We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort

76 Napier Road | Sh 5, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
+64 7-378 8559
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful and relaxing mineral pools.

Wonder down the hill to the natural mineral springs. They have a number of pools at different... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Bronwyn N
via mobile
Relaxing for sure

Love the fact that you can use a private pool for no extra cost. Staff were amazing and although we... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
WinesieTime
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Read all 454 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Living Waters Spa at Taupo DeBretts. A Volcanic Spa Experience. Relax your body and soothe your soul in the tranquil world of this unique spa experience. This is where the healing mineral waters of DeBretts Hot Springs combine with therapeutic massage and luxurious body treatments to leave you feeling amazingly relaxed and rejuvenated.Each treatment starts with a soak in the therapuetic warm waters at Taupo DeBretts Hot Springs. Then, enjoy a unique New Zealand treatment including relaxation massage, Hot Stone Massage, Warm Thermal Mud Wrap or wondrous facial. Rejuvenating Facials and other body and beauty treatments make this a spa experience you will not soon forget.
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good37%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“water slides” (42 reviews)
“hot pools” (77 reviews)
“private pool” (19 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
LOCATION
76 Napier Road | Sh 5, Taupo 3379, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 7-378 8559
Write a ReviewReviews (454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Wonder down the hill to the natural mineral springs. They have a number of pools at different temperatures. Suitable for kids as they have slides and a kids section. Recommend the private rooms, no extra charge and super nice :-)

Thank Bronwyn N
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Bronwyn, Thank you for your great review. We are delighted you enjoyed our pools and your kids had a great time. See you next time, regads, Mirela

Reviewed 1 week ago

Love the fact that you can use a private pool for no extra cost. Staff were amazing and although we didn't stay long I can see why it is popular! We had the 38degree private pool and loved it

Thank WinesieTime
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a pretty cool venue, the private pools are really hot, and the public pools are very warm. The interesting thing about it is the pools are not chlorinated they are emptied and cleaned daily. So all the old water everyday is removed completely,...More

Thank JohnPillarsNancy
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a one night stay at the start of our holiday. The motel unit was clean and modern. It was a few minutes walk from the hot pools. We had a good time in the pools, but some areas are looking dated and in...More

1  Thank Stuart O
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Stuart,thank you for your feedback. We are really happy you enjoyed your holiday and the accommodation. We are planning to upgrade our pool facilities in near future and let`s hope we will surprise you for your next visit :) , regards, Mirela

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We really enjoyed our evening soak on a somewhat busy night. The thermal pools are spacious and comfortable. Great fun for the kids too on the hydroslides.

Thank Deeeedoooo
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Deeeedoooo, Thank you for your review, glad you enjoyed our waterpark . See you next time,

Reviewed 14 January 2018

Never been here before but will definitely return again. Excellent selection of pools of different temperatures. Kids section was good. Didn't try the slides but will do that next time!

Thank giggler12345
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi giggler12345, Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here so much that you will return. We look forward to seeing you again :) Kind regards, Peter

Reviewed 10 January 2018

Took the 3 kids to this for a swim (5, 3 & 1yrs old). They were all too little for the slides and none of them can actually swim. Luckily there is a water playground for them. Unfortunately there was a cold breeze, so that...More

Thank JumpingJezza
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi JumpingJezza, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here and hope you return soon. Kind regards, Peter

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Stupidly we believed the hotel's advertising for this resort being of 5 star luxury. We stayed in one of the studios for thankfully only one night. Have never been so relieved to leave. The studio was dates, old and lacking in pretty much everything. The...More

Thank sam p
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi Sam, Your review is very disappointing to us. We expect that unhappy customers would have the initiative to contact our reception team as we are always happy to assist our customers in overcoming their issues. In your case, we are not able to help...More

Reviewed 8 January 2018

Kids loved the hydro slides whilst the adults loved having a relaxing dip in the pools. Wheelchair access was a little frustrating, having to go to the holiday park reception to ask for the gates to be opened so we could access the hot pools....More

Thank Graeme S
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi Graeme, Thank you for your comments. We are glad you came to reception to request we open the gates. This ensures we don't have everyone driving down and using up the parking area we provide for the mobility impaired. We have access ramps for...More

Reviewed 7 January 2018

We felt this attraction was very over-priced at $22 per adult to simply sit and soak in a warm pool with many other people in water that had quite a lot of floating debris. For adults over 90Kgs there was nothing to do but sit...More

Thank Judi C
DeBretts-Taupo, Guest Relations Manager at Taupo DeBretts Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Hi Judi, We thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is unfortunate that you came during such a busy time and that you were not able to have the usual luxurious experience our pools are so famous for. We hope you...More

PreviousNext
12345644
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 68 hotels in Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
2,254 reviews
.22 km away
Karaka Tree Motel
240 reviews
1.05 km away
Phoenix Resort
69 reviews
1.06 km away
Sacred Waters Taupo Luxury Apartments
289 reviews
1.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Mole & Chicken
244 reviews
1.05 km away
Bistro Lago
468 reviews
.15 km away
Espresso Cove
97 reviews
1.18 km away
Edgewater Restaurant
203 reviews
1.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wairakei Natural Thermal Valley
326 reviews
1.06 km away
Waipahihi Botanical Gardens
129 reviews
.81 km away
Wairakei Geothermal Power Station Visitor Center
77 reviews
1.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Tony R
23 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from PadresHoney | Reviewed this property |
All hydro slides have manufacturers conditions of use, based on the slide's bedway size. The upper weight limit, as well as the lower height limit, are generally determined by the bedway. One of the factors governing speed... More
0
Votes
Adele G
9 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DeBretts-Taupo | Property representative |
Hi Adele, Thank you for contacting us. We have a menu with prices that we can email to you. We are not able to mention links or email addresses on this page, but you will find our 'info' address on the contacts tab of our... More
1
Vote
Lorraine F
16 November 2015|
Answer
Response from DeBretts-Taupo | Property representative |
Hi Lorraine, I'm sorry but unfortunately our studios do not have the extra space to accommodate extra beds, there just isn't floor space available. Regards Tracy.
0
Votes