We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waikite Valley Thermal Pools

Waikite Valley | RD1, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
+64 7-333 1861
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Disappointing and not worth the drive from Rotorua

We tossed up between the Polynesian Spa and Waikite and decided on Waikite having never been and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
55vintage
,
Te Aroha, New Zealand
Forget the coffee

Stopped in for a look (we didn't have a soak in the pool) and decided to have a coffee. OMG it was... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Mark D
via mobile
Read all 895 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Waikite Valley Thermal Pools provides the opportunity to relax and experience the pure natural geothermal waters from the Te Manaroa Spring. Facilities include The Pukeko in the Ponga Tree Cafe, a splash pool with adjoining toddlers play area, passive bathing pools, private spas, nature trail and separate changing, toilet and shower area for families. Waikite Valley Thermal Pools also offers powered and non powered campground sites.
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good28%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“thermal pools” (164 reviews)
“eco trail” (46 reviews)
“private pool” (68 reviews)
LOCATION
Waikite Valley | RD1, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 7-333 1861
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 832 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

We tossed up between the Polynesian Spa and Waikite and decided on Waikite having never been and after reading the brochure which sounded impressive. We chose the spa upgrade which was advertised as overlooking the boiling stream. I guess the stream was somewhere amongst the...More

Thank 55vintage
LisaBowie01, Manager at Waikite Valley Thermal Pools, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for taking the time to review our complex and sorry that you felt unable to enjoy your experience.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for a look (we didn't have a soak in the pool) and decided to have a coffee. OMG it was in undrinkable! Obviously the person who made my coffee was not a trained barista. Boiling hot coffee and a pungent taste of burnt...More

Thank Mark D
LisaBowie01, Owner at Waikite Valley Thermal Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review , just sorry that you were unable to enjoy our geothermal pools! With regards to your coffee, we would love to had the opportunity to put this right for you!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Mate....... What a good visit we had. Good facilities. Clean and well kept. 2 young girls 6 and 8 years old thought it was worth the trip also. Nice one !

Thank Toby G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely setting, a bit out of the way, a little rustic, a good selection of pools and an option for privacy as well. It was pouring with rain when we were there, even better. The price was also very reasonable.

Thank R0062
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been to waikite thermal pools a few times and it is such good value as opposed to other hot pools around the area. It is surrounded by bush and has a fabulous ambience about it. It is clean and the staff are very...More

1  Thank Fay O
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent geothermal spa and nicer than poly spa in Rotorua. Very relaxing and stunning location. Close to wai-o-tapu so a must-see if in this area.

Thank Rachel T
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Such a delicious way to spent time in between driving around sightseeing in NZ. Extremely relaxing and very romantic. Don't read this - just go there and experience it for yourself

1  Thank caroline g
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed our visit. We went in the evening and had snow around on the hills, fantastic. Pools were good and a good range of temperatures. We stayed just over an hours which was enough possibly could have stretched for an extra half an hour...More

Thank ckni
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very calm way to relax at the end of a busy day of site seeing. Soaked in the hot pools with some unreal views and then the Sunset!

Thank Bernoose
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited these pools late on afternoon, having spent a busy day exploring the thermal activity around Rotorua and it was a great way to end the day. All the pools are very clean as are the facilities and the small cafe on the site....More

2  Thank ElizabethF1209
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
MiHi Cafe
70 reviews
15.93 km away
Ciabatta Cafe and Bakery
467 reviews
19.97 km away
Sequoia Eatery Rotorua
115 reviews
20.00 km away
Chapmans Restaurant
142 reviews
19.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland
6,045 reviews
6.81 km away
Wai-O-Tapu Mud Pools
51 reviews
6.05 km away
Lady Knox Geyser
157 reviews
6.95 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rose H
6 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WVTPManager | Property representative |
Hi there if you pay for the private pool or spa plus this also gives you access to the other public pools and Eco trail
0
Votes
julieteng
21 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from 87,181 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Julie The facility is open every day except Christmas from 10 am. I don't recall the exact price, but think it was something like $25-30 per adult for general admission. It's about 30 minutes from Rotorua
1
Vote
Daniel Y
8 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Terri H | Reviewed this property |
When we visited in December, it was $20 per person for maximum 40 minutes ( 2 person minimum)
1
Vote