We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cruise Tauranga

Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
+64 7-579 1062
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Cruise Tauranga tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Cruise Tauranga offers day tours from the Port of Tauranga to Rotorua so you can absorb New Zealand’s rich culture, see the spectacular Geysers and mud pools, explore The Lord of the Rings movie set in Hobbiton, or travel by jet boat to a wildlife sanctuary. Wanting to customise your own adventure? Let us know, we can help tailor a tour for you or a group of any size. Cruise Tauranga offers award winning tours for cruise ship passengers visiting the Port of Tauranga. All of Cruise Tauranga's guides are passionate and are required to meet stringent standards ensuring that your shore excursion tour from the Port of Tauranga is not only safe but is exceptional. Cruise Tauranga’s fleet of vehicles are all of a high standard, air conditioned, safe and very comfortable. Our shore excursions to Rotorua and/or Hobbiton, New Zealand, are great fun, great value and a great way to see some of New Zealand’s most popular destinations. Travel with us and we will give you an exception tour and will guarantee* to get you back to the Port of Tauranga on time to board your ship.
  • Excellent98%
  • Very good2%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“te puia” (15 reviews)
“new zealand” (20 reviews)
“two couples” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 7-579 1062
Ways to Experience Cruise Tauranga
from US$131.30
More Info
from US$106.40
More Info
from US$168.40
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"te puia"
in 15 reviews
"new zealand"
in 20 reviews
"two couples"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 3 reviews
"simon"
in 67 reviews
"culture"
in 8 reviews
"information"
in 8 reviews
"knowledge"
in 8 reviews
"company"
in 10 reviews
"port"
in 7 reviews
"pace"
in 4 reviews
"sights"
in 5 reviews
"coastline"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This was the best tour we had in New Zealand! Simon is so knowledgeable that you can't help but learn as you go. His enthusiasm and knowledge about the sights that you are seeing can't be beat. We were only 2 couples on our tour...More

Thank 943annal717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Thanks for spending the day with us and it was a pleasure to host you and share the Bay of Plenty with you. Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Our first port on our 15 day cruise. CruiseTauranga.com - We chose this tour after reading all the wonderful reviews and we were not disappointed! Simon promptly picked us up at the cruise port and this allowed us to stay ahead of the large bus...More

Thank maryjnsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thanks so much for the feedback, it was a pleasure to show you both around. Bye and thanks again. Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017

More

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Our extended family of eight booked with Cruise Tauranga - for a visit to Te Puia, Rotorua from a cruise ship berthed at Tauranga, Our group included two people who turn 90 this year, two couples and two younger adults. SImon was very patient and...More

Thank delwyn2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCruiseTauranga, Manager at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Hi Delwyn, many thanks for the review, and it was a pleasure showing your family around when you visited! Bye and safe travels. Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2016

My husband, 2 teenagers and I took this tour while our ship stopped in Tauranga. Simon was a fantastic guide and we left knowing so much more than we'd expected. Our tour included a kiwi fruit orchard, view of river rapids and learning about pain...More

1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Catherine. I am so pleased you enjoyed your day here, and many thanks for taking the time to post here! Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

We booked a tour with Michele Beaton who is very kind and has lots of interesting information about all places we visited. Some guided tour operator just put in a driver who is not a guide at all. Cruise Tauranga were one of the best...More

1  Thank Beate920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

We loved this small group tour guided by Simon Beaton! He is a very entertaining person and most knowledgeable, told us all different things during the tour. It was really a pleasure listening to him! Hobbiton has its own tour-guides but even here he was...More

Thank Ingrid d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Hello Ingrid. Many thanks for your review. It was a pleasure hosting you both and showing you around. Safe travels and have a great Christmas season. Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jungian7
26 September 2017|
Answer
Response from SimonCruiseTauranga | Property representative |
Good morning. We do stop at the beach and spend about 10 minutes talking about the area with it as the backdrop, but don't go for a walk on it. Depending on your hip's 'all aboard' time, we often drop people off there at... More
0
Votes
Kathryn H
27 January 2016|
Answer
Response from SimonCruiseTauranga | Property representative |
Sorry, only just seen your question. If your ship does not dock, we provide a 100% refund. Our cancellation policy depends on when you cancel. More than 7 days prior, you get a full refund, after that we reserve the right to... More
0
Votes
Kathryn H
27 January 2016|
Answer
Response from SimonCruiseTauranga | Property representative |
Sorry, only just saw this question. Best to email us but basically, if your ship does not dock for any reason then a full refund. Cancel up to 7 days prior, a full refund. Within seven days we reserve the right to charge you... More
0
Votes