Fernland Spa

Fernland Spa, Tauranga: Hours, Address, Fernland Spa Reviews: 4.5/5

Fernland Spa
4.5
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
About
Fernland Spa Thermal Mineral Springs Hot Pools . Our pure mineral geothermal pool complex , situated in an oasis of spectacular bush and park like grounds 5 minutes from downtown Tauranga . We have one large main pool nestled among towering tree ferns and native foliage, enjoy the bird song during the day and the magical lighting at night. Or choose one of 8 spacious private pools, all have a changing area , toilet and shower . Our pools are 100% pure, crystal clear natural mineral water . All pools have a continuous flow of fresh mineral water and are emptied cleaned and refilled daily. A great stop over for camper vans with large sites and a tranquil environment , free access to the main pool is included . Large picnic grounds Massage service , booking essential.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets
Popular mentions

4.5
234 reviews
Excellent
114
Very good
90
Average
22
Poor
4
Terrible
4

Brent N
Cambridge, New Zealand42 contributions
Hidden gem
Oct 2020
Gosh, what a fabulous place. Beautiful grounds, clean pools which have been modernised, friendly and helpful AND well priced.
We stayed in the campground in our motorhome. From the moment we arrived, the warmest, most helpful welcome. Pool was impeccably clean, changing sheds fine - clearly been modernised. Cafe was small, but thats all that was needed. Really liked that they had something for all ages including eskimo lollies for kids at 5/$1, little lollie snakes for individual sale, so parents (o kids) could still spend 50c or a dollar, like when we grew up.
Clearly investment going in with lots of lights on the extensive plantings, roadway had no potholes. It was just a little gem really.
Written 31 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

shazzzalongley
Cambridge, New Zealand1,316 contributions
Relaxing Spa experience
Oct 2020
We spent two nights at this lovely little camp site. The pitches are a generous size and the grounds are well looked after. There is a small kitchen and a hot shower. The spa pool is very inviting and entry is included when staying at the spa campsite. There is a very nice BBQ area and picnic area and with Tauranga and Mount Manganui only a short drive away the location is good. Private spa pools and bubble pools are also available. The staff were helpful too. Altogether we spent a great weekend here and will defiantly return.
Written 27 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

shar A
1 contribution
Let down felt like asking for money back considering getting bitten by ants red ants
Oct 2020 • Couples
Ants in number 5 private pool felt them biting then saw there trail on lip of pool. receptionist is quite rude to her guest staying on grounds.
Written 20 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you were disappointed. We have a great reputation for excellent service so it is frustrating to hear you felt the staff member was rude. Ants can be a problem in any older complex but generally our high standard of cleaning deals with this, we avoid spraying the complex as we strive to provide a natural healthy environment to match the pure mineral water pools. We would have happily given you another pool or refund had you asked as we aim to provide the best possible experience for our visitors. If you choose to visit again I am sure you will not be disappointed. Kind regards Wendy
Written 26 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Peter M
Cambridge, New Zealand18 contributions
Don't know why we left it so long
Oct 2020
Have driven past the sign at the top of the driveway for many years and finally got to experience the magic of this place. My wife and I went on a Saturday night and not knowing what time we would get there, we were unable to pre-book a private pool. On arrival we made enquiries and the private pools were fully booked. We therefore opted for the main pool and were not disappointed. Time was approx 8.30pm and there were approx 25 people in the main poo. It did not feel crowded and there was plenty of room for everyone. 30 minutes in the hot end was plenty for us. The atmosphere was really great - the lighting amongst the ferns and trees was well done. Changing rooms were clean and staff friendly. Really pleased we took that drive down the driveway. Will be our go to pools now as opposed to the salt water pools at the Mount. Was a great way to finish the day before we took the drive back tot he Waikato.
Written 11 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

heather b
Auckland Central, New Zealand42 contributions
A relaxing sleepover
Jan 2020
We found this little hideaway just on the edge of suberbia in Bethlehem, Tauranga. A small camping ground with powered sites and the most lovely mineral pool to use. They also had a BBQ and picnic area. The drive is steep and winding but the tree lined oasis was worth it. Apparently this has been a very popular pool for the locals for many years and there are private pools too. However, we were there as campers and were very happy with the site and the public pool.
Written 22 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

fiesolem
Auckland, New Zealand105 contributions
Average experience
Jan 2020 • Couples
The girls at the front desk seemed very young and very confused about whether pools were ready or who had what booking when we signed in for a private pool we had booked earlier. The pool was very shallow and large which seemed weird for a private pool. Would have preferred a more intimate setting for a couple. Also the open air pool was extremely loud as the people in the pool next to us seemed to be playing pool games and were yelling and screaming. Not very relaxing. And the water was very luke warm like a bath rather than a hot pool. For 48 dollars for the two of us to sit around awkwardly in a large lukewarm pool of water listening to people yelling I felt like we had been a bit ripped off. Previous experiences in private hot pools have been more intimate; quiet and relaxing. Definitely wouldn’t return.
Written 13 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit. It is our policy to offer the best possible experience and as we have 8 private pools Im sure our staff would have been able to move you to a quieter and warmer pool if you had spoken to them . All pools are large so we could not have changed that but we could definitely have provided you with a relaxing tranquil soak in a warmer pool. Once again my apologies. Kind regards Wendy
Written 15 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

raakel_
Tauranga, New Zealand111 contributions
Our “go to” private spa
Dec 2019 • Couples
Hubby and I have been coming here for years! We love the private spas, especially since the new beautiful upgrades. Highly recommend :)
Written 1 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for your review. We are lucky to have great staff to assist in the maintenance and upgrading which is a pretty constant task with 8 private pools and the main pool. See you again soon I hope. Wendy
Written 1 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jollyrobert
Bridgend, UK934 contributions
Emmerse or immerse?
Dec 2019
Just off the busy SH2 and little way along Cambridge Road, lies this well-established spa. Boasting waters that contain 7 beneficial minerals, the polls are constantly replenished from a natural thermal source some 250 metres below ground. Situated in pleasant surroundings, with an abundance of Australian ferns, one of the oldest flora in the World, the ample parking allows for easy access to the building which houses the spa pools. The first impression on entering is one of feeling that the whole place is in need of some TLC, with damp changing rooms and slippery floors underfoot. The public pool is entered down some steps which have a rather painful non-stop surface painted onto their surfaces. One end is cooler but a very pleasant 37c, the other around 40c. There are two large cantilever umbrellas which overhang the pool, affording some protection from the strong sunlight characteristic of New Zealand, but inexplicably one of these was folded away shortly after we had entered, involving keeping your head down to gain some relief as everyone crowded under the shade of the remaining one. There is little to do but swan around until you've had enough, then shower, dress and find an way back at (clue:back through the wet changing rooms of course). Overall underwhelming, and beware the illegal premiums if you use your credit card to pay entrance fees.
Written 30 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed and we only rated a 3 star. It was a shame one of the umbulas was taken down whilst it was still sunny( generally the umbulas are up unless it is very windy). The main pool temperature is pretty consistent throughout the pool and at this time of the year we run at an ambient 37 . In winter the hottest we ever run the pool to is 38.5. The hot temperature of 40 c is reserved for the private pools only. We do indeed add the 2% credit card fee ( charged by the bank to the business) on to customers who choose to pay using this form instead of increasing the charge to all visitors as we think this is a much fairer . This is a fairly standard practice and all visitors are alerted to this before they choose their payment option . I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.
Written 1 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gayle
1 contribution
Visit with friends and young daughter
Nov 2019 • Family
What a wonderful place. I took my daughter and friends here this morning and it was just what we needed. The pool was lovely, grounds were lovely and the staff were lovely. What more could you ask for?
Written 21 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

krisn
9 contributions
Very Nice
Oct 2019
We got a private pool which was nice and well worth the $18 NZD each (30 mins).
You get a private room with a toilet, a shower and a mini hot pool which is actually quite large. Because it's private you can go in your bare skins if you wish.
Overall it was a very nice place and good value although not an upscale property that one might make a special trip to.
Written 19 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 228
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing