We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maossie Tours

Christchurch, New Zealand
More
About Maossie Tours
Settle back in our luxury mini-coach and enjoy your day trip journey from Christchurch discovering the most amazing New Zealand locations. Be dazzled by ancient glaciers, towering mountains, high country mountain lakes & braided rivers. Or be delighted by sites from "Lord of the Rings" middle-earth before being transported back in time and enjoying a truly unique experience: a nostalgic, comfortable wagon ride pulled by some “gentle giants” (a team of Clydesdale horses) into the spectacular Aotearoa back-country highlands. Or be delighted by exploring the “real New Zealand”: experiencing an iconic high-country sheep station, or touring Canterbury farmlands on a trip to some really interesting rural properties – all set against the backdrop of the breath-taking scenery of the Southern Alps. From greener than green farmlands to encountering New Zealand's highest mountain Aoraki Mt Cook in the UNESCO World Heritage Te Wahipounamu National Park, Maossie has a tour for everyone!
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Travellers talk about
99Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 96
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
GwEnDyandCLiVe wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Got a stock standard email to wait outside at 8:10am but half an hour later, driver did not turn up for pickup despite numerous calls, it went straight into voicemail. Correspondence a month prior was also also not answered, and a text the night before the tour was also not answered as well.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
jimlynette2017 wrote a review Jun 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand8 contributions
Gary is a real character. His stories bring to life not only his own family history and whakapapa but also the history of the area and its peoples. We were the only travellers on our trip but Gary just turned it into our very own private tour. Unfortunately there were severe gusts in banks peninsula so the dolphin tour couldn’t happen. Gary offered us every alternative, and we chose a complete tour of the side of banks peninsula that doesn’t get many visitors. The old tiki tiki panelled church and the Maori and colonial museum were excellent and we had already enjoyed quite a few tasters at the Akaroa winery. Great day. I would recommend Maossie tours.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Hugh wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Having lived in the South Island of NZ all our lives, neither of us had been to the Hermitage or Tasman Glacier before. We had driven through the area and knew something of it, but the commentary Gary shared on many of the places we passed by was new to us and very interesting. It was great to sit back and and enjoy the beautiful scenery.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Maossie T, Owner at Maossie Tours
Responded 13 May 2021
Glad you enjoyed yourselves
Read more
Gillian K wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
I booked this your more than 2, weeks in advance. Just before 5 pm on the day before the trip I called the company yo confirm my pick up point the next morning. I was then told trip had been cancelled. One reason being that I was only one booked for the trip. This is unacceptable. One wonders what would have happened if I had not called.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Maossie T, Owner at Maossie Tours
Responded 22 Apr 2021
Thank you so much for your feedback:) It is completely understandable that you would be disappointed -especially when you had booked so far in advance! After 9 months of NZ border restrictions due to covid 19, we, like many operators in Canterbury have had to make adjustments and work in with other operators to remain viable. We are extremely sorry for your experience in this instance which was, as explained by phone, unavoidable largely for reasons outside our control - kindly note that having only one person booked on the day was only one of a number of considerations. We appreciate that it can be very stressful to be informed of the cancelation at 5pm the day before the tour and we sincerely apologize for that as we constantly strive to provide 5 star service and a relaxed experience for every guest who travels with us. We were literally about to call when you rang. You are clearly disappointed which is completely understandable. We did promise to provide a voucher for a solid discount should you decide to book with us in the future so do let us know how we can get this to you. With kindest regards and best wishes, Gary and Nicole
Read more
Jeanettehb wrote a review Mar 2021
3 contributions
Great tour. Informative with amazing scenery. So much packed into the day! Sadly we were out side of Penguin time but we saw seals up close and the little penguin boxes as if they were there. Gary the guide/driver was a great host. Thank you Maossie Tours.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Maossie T, Owner at Maossie Tours
Responded 29 Mar 2021
Your comments are so welcome: the nature safari is worthwhile even outside of the penguin times" - so glad you enjoyed the day.
Read more
Previous
123456