Fernland Spa

Fernland Spa, Tauranga: Hours, Address, Fernland Spa Reviews: 4.5/5

Fernland Spa
4.5
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Sunday
8:30 AM - 10:00 PM
About
Fernland Spa Thermal Mineral Springs Hot Pools . Our pure mineral geothermal pool complex , situated in an oasis of spectacular bush and park like grounds 5 minutes from downtown Tauranga . We have one large main pool nestled among towering tree ferns and native foliage, enjoy the bird song during the day and the magical lighting at night. Or choose one of 8 spacious private pools, all have a changing area , toilet and shower . Our pools are 100% pure, crystal clear natural mineral water . All pools have a continuous flow of fresh mineral water and are emptied cleaned and refilled daily. A great stop over for camper vans with large sites and a tranquil environment , free access to the main pool is included . Large picnic grounds Massage service , booking essential.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Popular mentions

4.5
238 reviews
Excellent
117
Very good
91
Average
22
Poor
4
Terrible
4

Ella G
Auckland Central, New Zealand26 contributions
May 2021
Nice place to stay. Clean and tidy. Reasonably priced. Enjoyed the pool. Cabin was warm. People were nice.
Written 20 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

colin S
Rongotea, null, New Zealand10 contributions
Jan 2022
I came upon this place by chance as i was looking for hot pools on google and this place popped up, what a nice surprise. We booked in here for 3 nights in the motorhome as they have powered and non powered sites and also cabins available. When you stay here there is free use of the large mineral pool which is in a beautiful setting with ferns etc, you can also book the private pools if you want there is a charge for them though. this place was clean, well looked after and nice surprise to find the grounds are well kept with the sound of the Tui and Morpork great price and great place, we will be back.
Written 2 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Foxtail48
Elanora, Australia112 contributions
Sep 2021 • Friends
Fernland spa is a hidden gem.
This is a pool that is emptied every day and refilled with refreshing mineral water that has no chemicals added. Your skin comes out feeling like you’ve had a spa treatment.
The pool is 3/4 of a meter deep sitting in it is no problem for 1 to 2 hours.
They also have private posts available for hire. We enjoyed our coffee sitting on the lawn in the barbecue area before we enter the pool complex.
Written 25 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Scenic576512
2 contributions
Jun 2021 • Solo
Brilliant for easing a strained back! Nice friendly staff. Clean and well run. I will return some time soon.
Written 25 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Brent N
Cambridge, New Zealand42 contributions
Oct 2020
Gosh, what a fabulous place. Beautiful grounds, clean pools which have been modernised, friendly and helpful AND well priced.
We stayed in the campground in our motorhome. From the moment we arrived, the warmest, most helpful welcome. Pool was impeccably clean, changing sheds fine - clearly been modernised. Cafe was small, but thats all that was needed. Really liked that they had something for all ages including eskimo lollies for kids at 5/$1, little lollie snakes for individual sale, so parents (o kids) could still spend 50c or a dollar, like when we grew up.
Clearly investment going in with lots of lights on the extensive plantings, roadway had no potholes. It was just a little gem really.
Written 31 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

shazzzalongley
Cambridge, New Zealand1,382 contributions
Oct 2020
We spent two nights at this lovely little camp site. The pitches are a generous size and the grounds are well looked after. There is a small kitchen and a hot shower. The spa pool is very inviting and entry is included when staying at the spa campsite. There is a very nice BBQ area and picnic area and with Tauranga and Mount Manganui only a short drive away the location is good. Private spa pools and bubble pools are also available. The staff were helpful too. Altogether we spent a great weekend here and will defiantly return.
Written 27 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

shar A
1 contribution
Oct 2020 • Couples
Ants in number 5 private pool felt them biting then saw there trail on lip of pool. receptionist is quite rude to her guest staying on grounds.
Written 20 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you were disappointed. We have a great reputation for excellent service so it is frustrating to hear you felt the staff member was rude. Ants can be a problem in any older complex but generally our high standard of cleaning deals with this, we avoid spraying the complex as we strive to provide a natural healthy environment to match the pure mineral water pools. We would have happily given you another pool or refund had you asked as we aim to provide the best possible experience for our visitors. If you choose to visit again I am sure you will not be disappointed. Kind regards Wendy
Written 26 October 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Peter M
Cambridge, New Zealand18 contributions
Oct 2020
Have driven past the sign at the top of the driveway for many years and finally got to experience the magic of this place. My wife and I went on a Saturday night and not knowing what time we would get there, we were unable to pre-book a private pool. On arrival we made enquiries and the private pools were fully booked. We therefore opted for the main pool and were not disappointed. Time was approx 8.30pm and there were approx 25 people in the main poo. It did not feel crowded and there was plenty of room for everyone. 30 minutes in the hot end was plenty for us. The atmosphere was really great - the lighting amongst the ferns and trees was well done. Changing rooms were clean and staff friendly. Really pleased we took that drive down the driveway. Will be our go to pools now as opposed to the salt water pools at the Mount. Was a great way to finish the day before we took the drive back tot he Waikato.
Written 11 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

heather b
Auckland Central, New Zealand42 contributions
Jan 2020
We found this little hideaway just on the edge of suberbia in Bethlehem, Tauranga. A small camping ground with powered sites and the most lovely mineral pool to use. They also had a BBQ and picnic area. The drive is steep and winding but the tree lined oasis was worth it. Apparently this has been a very popular pool for the locals for many years and there are private pools too. However, we were there as campers and were very happy with the site and the public pool.
Written 22 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

fiesolem
Auckland, New Zealand109 contributions
Jan 2020 • Couples
The girls at the front desk seemed very young and very confused about whether pools were ready or who had what booking when we signed in for a private pool we had booked earlier. The pool was very shallow and large which seemed weird for a private pool. Would have preferred a more intimate setting for a couple. Also the open air pool was extremely loud as the people in the pool next to us seemed to be playing pool games and were yelling and screaming. Not very relaxing. And the water was very luke warm like a bath rather than a hot pool. For 48 dollars for the two of us to sit around awkwardly in a large lukewarm pool of water listening to people yelling I felt like we had been a bit ripped off. Previous experiences in private hot pools have been more intimate; quiet and relaxing. Definitely wouldn’t return.
Written 13 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit. It is our policy to offer the best possible experience and as we have 8 private pools Im sure our staff would have been able to move you to a quieter and warmer pool if you had spoken to them . All pools are large so we could not have changed that but we could definitely have provided you with a relaxing tranquil soak in a warmer pool. Once again my apologies. Kind regards Wendy
Written 15 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 232
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fernland Spa

Fernland Spa is open:
  • Sun - Sat 8:30 AM - 10:00 PM