Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park

Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park, Rotorua: Hours, Address, Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park Reviews: 4.5/5

Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park

Paradise Valley Springs Wildlife Park
4.5
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
About
Paradise Valley Springs is open every day of the year, including all public holidays, from 8.00am until dark with last ticket sales at 5.00pm. Lion Feeding is every day at 2.30pm and our Kea and Possum Feeding happens every day at 3.00pm. The park is set in a beautiful native bush covered setting, and has excellent wide walkways throughout that are well suited for strollers and wheelchairs. We have bags of Trout or Animal Food available for $2 per bag if they would like to hand-feed some of the animals, or throw food to the trout. Your time in Paradise will include getting up close and personal with our New Zealand Birds, Trout and Wildlife. We also have our Rainforest Treetops Walkway hidden six metres high amongst mature native trees and bush. You will also be able to view our Lion Pride in their enclosure at any time of the day.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Tours and Tickets
The area
Address
Popular mentions

4.5
1,065 reviews
Excellent
589
Very good
378
Average
71
Poor
15
Terrible
12

Rach36432
4 contributions
Animal Cruelty
May 2021 • Family
I had no idea what we were in for. Decided to take our children here for the day, we did not do our research. It is absolutely disgusting to see the conditions these poor animals are living in. They have hardly any space. They are clearly underfed so they can by kept small to make more money for themselves by allowing customers to pet them. My 8 year old daughter staid to me in tears “mummy, why do the lions look so sad”. She continued talking about this for the rest of the day and asked “why they could not be let out into the wild”. We did not spend long here and it breaks my heart I spent money here to support what they are doing. I do not know how the staff go to sleep at night knowing they are enabling this. My advice, do your research.. please. This is not fair on these poor animals. Do not support this business with your money.. you are enabling them.
Written 13 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Imrana B
2 contributions
Must see
Jun 2021
The first time I visited the park, I was a teenager and my dad just followed the signs (as there was no google back in the day) was the best experience I had ever encountered, I got to pat the cubs and was completely gobsmacked
Then we walked through the park where it was full of natural habitat with natural streams running through and you get to see real trout in their natural streams swimming around.
The other animals where all so free, not caring as we walked by as the sheep, goats where out in the pasture enjoying eating grass unaware of us walking by. Ever since then...35 years on I still only visit paradise valley springs when I go to Rotorua as it’s not commercialised and it feels very natural to watch these animals been well looked maintained and cared for.
To the operators it looks like they’ve just have a large handful of pets. It’s a joy to watch the care that is provided.
Highly recommend take the turn off the main road and walk through the natural streams, flora and fauna
Pack a picnic and fill your family day among Mother Nature ❤️
Will not regret the day out, well worth the memories you will collect
Written 13 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jackie D
Melbourne, Australia175 contributions
Buy the bag of food
May 2021 • Couples
It was a great way to spend a couple of hours. Initially you may think everything will be in a cage but as you go further you find out how more linked it is to the nature. Birds and fish can be there or not and can come and go as they please.
Definitely get the food as the animals hear the rustle of the bag and will come towards you. Enjoy the peace this place gives you.
Written 31 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

shane p
19 contributions
Awesome place
May 2021 • Family
This is well worth visiting.
You can getup close to animals which are friendly.
The size of the trout in the streams are good. Would make a fisherman happy if you could catch them
Recommend to visit.
Written 1 May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit to the park. We do have many a fisherman coming in and appreciating the size of the trout! The wild ones in the stream definitely know where to station themselves in order to get some free food. We hope to see you again soon.
Written 22 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alex E
Auckland Central, New Zealand5 contributions
Authentic Experience with Animals
Apr 2021 • Couples
My partner and I thought this attraction was amazing! The farm animals were so happy and rolling around, wanting pats and were so friendly! The piglets came rushing to lie at the fence for belly rubs! The Llamas were so fluffy and gentle to eat the pellets we brought to feed them! The goats and baby goats were loving their scratches behind their ears! We loved seeing the redwood trees and the trout and ducks! The walkways were well laid out and there is a very unique and authentic vibe about this place that makes it magical to walk through :) We did a self guided tour and it took us an hour, and we would definitely come back, it was such a lovely, hands on experience! The lions were relaxing/ sleeping, but we loved seeing the farm animals most of all! Thank you for having us!
Written 3 April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you so much for your review! It is awesome to hear how much you enjoyed your visit and meeting all of our critters. They definitely love seeing you guys for the attention (and treats) they receive! We look forward to welcoming you back to Paradise soon.
Written 22 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Viv M
Napier, New Zealand103 contributions
Highly rated
Mar 2021 • Couples
Haven’t been for a number of years. Good to see they have maintained their very high levels of cleanliness and interest. A great attraction to wander through and enjoy. Young children will love it and the more mature, appreciate what is provided and how it provides variety and a high level of interest.
Written 27 March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed revisiting us. Lots of hard work goes into the overall maintenance of the park so it is nice to know when that has been appreciated! We hope to see you before a number of years pass again!
Written 22 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

607nikkih
Rosedale, New Zealand1 contribution
Lion enclosure so sad
Feb 2021 • Family
The park itself is great the farm
Side with the farm animals and trout but u walk to the lion encounter and it’s run down so sad looking , tiny enclosure for the 5 lions there . Hardly any shade just a piece of grass . For this reason I would not go again. So sad
Written 24 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the main park. Lions do rest for around 20 hours a day, but we do our best to make the remaining 4 interesting for them! We provide them with enrichments to seek out, eat and play with. They also have the toys inside their enclosure which they make use of together - otherwise they occupy themselves by running around and playing some rough and tumble together! They also have shade inside their cave as well as from the trees around the enclosure during some of the hotter parts of the day. I hope this information helps.
Written 22 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rick O
Auckland, New Zealand4 contributions
Definitely well worth a visit
Feb 2021
A delightful , not too large a park. Very well set out, manageable paths for all ages running along the beautiful clear babbling waters full of very large trout and it was amusing seeing how the ducks and water birds managed to compete with these monsters for the food we were throwing down. As the bird quickly swam towards the morsel so did a fish and a tussle began. The lions and all other species of animal in immaculate condition, a credit to the keepers. Very pretty and tranquil. A place to visit in between all the other hectic activities available in the immediate area, and for the younger generation to get close to nature and respect our beautiful animal and bird life. Yes, quite happy to visit again. Margaret O
Written 17 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for your lovely review Margaret! We are stoked to hear you had a great visit to the park, our staff put in a lot of hard work to keep our animals happy and healthy, and the park maintained so thank you for noticing! And it definitely is hard case sometimes seeing the rivalry between the wild critters here at the park! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Written 22 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rosebuds63
Auckland, New Zealand691 contributions
Family Fun
Oct 2020
Such a fun place to visit with children.
We could get up close and feed the fish and other farm life.
Amazing for our Granddaughter to see lions being fed.
Word of warning though when little children are feeding the animals some do bite!
Our Granddaughter was bitten on her tummy as a greedy Alpaca grabbed the paper bag of food from her. She was in her mothers arms at the time!
Written 8 February 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you had a fun visit to the park, despite our greedy alpaca - sometimes they can get a wee bit overexcited. We do recommend feeding the farm animals with a flat hand to avoid their teeth! We hope to see you again soon!
Written 22 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kathy W
Auckland, New Zealand330 contributions
Lovely park
Jan 2021 • Couples
We had a lovely morning wandering through this small wildlife park. With lots of animals to interact with its great for all members of the family. The lions were lazing in the sun so if you want to see them up and about go in the afternoon for the feeding.
Otherwise, the other animals very keen for a pat and some food delight even the most reticent visitor. Highly recommend this attraction! About 20 minute drive from Rotorua town centre.
Written 12 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your morning in Paradise. The animals definitely love coming up to see people when they know you have a few treats with you! We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Written 22 May 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 1,014
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing