We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Christchurch Gondola

10 Bridle Path Road, Christchurch 8022, New Zealand
+64 3-384 0310
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.93*
and up
Christchurch Gondola Ride
More Info
US$96.44*
and up
Grand Tour of Christchurch Including Botanic Gardens, Gondola and Hop-On...
More Info
US$64.29*
and up
Christchurch Sightseeing Pass
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
For a “top” experience in Christchurch (15 minute drive from central city), enjoy a relaxing ride to the summit of the Port Hills. Spectacular 360 degree views of the city, Lyttelton Harbour, the majestic Southern Alps and Canterbury Plains. Plenty to see and do - experience the Time Tunnel Ride, go shopping, relax and enjoy a snack or beverage at the Red Rock Cafe.
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good38%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
10 Bridle Path Road, Christchurch 8022, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-384 0310
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We bought tickets at the I-visit centre close by for both the shuttle as well as the gondela. They offered us our own gondala, even though we could have fit another two passengers. Only downside was the obligatory photo op, which you can buy at...More

Thank Ariane K
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

The view was great because the location is a bit away frow the city. Offers a 360 degree view of cristchurch. No other activities though..

Thank Melbing M
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Absolutely breadth taking views of the city from the top of the gondola. Best place to hike if you came unprepared with hiking gear. On a clear day, you will get the best shots.

Thank Krish C
Reviewed 6 days ago

Great views, especially on a fabulous summer's day! Quaint cafe at the top and a wee museum as well! :) Great for first timers in Christchurch, as well as locals who want to play tourists for a day!

Thank tin_p42
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We bought the tram & gondola family pass which we felt was good value for money. We were fortunate to have a clear day so the views across the peninsula and over the city to the Alps were spectacular. The gondola was easy to get...More

Thank RDeyNZ
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit here at the Christchurch Gondola. Tasha :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spent a great couple of hours at the top taking photos of snow covered mountains. Then had a nice lunch and hot chocolate before catching the gondola down. Plenty to see at the top and some nice walks. Gondola staff were friendly but could have...More

Thank Wendy W
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your few hours taking in the great views from the summit along with a nice lunch and hot chocolate! Tasha :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to see stunning views of Christchurch and Lyttleton Port this is the place. If you would like an historic walk, head up the Bridle Path and travel back down the Gondola. Or up the Gondola and walk down to Lyttleton via the...More

Thank Sandra D
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our fantastic views while visiting us here at the Christchurch Gondola. Tasha :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

Our children love this christchurch attraction. Food is a bit pricey but a great activity on a clear day.

Thank SarieRoadTrip
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Views of Christchurch and the surrounding area It wasn't busy when I got there and when I got the top I understood why It wasn't terrible just didn't live up to the description in the travel guides

Thank Kimberlytravel
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kimberley, thanks for providing us with your feedback, we are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations but we really appreciate you taking the time to visit us. Regards Mark

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The gondola is a great way to see some great vistas overlooking both the sea and city views of Christchurch. Unfortunately it was cloudy the day I went - they did warn us at the bottom where you purchase tickets that there was no visibility...More

Thank SanDiegoCross
CHCHAttractions, Front Office Manager at Christchurch Gondola, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear the weather was not on your side but we sure do hope you come back in the near future and visit us again on a sunny day! Tasha :)

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Freemans Dining Room
177 reviews
1.47 km away
Roots
125 reviews
1.56 km away
Lyttelton Coffee Company
131 reviews
1.53 km away
Civil and Naval
69 reviews
1.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Lyttelton Farmers Market
39 reviews
1.49 km away
Explore Canterbury - Private Tours
12 reviews
1.38 km away
Port Hills
204 reviews
.93 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
bernie403
28 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from CHCHAttractions | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Yes, our Gondola cabins can accommodate folded wheelchairs. Once at the top station, our staff will be able to direct you to the lift so you can access the upper levels of the building. There... More
1
Vote
Jacky C
20 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from CHCHAttractions | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Yes, the Gondola operates 364 days per year (we are closed on Christmas Day), so we are open daily in winter. There may be occasions when we need to close due to the wind being outside of our... More
0
Votes
Mike C
19 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from CHCHAttractions | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. The Gondola operates daily year round (with the exception of Christmas Day). There are occasions when we need to close due to the wind being outside of our operating limits, but this is quite... More
0
Votes