We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Buried Village of Te Wairoa

Closed Now: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Book In Advance
354
All photos (354)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good36%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
About
Experience New Zealand's most visited archaeological site where stories of the 1886 Mt Tarawera Eruption come to life! Violent and unexpected, the volcanic eruption was one of New Zealand's greatest natural disasters, burying the peaceful village of...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
1180 Tarawera Road | RD 5 Rotorua, Rotorua 3076, New Zealand
Website
+64 7-362 8287
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Buried Village of Te Wairoa
from US$98.50
More Info
from US$207.60
More Info
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
420
332
118
25
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
420
332
118
25
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews volcanic eruption pink and white terraces waterfall walk treasure hunt beautiful waterfall wairere falls steep steps well worth the effort interesting museum lovely walk information boards self guided tour trout interesting walk local history take your time new zealand
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We chose a gloomy day to visit which makes it tricky for our eldest wheelchair bound child but the host was wonderful and said if it got too wet we were welcome to return the next day. We couldn't have hoped for more assistance. It...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Jeramoozle
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many of our visitors are touched, like you, by the personal stories of the Tarawera eruption. We are pleased to hear that you found your visit interesting and would like to thank you for your review.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a couple of hours wandering around this archaeological site. As we had no idea of the story, the museum was fascinating and the grounds were interesting, although having been spoilt by our visits to Pompeii and Herculaneum, we were a little disappointed that...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Dees_Comments
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The Buried Village is often called New Zealand's Pompeii because the eruption of Mount Tarawera was devastating with the loss of many lives. The excavated sites of Te Wairoa (the Buried Village) are very different from the ones of Pompeii because the houses here were...More

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Interesting 2 hours. The waterfall is worthy of the climb. The buried village is similar to Pompeii but on a smaller scale and very little exists, nonetheless worth the visitMore

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Michael K
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The Buried Village is often called New Zealand's Pompeii because it was a similar devastating eruption of a volcano which claimed many lives. It was on a much smaller scale though and the buildings here were made from timber and other natural materials which means...More

Reviewed 1 November 2018

Museum was excellent. I was very moved reading some personal accounts of the tragedies. The partly excavated buildings & Maori huts were very interesting & the whole area was extremely beautiful to walk around. It must have been a wonderful place to live in before...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank shazhan472
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your visit and nice review. Many of our visitors are touched like you by the personal stories of the Tarawera eruption. The waterfall walk is beautiful indeed and worth the physical effort to get there and back. We hope to welcome you...More

Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Nice small museum to learn about the recent history of the area. Some buildings at the site really show the lifestyle of that time to the visitors. Also a nice side walk to the waterfall. Would recommend to take the time and do the walk...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 74lukasl
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are pleased that you enjoyed learning about the history of the Tarawera eruption and found your visit to the Buried Village worthwhile. Thank you for your visit and review.

Reviewed 15 October 2018

We loved our time at the Buried Village of Te Wairoa. We mostly had the site to ourselves and loved the opportunity to wander in our own time and take in the story of the eruption of Mt Tarawera. If driving, take the time to...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Suzie P
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

We usually recommend 1 1/2 hours to visit the Buried Village but many visitors stay here longer because they are, like you, intrigued by the story of the Tarawera eruption. Thank you for your visit and lovely review. We hope to welcome you back some...More

Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

We found our visit here was a deep dive into the past which was almost magical! Would’ve loved to have seen the pink and white terraces when they were around after our tour here. Highly recommend to people who enjoy history / cultural trips. The...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank amysamusements
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

It would be surely magical if the Pink & White Terraces were still on Lake Rotomahana but sadly they were destroyed and buried in the 1886 Tarawera eruption. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Buried Village and thank you for your compliments.

Reviewed 4 October 2018

The story is worth reading about as you walk through and the museum is good given the narrow topic. The Walk around is well managed and there is really good information as you go. However, please don't expect to find lots of old buildings that...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank New_South_Woodies
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Thank you for your visit and review. The Buried Village is a private business that has been run by the Smith family since the 1930's. The admission fee pays for staff, maintenance and further developments of the Buried Village. We are sorry that you found...More

Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

It's a lovely drive out, a great little museum that gives you the history of the eruption at Tarawera (which destroyed the pink and white terraces). The walk around the village wasn't as good as I'd remembered but it is a solemn place and it...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank christinelm2017
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Many of our visitors comment on the serenity of the Buried Village grounds which seems fitting regarding the devastation that took place in the 1886 Tarawera eruption. The waterfall track is a challenge for most people but worth the effort. Thank you for your visit...More

Reviewed 30 September 2018

I visited about 30 years ago and enjoyed it then so was interested to go back and see it again. I was not disappointed. The museum is an excellent addition - it really brings the event to life when you read about people who lived...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Lynne G
Pam M, General Manager at Buried Village of Te Wairoa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you for visiting us again after all these years. We are pleased to hear that you found your visit to the Buried Village a worthwhile experience. In today's peaceful setting it is indeed hard to contemplate the devastation the 1886 Tarawera eruption brought on...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 90 nearby hotels
Lake Okareka Lodge by lebua
9 reviews
4.43 km away
Solitaire Lodge
164 reviews
5.49 km away
Santa Maria Motel
66 reviews
10.60 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
1,052 reviews
11.02 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 280 nearby restaurants
Giovannis
124 reviews
10.47 km away
Great Spice Indian Takeaway
58 reviews
10.68 km away
Sequoia Eatery Rotorua
163 reviews
10.34 km away
House of Spice
42 reviews
10.48 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 203 nearby attractions
Totally Tarawera
321 reviews
1.13 km away
Blue Lake Track
585 reviews
3.80 km away
Lake Okareka Walkway
66 reviews
4.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Buried Village of Te Wairoa staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines