We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wildside Tours

Tauranga, New Zealand
More
About Wildside Tours
A local tour company specializing in culinary tasting tours of the Tauranga Bay of Plenty Region. We find our local artisan food producers sampling their wares as we go. We tour Craft Breweries and learn how the beer is brewed to perfection, visit craft beer bars for personalised tastings and the stories behind the brews. We'll visit the Bays award winning wineries and a family run cidery. Tastings are included in the price at all of our venues. Pick up and drop off service from your accomodation can be provided.
Read more

Wildside Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
12Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
CPKT wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
We gifted vouchers to my in laws for Christmas last year for the Food and Wine tour. We have not been able to contact Amy since to book it in. All of our calls and messages go unanswered, yet paid bookings are still able to go through on their website. We are getting increasingly frustrated at the lack of communication, and that Amy has $310.00 of ours that she refuses to acknowledge.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Gerlinde B wrote a review Feb 2020
Brisbane Region, Australia3 contributions
Recently, while cruising around NZ on Celebrity Solstice, we took a tour with Wildside Tours. Stephanie was our guide and a very good guide at that. What a wonderful time we had. Enjoyed the local farmers market, the Te Puna deli was delicious, the berry ice creams were just what we needed on a hot day. We sampled ciders and beer, ate wood fire pizzas and generally had a great day. A lovely tour that all would enjoy.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Rob & Cath wrote a review Feb 2020
Paraparaumu, New Zealand20 contributions8 helpful votes
Wow what a wonderful day out to finish our holiday in the Bay. Cheese, wine, cider, beers, salami and even pizza. How awesome it was to feel the pride and passion of the local people as they talked about their countryside and the produce they provide. Big shout out to Stephanie our guide who was very knowledgeable and patient with us as we munched and drank our way around the Bay. And yes we would definitely book another tour next time we are up in Tauranga, many thanks.
Read more
Helpful
Share
jean perry wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
We booked a trip and it got cancelled, no phone call, no notification meaning that I had to quickly arrange something in the very little time that we had and the proprietor Amy made out as if our fault. An extremely rude arrogant head-strong woman. Glad we never went with this tour company anyway as we had some friends from abroad and it would have shameful on us if we had booked, a truly awful setup never again!
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Amy N, Owner at Wildside Tours
Responded 2 Feb 2020
I'm sorry your trip got cancelled but you did recieve a cancellation notification explaining the circumstances of the cancellation. I always try my very best to keep my customers happy and I'm sorry you feel that way as I am certainly not like that by any means.
Read more
Maralee R wrote a review Jan 2020
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We recently took this tour combined with their sighting tour. We sampled beer and pizza, ice cream, and French cheeses. We did Not get any complimentary oysters (we were told we could buy some), smoked mussels, salami, smoked fish, or chocolate tasting. I understand chocolate tasting was only on certain days but we were charged the same price and nothing was offered as an alternative....for Any of the samplings we paid for. Very disappointed and can not recommend Wildside tours at all.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Adventurouso1, Owner at Wildside Tours
Responded 24 Jan 2020
I am sorry you were disappointed in your tour, it clearly states on the website chocolate tasting Tuesdays and Thursdays only which you knew before you took the tour. You were offered oysters at the local oyster farm but you were not interested. The smoked fish is available as stated on the website if they have smoked fish that day. There is no mention of salami on the Whakatane Tour you must have confused the Tauranga Tour. My guide took the time to go out of her way and show you all the sites of Whakatane and Ohope along the way . We also went out of our way to accomodate you allowing you to hire the van privately as you wanted during one of our busiest days thus having to turn other customers away when we could have easily filled the extra seats.
Read more
Previous