We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fernland Spa

250 Cambridge Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
+64 7-578 3081
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Not so SPA

Disappointed by a recent visit to this so-called SPA... It was not relaxing. Other users of the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
CJDTraveller
,
Tauranga, New Zealand
No excuses

Been visiting for many years, outside maintenance is well kept but the pools are appalling. Yes we... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
ExplorerGG
,
Tauranga, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 198 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Fernland Spa Thermal Mineral Springs Hot Pools . Our pure mineral geothermal pool complex , situated in an oasis of spectacular bush and park like grounds 5 minutes from downtown Tauranga . We have one large main pool nestled among towering tree ferns and native foliage, enjoy the bird song during the day and the magical lighting at night. Or choose one of 8 spacious private pools, all have a changing area , toilet and shower . Our pools are 100% pure, crystal clear natural mineral water . All pools have a continuous flow of fresh mineral water and are emptied cleaned and refilled daily. A great stop over for camper vans with large sites and a tranquil environment , free access to the main pool is included . Large picnic grounds Massage service , booking essential.
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good41%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“main pool” (29 reviews)
“private pool” (25 reviews)
“mineral water” (8 reviews)
LOCATION
250 Cambridge Road, Tauranga 3110, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 7-578 3081
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointed by a recent visit to this so-called SPA... It was not relaxing. Other users of the pool need to be told to respect other peoples need for rest and relaxation. My experience was. I was enjoying the shade of the only one shade umbrella....More

Thank CJDTraveller
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were disappointed with your visit. It was a shame the staff did not notice this behavior and speak to the people involved. We are not a council pool so all guests ( local or traveler)...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been visiting for many years, outside maintenance is well kept but the pools are appalling. Yes we are aware you had the pools painted some time ago and received a poor job but there is no excuse for the delay in having them repaired to...More

Thank ExplorerGG
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. And I do apologize, you are correct in stating that those 2 pools are in poor repair, and yes we are waiting on pool contractors to repair the pools so we can return them to the standard of the other...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Great atmosphere. Surrounded by bush. Little bit pricey for the facilities and considering there is only one pool. Coffee machine failed on the way out but received a refund OK. Apparently there are 27 minerals in the water.More

Thank Mary S
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Hi Mary, Thanks for reviewing Fernland Spa. We do do charge a little more than the other hot pools in town as our operating costs are higher due to the fact that we empty and clean all pools each night and have fresh non chlorinated...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017

I live a few kms from this and have visited it many times over the years. The setting is lovely, amongst the fern trees, watching the water trickle down the hill. A good sized 0.75m deep main pool with a bench to sit on inside...More

Thank holmanp
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Fernland Spa. See you again soon. Kind regards Wendy

Reviewed 4 October 2017

These hot pools are very much frequented by locals and are easily accessible from Tauranga. They are getting a bit older but are well maintained and the water is always crystal clear. Especially during the school holidays it can be busy with children but on...More

Thank mirjamjon
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We booked a 30 minute private spa under the stars after doing the glow work kayaking tour. Lovely. 30 minutes is enough and it cost around $15. Easy to park, lovely way to end the night. We booked an 8.30 session, grabbed some take away...More

Thank MollyMal
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Small camping area. Pleasant staff. Hot pool in nice setting with backdrop of trees with coloured lights. Very reasonably priced camping fee includes use of hot pool. Can visit just to use pools - shared or private - also a very acceptable price.

Thank 237sheriw
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Great location and lovely lights in the bush around pools. Pool was really warm perfect for a cool afternoon. A lot of children playing around as its quite shallow. They have imroved the cammpervan area which looks really good.

Thank bopmitch
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Fernland Spa. We have lots of plans for improvements , so please visit again. Kind regards Wendy

Reviewed 14 September 2017

Especially on a cold evening, I pop up for a soak in the outdoor pool to see the stars or a private pool (esp if it is raining) and then I go home in my jamas and dressing gown. Great for locals like me. It...More

Thank HeatherBallantyne
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

HI Heather Thanks for reviewing us, we have plenty of rain this winter so lots of opportunity to enjoy our natural mineral pools. See you again soon. Kind regards Wendy

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We had heard so much about this spa we decided to go to a private room and enjoy a lovely warm spa on rather a cold evening...well was very impressed. The gardens look lovely and the rooms are clean and functional...with shower and toilet....lovely mood...More

Thank Di L
fernlandspa, Owner at Fernland Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Hi Di Thanks for your review. I hope you can visit again as we have lots of improvements planned. Kind regards Wendy

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mills Reef Winery & Restaurant
342 reviews
1.15 km away
Somerset Cottage
185 reviews
1.97 km away
The Orchard Bethlehem Restaurant & Bar
91 reviews
1.93 km away
The Coffee Club
79 reviews
1.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
Waimarino Adventure Park
431 reviews
2.32 km away
Adrenalin Forest
100 reviews
3.36 km away
Waikareao Estuary
78 reviews
1.81 km away
Historic Village on 17th
71 reviews
2.16 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fernland Spa staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit