We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Cruise Tauranga tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
35
All photos (35)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent98%
  • Very good2%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“new zealand”(20 reviews)
“day trip”(6 reviews)
About
Cruise Tauranga offers day tours from the Port of Tauranga to Rotorua so you can absorb New Zealand’s rich culture, see the spectacular Geysers and mud pools, explore The Lord of the Rings movie set in Hobbiton, or travel by jet boat to a wildlife...more
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
Website
+64 7-579 1062
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Cruise Tauranga
from US$110.66
More Info
from US$136.57
More Info
from US$175.09
More Info
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
94
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
94
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand day trip beautiful area wonderful tour small group tour our tour guide simon culture knowledge company port sights nz outing highlights
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this tour before our Celebrity cruise in January 2019 after reading the positive reviews. It is a must to do in Tauranga, Michele our guide was so personable and knowledgeable, the geyser was definitely a highlight. We had not expected to see something...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank shewolfBerlin
Reviewed 1 February 2019

Soon after our New Zealand cruise ship anchored in Tauranga, we met Michelle Beaton at the dock and headed off in her comfortable car for an amazing day of exploring the beautiful thermal sites of Rotorua and Te Puia. It was a perfect day and...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank vickiyvb
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2019

It's always so satisfying when we have such happy visitors! Thanks for the review John and Vicky and safe travels in the future. Michele and Simon

Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

Michelle was both engaging and knowledgeable. We really enjoyed her commentary. On our way to Rotorua, we had an interesting stop at a kiwi farm as well as a very nice stop to see a couple of waterfalls. On that stop, her biology expertise came...More

Thank 264MarkS264
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2019

Many thanks for your review Mark, Michele and I are delighted you had such a great day!~ Safe travels in the future,

Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

Researched several tour providers before booking with Cruise Tauranga/Learning Experiences and my research certainly paid off. Simon collected us from the port gate and we spent rhe day touring the magnificent cultural, geographical and geophysical features that this beautiful area of NZ has to offer....More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Wease1
Reviewed 3 January 2019

We arranged for a one day outing with Simon. He was waiting for us at the Tauranga cruise port. We wanted to visit the Waitomo Glow Worm Cave despite the fact that it was almost a 2.5 hour drive there. Simon took care of the...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank 258howardc
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

We did the combined Hobbiton Movie Set and Rotorua Geysers tour with Cruise Tauranga on 3/12/18. Booking the tour was easy and communication prompt. The day was terrific. We were picked up from our cruise ship, and returned in plenty of time. Michelle our tour...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank KezKillo
Reviewed 6 December 2018

My husband and I booked this private tour with Simon and we were very happy with service and how professional they are. We communicate by email all the time. As that day there was not enough people to book the small group, we decided to...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank virginiasH5345UE
Reviewed 27 November 2018

This was one of the more enjoyable tours that we did during our recent trip through the South Seas, NZ, and Australia. Yes, Hobbiton is a little touristy and silly, but if you've seen the movies, it was really pretty fun. Our travelling companions, who...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank pdq3
Reviewed 13 November 2018 via mobile

You're reading this to find out how much we enjoyed this tour. If you come to Tauranga, you can do no better than to take this tour of Rotorura and surrounds. Simon, our guide, is an exceptionally knowledgeable man on Maori history, local history, and...More

Thank Ross P
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2018

Hi Ross, many thanks for the review. It was a pleasure to show you and Heather around that day. 'Bon voyage' for future cruises. Simon

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

My husband and I booked this private tour with passengers from our ship we met through Cruisecritic. There were 10 of us in the van so the group size was small. We went to a lookout point near the cruise port first. We then went...More

Thank stjohnbeachlover
SimonCruiseTauranga, Owner at Cruise Tauranga, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Many thank for the great feedback! I am so pleased you enjoyed your day so much. Sharing our history, local culture and stunning scenery with visitors who obviously enjoy it is so much fun! It was great to host you and show your the area....More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jungian7
26 September 2017|
Answer
Response from SimonCruiseTauranga | Property representative |
Good morning. We do stop at the beach and spend about 10 minutes talking about the area with it as the backdrop, but don't go for a walk on it. Depending on your hip's 'all aboard' time, we often drop people off there at... More
0
Votes
Kathryn H
27 January 2016|
Answer
Response from SimonCruiseTauranga | Property representative |
Sorry, only just seen your question. If your ship does not dock, we provide a 100% refund. Our cancellation policy depends on when you cancel. More than 7 days prior, you get a full refund, after that we reserve the right to... More
0
Votes
Kathryn H
27 January 2016|
Answer
Response from SimonCruiseTauranga | Property representative |
Sorry, only just saw this question. Best to email us but basically, if your ship does not dock for any reason then a full refund. Cancel up to 7 days prior, a full refund. Within seven days we reserve the right to charge you... More
0
Votes