We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Locked Room

1134 Poihipi Rd | Clay Break Taupo, Taupo 3377, New Zealand
+64 800 252 9273
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic Fun Indoor Activity

We’ve done a few escape rooms now but we found this one very challenging. We couldn’t finish it, in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Auzie99
,
Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
via mobile
Good game, poorly managed

We played this game having played many escape rooms before. The concept was awesome and the room... read more

Reviewed 13 September 2017
holidayreviews10
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 15 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Locked Room is a live puzzle game experience involving the illusion of being trapped in a room. You will need to work together to find hidden clues, solve puzzles and crack codes to ensure you escape the room in time. The experience will challenge all levels of ability.
  • Excellent94%
  • Very good0%
  • Average6%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
1134 Poihipi Rd | Clay Break Taupo, Taupo 3377, New Zealand
CONTACT
+64 800 252 9273
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We’ve done a few escape rooms now but we found this one very challenging. We couldn’t finish it, in fact we had to ask several times for clues - maybe we are just getting old! But just because we couldn’t complete it doesn’t make it...More

Thank Auzie99
KelvinOConnor, Manager at The Locked Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, thanks for your review. Your comments are appreciated & valuable. Sorry you found the signage a bit obscure, we will work on that! Unfortunately some GPS units do fail to locate our property correctly. Your group was great to host... sorry you didn't quite...More

Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We played this game having played many escape rooms before. The concept was awesome and the room had lots of exciting and mechanical parts, however, a lot of them weren't working or were poorly maintained, so the experience was broken a few times by the...More

Thank holidayreviews10
KelvinOConnor, Manager at The Locked Room, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for your review, which comes as a bit of a surprise. We have had a little hiccup with one clue not presenting itself as it should. However it is rectified now. To suggest "a lot of them were not working" is untrue, nor...More

Reviewed 11 May 2017

Today the rain was pouring in down in Taupo, so we went to check out the "Locked Room" just to see what it was all about.... AMAZING!!! You get an hour to crack all the codes to get out of this Hi Tec shipping container!...More

Thank TheAdventuresOfAss
KelvinOConnor, Manager at The Locked Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Hey, thanks for visiting "The Locked Room" situated out at Clay Break Taupo. We loved hosting your group, sorry you just didn't make it out in time. Kin\d regards.

Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We called at short notice and got straight in for a family escape experience that was really awesome. Great hosts and great setup! Can't give away any clues though :)

Thank Ace V
Reviewed 28 March 2016

This was the first escape game we have done and found it absolutely amazing. The room is really well set out considering the space there is to work in (it's in a shipping container), don't let that put you off though, it is like Dr...More

Thank AllyBingle
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

A must do if you got the time and even if you don't try to make time because this is a must do! We loved it and English is not our native language but still easy to understand. Big thanks for the experience! 5/5

Thank Marcus B
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

As a first time escapee, I wasn't too sure what to expect at The Locked Room. What I got was an awesome challenge, that will definitely lead me to finding more experiences like this. I don't want to spoil this for anyone else, but in...More

Thank tinders
Reviewed 6 February 2016

This is brilliant fun and really well done, You are put in a small room and have loads of puzzles to solve within an hour to escape. The room looks professionally authentic and the puzzles are wide ranging and at a high level. Highly recommend...More

1  Thank tomswims
Reviewed 30 January 2016

This was my second live escape game and we were lucky to be asked to help test this new game. We found the puzzles challenging and had a great time working our way through them, would definitely recommend you give it a go if you...More

2  Thank Brenda_J_Cunningham
TheLockedRoom, Public Relations Manager at The Locked Room, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Glad you enjoyed the room. We learnt a lot from your experience and hope to see you back in future - thanks for testing!

Reviewed 30 January 2016

Loved the puzzles and the staff were really friendly. I hadn't done a locked room before, but had heard about them on when travelling around Europe. Me and my friend were testers for the room so we got to do it before it officially opened....More

1  Thank rachael_meek32
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kinloch Store
6 reviews
9.16 km away
The Bistro
826 reviews
11.21 km away
Paulys Diner
188 reviews
11.07 km away
Victoria's Cafe Kitchen Bar
325 reviews
11.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Kinloch Club - Golf Course
44 reviews
7.94 km away
Craters of the Moon
1,310 reviews
8.01 km away
Wairakei Natural Thermal Valley
312 reviews
7.87 km away
Lilliput Farm Fun And Animal Park
56 reviews
5.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Locked Room staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit