natural landscape by taking a train between Christchurch and Greymouth. Along this journey you’ll see epic vistas, travel the edges of the ice-fed Waimakariri River, traverse the Southern Alps, and see miles of native beech forest." Reality If they are late you don't see anything and they don't do any compensation or any partial refund So if you are thinking to book with them just think of it twice before especially the train from Greymouth to Christchurch who already leave late.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Karen_GJNZ, Online Crew at TranzAlpine Train
Responded 21 Jun 2021
Kia Ora Leliapoh, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your journey. Delays are a rare occurrence for us but unfortunately sometimes do happen. Unfortunately, when you travel in winter, the sun does set earlier so some views are more visible out of day light savings. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best Wishes, Karen | The Great Journeys of New Zealand
Read more
Previous
123456