We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waikite Valley Thermal Pools

Waikite Valley | RD1, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
+64 7-333 1861
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Nice, but would not do it again

If this is not the first time you visit a thermal pool, this activity does not have much to offer... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
CorMit
,
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Dirty water with debris, lack of shows

Water is dirty with different debris. There is only two shows in change room. That is not enough... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Vladimir B
via mobile
Read all 914 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Waikite Valley Thermal Pools provides the opportunity to relax and experience the pure natural geothermal waters from the Te Manaroa Spring. Facilities include The Pukeko in the Ponga Tree Cafe, a splash pool with adjoining toddlers play area, passive bathing pools, private spas, nature trail and separate changing, toilet and shower area for families. Waikite Valley Thermal Pools also offers powered and non powered campground sites.
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“thermal pools” (168 reviews)
“eco trail” (46 reviews)
“private pool” (70 reviews)
LOCATION
Waikite Valley | RD1, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 7-333 1861
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

If this is not the first time you visit a thermal pool, this activity does not have much to offer. The pools are nice, but not much more than average.

Thank CorMit
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Water is dirty with different debris. There is only two shows in change room. That is not enough, special if every one wants to wash skin after dirty pools. Should be minimum to be four shows . Owner must thinks about customers, not just takes...More

Thank Vladimir B
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love this place. Range of pools and temperatures to choose from and some nice geothermal hot pools to check out. Coffee shop offers fresh homemade food.

Thank Phila987
WVTP, Manager at Waikite Valley Thermal Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Really pleased that you enjoy our facility,see you next time that you are in need of a hot soak!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We expected the pools to be more natural rock pools. The whole setting is very picturesque but the pool area and the pools themselves rather small. We were lucky it wasn't too busy as I would feel uncomfortable with more than 10 people in each...More

Thank inga517
WVTP, Owner at Waikite Valley Thermal Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. The old tiled swimming pool you refer to was built in 1972 by volunteers of the Waikite Valley community and something that the community is very proud of as it resembles the beginnings of the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Don't be put off by the 30 minute drive. When we where there it was uncrowded clean and prestine. The scenery just added to the experience.

1  Thank Andrew M
WVTP, Manager at Waikite Valley Thermal Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for a great review!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We (2 adults, 2 teenagers) spent the afternoon at Waikite Valley Thermal pools. There are six pools, 5 for passive bathing, and one bigger pool good for smaller kids to splash about. It was reasonably quiet with not too many people there, which made the...More

Thank Nicky_BMNTS
WVTP, Manager at Waikite Valley Thermal Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great that we were able to provide some relaxation for your family!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So wonderful relaxing and peaceful. Service was okay - Staff were nearing the end off a days work hence looking forward to hometime - well thats the excuse I give them. The views are simply spectacular from the pools overlooking the beautiful Waikite Valley which...More

Thank Lynley V
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

These natural thermal pools are wonderful. It is in an unspoilt setting and so lovely to relax in the beatutiflly warm waters.

Thank eliza836
WVTP, Manager at Waikite Valley Thermal Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks, look forward to seeing you next time!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I enjoy Waikite Vallery pools for the location, out of Rotorua and in the middle of farmland, and the relaxed atmosphere at the pools. The water always seems clean and there's a mix of locals and tourists at the pools.

Thank 660megan
WVTP, Owner at Waikite Valley Thermal Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for awesome review!

Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed the soak we had in the private pool. We turned up on a Sunday evening after a long drive. The pools were not too busy and we had a very relaxing time. Well worth the visit and enjoyed the fact we had most...More

Thank Hayden B
WVTP, Manager at Waikite Valley Thermal Pools, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Really pleased you enjoyed your experience!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
MiHi Cafe
75 reviews
5.97 km away
Ciabatta Cafe and Bakery
490 reviews
19.97 km away
Sequoia Eatery Rotorua
117 reviews
20.00 km away
Chapmans Restaurant
145 reviews
19.00 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland
6,190 reviews
6.34 km away
Waiotapu Boardwalk/ Mud Pool
65 reviews
6.76 km away
Wai-O-Tapu Mud Pools
53 reviews
6.05 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
farmgurl13
14 October 2017|
Answer
Response from Alysha P | Reviewed this property |
The season pass includes the use of all there spas except the private spas
0
Votes
Rose H
6 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WVTPManager | Property representative |
Hi there if you pay for the private pool or spa plus this also gives you access to the other public pools and Eco trail
0
Votes
julieteng
21 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from 87,181 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Julie The facility is open every day except Christmas from 10 am. I don't recall the exact price, but think it was something like $25-30 per adult for general admission. It's about 30 minutes from Rotorua
1
Vote