We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

International Antarctic Centre

38 Orchard Road | International Antarctic Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand
+64 3-357 0519
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.86*
and up
International Antarctic Center General Admission Ticket
More Info
US$171.08*
and up
Christchurch Snow and Kiwi Tour
More Info
US$125.46*
and up
Christchurch City Sightseeing - Must See Three Attractions
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
It's the ultimate Antarctic adventure! Experience the dramatic seasonal lighting in the four seasons of Antarctica show where it 'snows' every 6 minutes. Venture out on to 'the ice' from Scott Base to play in 'Antarctica' the snow & ice experience and survive an Antarctic storm! How long can you hold your hand in the icy Antarctic water? Hang out with Little Blue Penguins, buckle up for the famously exciting Hagglund ride, take an awesome simulated 4D Antarctic cruise, watch Happy Feet 4D, then watch a stunning movie on a MASSIVE screen! It's the closest you'll get to Antarctica without mounting your own expedition!
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good33%
  • Average11%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“hagglund ride” (298 reviews)
“snow storm” (178 reviews)
“penguin feeding” (161 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:30
LOCATION
38 Orchard Road | International Antarctic Centre, Christchurch, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-357 0519
Write a Review
Reviews (1,918)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We were diverted to Christchurch due to bad weather rather than landing in a Queenstown yesterday afternoon and were not on another flight to Queenstown until late this afternoon. So we decided to visit the Antarctic centre to fill in the day. It was terrific...More

Thank jess_Karl
Reviewed 2 days ago

This was interesting. We enjoyed being in the snow and the wind exhibit but what we really enjoyed was seeing the penguins

Thank AngeChris2011
Reviewed 3 days ago

We were a senior citizen and a 13 year old and both enjoyed it. Five hours, including nice lunch in café. Quite a bit of queueing (school holidays) but staff ran extra sessions of the movies.

Thank Christine L
Reviewed 3 days ago

Found this tour really interesting. Loved seeing the animals and the Blizzard was amazing - sooo cold! Wonderful for kids and adults alike.

1  Thank brandy126
Reviewed 4 days ago

I saw many people complaint about the expensive entrance ticket, so I went online to book the tickets in advance and found half priced tickets, which I feel so worth it. Four family members and I booked for the 2.30 pm slot, the centre closes...More

Thank Melanie_Yeoh
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would have given five stars for the same great things outlined in the other reviews. However a terrible experience with one of the staff, Sue, who was running the Hagglund ride nearly ruined our day. We arrived at 10am and were given tickets for...More

3  Thank Joanne2012_03
Management response:Responded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We were made aware of the situation yesterday and are so sorry this happened to you. Unfortunately we did not have your contact details to be able to follow up on this incident. We have addressed this with the staff...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Wow what an awesome place to visit, we spent 4hrs there with our grandchildren , there was lots of interacting things for the children & adults to see & do , there was 4D Experiance & a Ride on the Hagglund plus cafe . It...More

Thank noelmclean
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is well worth the visit. Even better if you're staying in town there is a free shuttle every hour from the main museum in town that takes you to and from the centre. Good to see the penguins and the 'snow storm' room, as...More

2  Thank BrissieTraveller83
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This really was a let down. Apart from the penguins and cold room there is not much else to do. Miss five got bored very quickly after the cold room

Thank Nicola G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our rainy day activity as most of it is indoors. Really fun for the whole family. Very interesting if you love the history of exploration. They had a sled dog breeder there when we visited and she was very informative on the breed....More

1  Thank WhiskeyGirlDublin
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cafe Raeward
137 reviews
1.34 km away
Pattersons Restaurant & Bar
146 reviews
1.24 km away
Hinton's Restaurant
84 reviews
.66 km away
Little India
53 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Christchurch Airport i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
18 reviews
.58 km away
Garden City Helicopters
62 reviews
.38 km away
Scenic Pacific Travel - New Zealand Tours
47 reviews
1.83 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
pkriger329
30 December 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from Paul W | Reviewed this property |
2-3 hours
0
Votes
Blakes
19 December 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from annur2001 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they provide coats for kids and adults. Also, provide shoes cover before entering the antarctic strom room
0
Votes
Bob999
10 May 2016|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from pomlee | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, I didn't do that part of the tour as I've often seen penguins nearer home. However, penguins are such delightful creatures I recommend you make time to visit them.
0
Votes