We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Polynesian Spa

Open Now: 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
811
All photos (811)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good33%
  • Average13%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“adult pools”(192 reviews)
“private pool”(238 reviews)
“family pool”(70 reviews)
About
Relax and unwind on the tranquil shores of Lake Rotorua at Polynesian Spa - a world-leading, natural mineral bathing and luxury spa retreat. Channelling geothermal marvels in its backyard, the 28 mineral pools at Polynesian Spa are fed from two...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 11:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Hinemoa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Website
+64 7-348 1328
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Polynesian Spa
from US$21.01
More Info
from US$38.52
More Info
from US$121.86
More Info
from US$139.37
More Info
Reviews (3,133)
There are newer reviews for Polynesian Spa
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
2,712 results
Traveller rating
1,293
891
334
112
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,293
891
334
112
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews adult pools private pool family pool hot pools lake pools family area overlooking the lake mud wrap relaxing experience varying temperatures aches and pains changing rooms lake rotorua hot springs warm water couple of hours rainy day
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 30 of 2,712 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You can choose the right package for your group but the spa offers private pools or the various thermal pools which are all different temperatures or the family swimming pools all in separate areas. You can also pay for treatments using products made from the...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Tldl06
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I booked the deluxe private spa on Valentine's Day, and it was great. The view was beautiful and we loved the privacy and the fact that the area offered a shower, water fountain, and lotion for after your dip. The 30-minute limit...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Averi C
PolynesianSpa, Director of Sales at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review Averi C, we agree sometimes you want to enjoy the facilities longer than the 30 minute timeslot of the private pools. Next time we suggest a double dipper bathing package with the adult pools or lake spa combined with a private...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

No photos as it’s not really the kind of place to take pictures of. We visited mid week to avoid the crowds good call. Changing rooms and towels a plenty if you pay for the right package. There are a number of rook pools just...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank GarethW_11
PolynesianSpa, Director of Sales at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review GarethW_11, you might to check our Instagram @polynesianspa to see some inspiration for photography as we are indeed very photogenic. Regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked a private spa on=line and we weren't disappointed. We arrived at the appointed time and there was no delays, the staff were friendly and explained everything. The spa itself was excellent and rejuvenating, and will go back, highly recommend.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank malc0lmapps
PolynesianSpa, Director of Sales at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review malc0lmapps, We are pleased you enjoyed the private pools and hope to see you again. Regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited one evening and once we had got used to the smell the warm baths were quite therapeutic. It was very busy, so we didn’t stay long, an hour would be long enough.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 416ChrisS
PolynesianSpa, Director of Sales at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review 416ChrisS, it does get busy here in the evenings. Come before 4pm or after 8pm for a more relaxing experience. Regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is definitely not a luxury spa so be prepared. We booked months in advance a couples massage and private pool experience as it was a special trip for us. We arrived an hour early as they suggested and enjoyed the outdoor geothermal pools. We...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank 2018JK
PolynesianSpa, Director of Sales at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi 2018JK, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the massage but regret the rest of the experience was not as expected. Please contact us directly on trade@polynesianspa.co.nz to discuss further. Regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the adults pool this trip, so busy and noisy compared to the deluxe area we visited our last trip. Temps more varied and more relaxing, still definitely worth a visit and a soak for an hour or so

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Julie P
PolynesianSpa, Director of Sales at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Julie P, thanks thanks for your review. Each area can get busy at times so it pays to come prior to 4pm or after 8pm if wanting a tranquil environment. Regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We booked treatments in a dual treatment room. The treatments and hot pools were both excellent. If doing the same I'd recommend arriving much earlier than the one hour they suggest, we could have spent much longer in the pools before the treatments. The best...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Relax791042
PolynesianSpa, Director of Sales at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review Relax791042, that surely is amazing feedback to hear this was the best massage youve ever had. Thanks for coming and we hope to see you again soon. Regards,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a unique morning bathing in the pools. Went with the $30 public baths. Several different temperatures from hot to very hot but the large pool was comfortable to "cool off" in. Scenery was nice with a nice view of the lake. They charge $5...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 912jeffryh
PolynesianSpa, Director of Sales at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi 912jeffryh, thanks for your visit and review. We are pleased you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again. In this area of the facility you need to rent a towel, however; you can bring your own. Thanks,

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

These thermal baths are very relaxing. The facility offers both public and private pools. The view are amazing as they over look the lake and you can see the steam rising. Private pools should be booked in advance.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Cindy P
PolynesianSpa, Director of Sales at Polynesian Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review Cindy P, We are pleased you enjoyed the visit and hope to see you again. We agree the private pools should be booked in advance on our website to ensure you get the right time. Regards,

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 88 nearby hotels
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1,724 reviews
.17 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1,627 reviews
.26 km away
Prince's Gate Hotel
1,002 reviews
.46 km away
Ambassador Thermal Motel
183 reviews
.59 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 287 nearby restaurants
Ciccio Italian Cafe
536 reviews
.39 km away
burger fuel
140 reviews
.39 km away
Amazing Thai Restaurant
358 reviews
.39 km away
Nikau Restaurant
83 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 204 nearby attractions
Tamaki Maori Village
4,739 reviews
.24 km away
Rotorua i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
294 reviews
.50 km away
Government Gardens
1,073 reviews
.28 km away
Sulphur Point
124 reviews
.36 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kirajs
30 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from PolynesianSpa | Property representative |
Hi there, thank you for your question. We recommend pre-booking our private pools or if you wish to enjoy one of our day spa products. You dont need to pre-book for our other bathing products. Hope this helps!
0
Votes
Lindsay G
19 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from elizabethmE8678AQ | Reviewed this property |
Considering you are used to Chicago in the winter you will not find it cold, but it does rain a lot. The pools will be too hot for a small child. There is a family section. Take your kid there
0
Votes
Lindsay G
19 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from PolynesianSpa | Property representative |
Hi there - November see us well into spring so it would be a great option during the day. We would recommend the Lake Spa as you can enjoy a variety of pools and the views with your little one.
1
Vote